We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Full Polish” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths

2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths
Ranked #1 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Gastropub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
878 reviews
664 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Full Polish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stopped for a bite to eat on our way to Lake Windermere and we were so glad we did. We were both hungry so we ordered the full breakfast and it was great. It was really well cooked and there was plenty of it. My wife spotted that the 2 sistersn were Polish, her Dad is Polish, so she chatted away to one sister. It is a lovely cafe really friendly layout with an extensive menu. The cakes were home baked and looked delicious. Great variety of choices. We will definitely call in again.
I highly recommend you call in.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank graham198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    73
    8
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stop on the way to the Lakes or during your stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

During our last few days in the Lake District we ate twice at the 2 Sisters. Both times the restaurant was comfortably full.(always a good sign). The meals we all had were varied and without fail yummy!
The surroundings are clean fresh and a little different to the run of the mill small restaurant. The staff are friendly and helpful, we shall return.
Do also visit the farm shop, useful if you are on your way to stay self catering, or on the way home and need something for supper.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SueMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely surroundings, clean and tidy. Good range of foods and drinks. Excellent service from friendly staff. Best carrot cake ever tasted- light, tasty, perfect topping not too sweet- highly recommended! Will be back, only the first of our visits.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank morecambewilkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We saw the 2 Sisters Cafe on Tripadvisor, so decided to go there for breakfast on our way to the Lakes. The breakfast was very good, the sister who served us very friendly, and the cafe very comfortable with a lovely ambiance. So much so we decided to have lunch here on the return journey and, although we missed the turning, turned around and went back.
The lunch was equally good. When we arrived the cafe was completely full but luckily we got a table quickly. Some people were disappointed. No doubt in the summer the outside tables will solve this problem.
The food is really good, especially the cakes! Everything is home made and the staff work incredibly hard to provide a good quality experience. They deserve to do very well.
An added bonus is that there is also a farm shop with very good quality produce to take home with you, or buy on the way to your holiday cottage.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AnneandDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greasby
Level Contributor
136 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“lovely afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

stopped for a quick drink, but stayed to eat, not what i expected. Farm shop & cafe, but what a cafe. The 2 young girls where really friendly, and very attentive, a credit to the place. Had homemade pea & ham soup, and hot chocolate with cream,marshmallows & flake the best hot chocolate ive had the whole weekend (i dont drink tea or coffee) so im a bit fussy
thanks

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlmcintyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to 2 Sisters Cafe at Plumgarths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing