We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family pub”
Review of The Station Inn

The Station Inn
Ranked #55 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mold , Flintshire
2 reviews
“Great family pub”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Excellent food and good service.The pub was only a short walk from The Glen guest house at which we were staying. We enjoyed it so much we returned the following evening!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MelanieS178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    39
    21
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food In Town”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We regularly visit the Station for our saturday lunch, the staff are friendly and welcoming the service is always top notch. Although I am not known to eat a lot the smaller portion options are ideal, the beer is always well kept and the loyalty card is a great scheme. I have to add that my husband loves the desserts. well done to all the staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KarenRadtke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lancashire
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“It snowed while we ate”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We caught the train to Oxenholme by the time we arrived the snow had settled and we enjoyed a slightly uphill walk to our destination. We congregated in a television free corner far from the bar for our discussion. [BTW I hate televisions in pubs; they are invasive and destroy the concentration on conversation and its flow.] We had our drinks and a waitress came to take the food orders. There was a selection of three hand-pulled beers as well as the usual collection of synthetic beers and lagers. Overall the food was very good, particularly the chips; they were fat cut. Although the soup was tasty, it was over-salty. It was so salty that the thirst it engendered still required sating when we returned home. There was a heavy snowfall while we were in the pub, so the walk back to Oxenholme Station was through deeper snow but we did not need our torches as every lumen of light was reflected by the pristine snow.

This is well worth a return visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MerlinsonofOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Went here the first day we moved to Kendal as we had no food in the house and it is the closest place to us and it was fantastic! Will definitely be going again! I even asked for extra toffee sauce on my sticky toffee pudding and they happily obliged!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and good value”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Chose to eat in the bar as prefer the log burner and atmosphere than the dining area. Lots of specials as usual. 5 of us all having starters and mains plus 8 drinks came to £97 which at under £20 each was great value as the quality of the food was excellent. All starters and meals were different and we were served promptly with all food hot and well presented. Pleasant staff.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elbowsoffthetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Station Inn also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Station Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing