We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Easter Get Away”
Review of Crooklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crooklands Hotel
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Easter Get Away”
Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights for some R +R. Stayed in room 11 on the ground floor, all ok with the room, if only one very small complaint, it is that the shaving mirror in the bathroom could do with replacing, both sides have lost there mirror finish right in the middle. Food here is of a very good standard, with a fine wine list to complement it, and the black sheep ale is well kept. Staff very friendly and helpful, I could even personaise my breakfast. Ample car parking a plus too. Really enjoyed our break, please pass on our thanks to all the staff.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cookii53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    176
    37
    11
    2
See reviews for
67
208
20
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 25, 2012 via mobile

We use this hotel whenever we are in the area on business and every time we have been very happy with the staff, excellent food and comfortable rooms.
Highly recommended to anyone visiting the area

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Spencer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Level Contributor
102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times now, the bedrooms are comfortable although bathrooms could do with updating. A good choice and well presented evening meal, and a particularly good, and piping hot breakfast! The staff are helpful, the bar lacks atmosphere but does serve real ale! Free wi-fi throughout, but on both of my visits this was poor, unless actually sat in reception.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustinHemel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2012

I have stayed at Crooklands in the past so I did not hesitate to book again when I needed to stay near Kendal.
I always rated this hotel highly, but it seems to have just got better.
All the staff are friendly and helpful, I had some difficulties getting an internet connection but this was sorted out without delay.
The rooms are of the highest standard with everything you could need.
I've seen negative comments about the cost of food, I just don't agree. All the food is freshly made and of the highest standard and good portion sizes, I've never been disappointed. The prices are fair, and I've certainly paid more for awful food at other hotels I have stayed at.
It will remain my number one choice when staying in this area and I could not recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2011

Crooklands is extremely easy to find, just off J36 of the M6, and a perfect place for us to stopover en route to Scotland. The room was compact and had everything you could really want for an overnight stay. Refreshingly, there was a window in the bathroom, nice toiletries and tea & coffee facilties. The room was very clean too. Note that the bed is a double and not king size.

The hotel felt new and modern and the reception area was very airy and bright making it feel quite expensive. We had dinner in the restaurant though we had the option of having it in the bar too. The restaurant was the best option since there were a number of parties going on and the bar was very busy. The bar staff were very efficient and there was a minimal wait for drinks. You can charge everything to your room if you wish. The dinner was hot and good quality though we found the staff actually too attentive. We felt slightly rushed in their enthusiasm to clear the table and ask us if everything was ok and did we require anything else. This isn't necessarily a negative thing but good service has a balance to it and I am sure this will be learnt in time. Breakfast was a wide choice of continental and full English. I felt it was probably on the hotplate for a while but that seems to be the norm these days.

All in all it was a very pleasant stay and I would stay there again if visiting Scotland.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merlin_de_Manaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stranraer, scotland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2011

We arrived to a lovely looking hotel with ample space for car parking, although it is in the middle of nowhere.

We stayed here on the way home from London as a stop off and were looking just to relax and sit back for a day/night. We were not disappointed. We had a few drinks in the bar which was lovely with a coal fire so was very cosy. We then took a bus into Kirkby Lonsdale for a few hours and back to the hotel at night for tea. Tea was lovely,was a bit dearer than average but was lovely so was worth it. As was breakfast the next morning which set us up for the day!

Overall this was a great place to stay but a bit out of the way.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmab75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles012, Owner at Crooklands Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2011
Thank you it is always good to hear when guests enjoy their stay with us, we are as you say 5/6 miles from Kendal, although years ago the A65 route to Kendal which is the one that we sit used to be the main route into Kendal from yorkshire. See how things have changed but on a Positive note we are now only ONE Mile from the M6 Junction 36 which makes the Hotel an ideal stopping off point from the South to the North or vice versa. Thank you once again,I will look forward to meeting you when you return.
Yours Charles
Hotel Proprietor,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stumbled across this place heading down from Aberdeen to Birmingham on our motorbikes, tried to book on laterooms but had issues so rang them and the lady could not be more helpful, it was a last minute booking. easy to find and just a mile or so from M6. Turned up, plenty if parking and the lady let us leave our bikes right in front of reception which kept my partner happy.

She offered up a standard room at £86 or a budget room at £70, and said she would show me the rooms and let me decide. Well the standard room looked very nice from what I seen and when she showed up the budget room (room 6) it looked fine too so we went with the cheaper room. I seen someone has complained about this room but to us it's fine, clean bright and airy, lovely comfortable bed. Has a old style tv but picture is clear and has free view so that's fine. Wifi is free in the room and works well. We ordered room service , lady was helpful and food arrived promptly. We had scampi and it was lovely, nice big portion too.

Can't really find any fault with this hotel and I would definitely stay again. Staff have all been lovely.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speighty1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles012, Owner at Crooklands Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Fantastic just what we like to hear, as a family business we put a lot of effort into pleasing our customers which we hope will entice them back to stay with us again and again. We are pleased that you found Room 6 up to standard, and the food prepared from our kitchens wholesome and plentyfull. Great News. Thank you .

Charles & June
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
5.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
4.9 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
22.6 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crooklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crooklands Hotel

Property: Crooklands Hotel
Address: Crooklands, Kendal LA7 7NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#2 Business Hotel in Kendal
#4 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crooklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Crooklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crooklands Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing