We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Reviewed December 9, 2013

A cosy comfortable room and a fantastic breakfast - what more could you want from a B&B!! Heidi was very friendly and delivered our breakfast to our room at exactly the time requested. The School House is just a short walk from Kendal town centre and was exactly what we needed for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Louise Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 200 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2013

A great B&B, everything we needed in the room. Fresh clean linen and fluffy white towels. My husband and I with our 12 year old son had a double bed and camp bed in the room. Unfortunately we didn't get to spend much time in there as check in was after 4pm and we were attending a 40th birthday party so rushed in, showered, changed and rushed out. Breakfast was absolutely gorgeous with a good choice too. It was beautifully presented on a tray and brought to our room. We would have preferred to maybe have had a later checkout as we had a late night and had to be out of the room by 10am on the Sunday morning, but that said I would still return and highly recommend the School House B&B.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Joandian34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Excellent short stay at this B&B. Very handy for Kendal town centre - they even supply a map showing recommended shops, restaurants, etc. around town. Great choice of tasty breakfasts available, picked via a listings system, which is then delivered to your room the next day at a time of your choosing. Room was clean, fresh and cosily furnished. At times it felt like visiting friends - I was given a lift into the centre with my stock one morning to spare me the incessant rain - and everyone was very friendly and couldn't have been more helpful. And finally, there's even a 'taste of Kendal' box you can purchase to take away with you, filled with tea, mint cake, coffee and the like. Recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was our second time at this B&B and we can highly recommend it. Very clean and in a great location which is an easy walk from Kendal town centre. Breakfast is lovely with plenty of choices and served in the room. Heidi is a great hostess - there when you need her but not intrusive.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Recently stayed here with a friend, great location, really well designed room with some really nice special touches you wouldn't normally expect from a B & B. Heidi was helpful in choosing a restaurant for dinner, location is great for Kendal centre and breakfast in our room was a really special treat. I will be returning in the not too distant future, we only stayed for one night but I felt like I'd had a really good break - I think it may be my new secret place - shouldn't really be telling you all about it!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Recently stayed here with friends, very clean rooms, lovely decoration in bedrooms. Breakfast in bed was novelty, but we really enjoyed it, the food was lovely, fresh, plenty of choice and tasty...I would recommend the smoked salmon and scrabled egg on toast!
The owner was very friendly, location central and easy walking distance of bars, pubs, restaurants and shops.
When we booked we arranged for a parking space to be available for us which was a huge bonus, as parking in the town centre can be expensive.
We would definately recommend this bed & breakfast.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great B&B in a picturesque location. Comfy, well designed room with the delight of breakfast in room picked from a vast choice. Had a nice view of the river. Lovely host who was able to give advice on local area, restaurants etc. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catty1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,137 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.4 mi away
Days Inn Kendal Killington Lake
4.3 mi away
Eagle & Child Inn
Eagle & Child Inn
#1 of 2 in Staveley
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Kendal Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Kendal Holiday Lets

Address: 1 Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the River Kent, easy access to transport networks and less than a ten minute walk to Kendal's bustling town centre, our 2 Bed Self-Catering Holiday Let is ideally placed for you to relax and unwind and enjoy all that Kendal and the stunning surrounding area has to offer. The two bedrooms are en-suite and are well equipped with TVs, DVD players, Robes and Slippers and of course Kendal Mint cake! (Please note we were previously School House Bed and Breakfast) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School House Kendal Holiday Lets Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing