We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths

2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths
Ranked #1 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lymington, Hampshire,England
Level Contributor
277 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Very well patronised café in a farm on the outskirts of Kendal.

We went in feeling cold, needing warmth and food after an unsuccessful morning of bird watching.

We sat ourselves by the fire, in comfy chairs, gave our order, asked if we wanted our coffee straight away or after we had finished. The English breakfast was absolutely great. We felt well looked after.

We didn't go for any of the cakes - too early in the day. But we could see them being made in the kitchen - they looked absolutely superb. The café is just off a roundabout on the Kendal by-pass so very convenient for a pit stop without having to worry about parking in town. The farm shop has lots of good local produce - so double reason for going there.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank david-the-banker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    73
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Wedges of quiche and cake”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

This is a great spot for lunch with free parking just outside Kendal. Although it does get busy, so you might not always get a seat. Try to reserve if you've more than just two in your party. A friend questioned her sweet chilli sauce pancake ('doused' was the term) but I thoroughly enjoyed a magnificent quiche. The cakes are amazing too. We were really full but went halves on a gorgeous lemon meringue. The staff were happy to supply two plates and two spoons.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth_Darcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

We recently enjoyed brunch, the food was excellent and the service was nice and friendly. We purchased a couple of cakes to enjoy at home. Would have no hesitation in recommending the café to others

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Orpingtons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

had been here before and we just love that place! full breakfast was absolutey amazing! the service was great Loved the decor and the atmosphere, fully recommend

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaS1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
212 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Well worth turning off the M6 for this one!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stopped here twice on our trip to Scotland, first on the way north and then again on the way back home. The 2 Sisters Cafe is a delightful discovery, and more than worth a few minutes detour from the M6 at Junction 36.
The food is excellent, mostly home cooked, hearty fare. I can recommend the daily quiche and also the soup, both were sampled and both very tasty. There is a good beverage menu, I loved the hot chocolate with a pinch of ginger, perfect on a cold, wet day!
The interior of the cafe is clean and comfortable, although on both occasions it was very busy and table sharing might be required. There is a farm shop and toilets on site too, but the crowning glory for this cafe is the outstanding customer service. Make sure you set the Sat Nav for this gem; postcode LA8 8QJ, you'll never bother with the Westmorland motorway services again!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T55MCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to 2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing