We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A brilliant and relaxing hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Fornalutx, Spain
2 reviews
“A brilliant and relaxing hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

We originally booked for 3 nights and enjoyed our stay so much we extended it by an extra night.
The staff could not be friendlier or more helpful without being over bearing and the food is really good and always hot. Portions are generous to say the least and the chips are to die for!!! The menu has a really extensive choice to suit all tastes and there is bar food to choose from also.
Our executive room was very clean. The bed was so,so comfy that only the thought of the first class breakfast awaiting us provided the motivation to leave it.
We have booked again for 5 nights in September and our daughter and husband are joining us for 3 of them and we are all looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Sounds odd but we feel that a room at the front, car park side is best. If an executive room is you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidsLDL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    160
    34
    11
    2
See reviews for
61
191
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Epsom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

We have used this hotel as a posthouse stopping over en route to and from Scotland over the past 12 years. Since it was taken over by the present family owners, it has gone from strength to strength. The welcome is warm and friendly, the beds are very comfortable, the water hot, the food of excellent quality and plentiful. Although very close to the M6 it is very quiet at night with no traffic noise. It really is a great place to stay either as a stopover or as a base to explore that area of Cumbria and the southern lakes.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are spacious and well appointed. The others, although smaller, were updated to a hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanneross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxon
Level Contributor
120 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

Ideally placed for overnight stop or longer. Welcoming reception and catering staff. very pleasant "better" room in which everything worked. Only negative was the view from the large window of the barn next door. Very busy in restaurant on Easter Saturday night but a good meal was enjoyed. probably paid a premium because of the date but enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ironmanOxon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for some R +R. Stayed in room 11 on the ground floor, all ok with the room, if only one very small complaint, it is that the shaving mirror in the bathroom could do with replacing, both sides have lost there mirror finish right in the middle. Food here is of a very good standard, with a fine wine list to complement it, and the black sheep ale is well kept. Staff very friendly and helpful, I could even personaise my breakfast. Ample car parking a plus too. Really enjoyed our break, please pass on our thanks to all the staff.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cookii53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We use this hotel whenever we are in the area on business and every time we have been very happy with the staff, excellent food and comfortable rooms.
Highly recommended to anyone visiting the area

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times now, the bedrooms are comfortable although bathrooms could do with updating. A good choice and well presented evening meal, and a particularly good, and piping hot breakfast! The staff are helpful, the bar lacks atmosphere but does serve real ale! Free wi-fi throughout, but on both of my visits this was poor, unless actually sat in reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have stayed at Crooklands in the past so I did not hesitate to book again when I needed to stay near Kendal.
I always rated this hotel highly, but it seems to have just got better.
All the staff are friendly and helpful, I had some difficulties getting an internet connection but this was sorted out without delay.
The rooms are of the highest standard with everything you could need.
I've seen negative comments about the cost of food, I just don't agree. All the food is freshly made and of the highest standard and good portion sizes, I've never been disappointed. The prices are fair, and I've certainly paid more for awful food at other hotels I have stayed at.
It will remain my number one choice when staying in this area and I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
12.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.3 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Property: Crooklands Hotel
Address: Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing