We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Simply the best"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“"Simply the best"”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Very enjoyable stay at this fantastic B & B in Kendal. Great location close to restaurants/pubs and the town centre. First class hospitality from the owners Heidi & Dave who layed on the best breakfast I have ever had!! The rooms were impeccably clean and wonderfully designed with all facilities needed.No hesitation about strongly recommending this place to anyone!

Thank you to both of you.

Room Tip: We picked room 3 that had the river view which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
40
88
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed at the School House B&B in August, we were recommended it by another guest house and I'm glad they did! We were travelling with a 2yr old and were really struggling to find any where that would take him or not charge for him (we have a travel cot and food). The room was very nice, large, newly refurbished and clean. Very comfy bed and a nice flat screen tv. The owner Heidi was very friendly and welcoming. Breakfast in the morning was great, served at the table in the room.
The B&B is just a short walk across the bridge into the town centre. Would definitely stay again. Only thing missing was wifi, i forgot to ask if they had it but my phone didn't pick anything up. Thanks!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GordyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We spent a lovely weekend here with our 5-year old. Heidi and her family couldn't have been more welcoming - even helping organise a babysitter for us - and we all really loved the place. The family room was perfect for our needs - and the breakfast was one of the nicest we've ever had, anywhere! It's very well placed for getting into town, and we loved being able to climb up the hill to the castle nearby. We'd thoroughly recommend this to anyone visiting this area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the School House this weekend for the first time and we received a very warm welcome from Heidi, Dave and family. Our first impression was that the whole place, and especially our room, was tastefully decorated and beautifully clean and we had every facility we needed for our stay. Our very tasty breakfast was served in our room at the time we specified and was beautifully presented and cooked. We very much appreciated the high quality of the food which, we understand, is always locally sourced when possible. The main purpose of our visit was to enjoy a relaxing weekend and we certainly achieved this. Kendal is a lovely place to visit with lots to do and we will certainly return to the School House to enjoy the wonderful hospitality of the owners.

Room Tip: We would be happy to stay in any of the rooms at this B &B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here while viewing properties and planning our move from London to Kendal. The rooms are beautifully decorated, well laid out and fitted out to a very high spec with some lovely touches like scented pillows and towels. Breakfast options are plentiful and the food is delicious. Heidi, the owner, is very friendly, welcoming and resourceful.

The only things that would make this place better are wifi and mixer taps in the bathroom sinks!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajax1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

A fabulous stay. A warm welcome from the owners and we had a very comfortable stay in a beautiful room. Lovely location, clean rooms and delicious breakfast. We will definitely come again. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SandraSproat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The School House is a wonderful, modern B&B in the lovely town of Kendal. The room was exceptionally clean and comfortable and breakfast was served to us in our room at the time we requested. The rooms all have en suite bathrooms too so felt very much at home. Very convenient location only a few minutes walk to the town centre, and to the train station. The B&B is run by a very friendly couple who did all they could to make sure we enjoyed our trip - which we did!

It was our first time at the School House, though we visit Kendal reguarly and we both agreed this will be our new regular place to stay.

Can't fault it at all, would highly recommend, we are already planning our next trip back!

Room Tip: The family room is very spacious and brilliantly priced!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laura1585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
667 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to School House Kendal Holiday Lets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about School House Kendal Holiday Lets

Property: School House Kendal Holiday Lets
Address: 1 Castle Street, Kendal LA9 7AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stone's throw from the River Kent, easy access to transport networks and less than a ten minute walk to Kendal's bustling town centre, our 2 Bed Self-Catering Holiday Let is ideally placed for you to relax and unwind and enjoy all that Kendal and the stunning surrounding area has to offer. The two bedrooms are en-suite and are well equipped with TVs, DVD players, Robes and Slippers and of course Kendal Mint cake! (Please note we were previously School House Bed and Breakfast) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
School House Kendal Holiday Lets Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing