We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent place to stay”
Review of Millers Beck

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Millers Beck
Ranked #7 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exellent place to stay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for our second time during the last bank holiday. Great place, rooms spotless and comfortable. Breakfast all you can ask for, even down to the home made jams. We had the millwheel room with veiws over the fells. Nice little lounge to relax in if needed.
We had a look round some of the rooms, including the self catering flats and all are to a very high standard.
Look forward to returning later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
83
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hampshire,uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

I booked a night at this B&B as an overnight stop enroute from south coast of England to Inverness. It's just a few miles from J36 of the M6 and easy to find. I stayed in a small double room which was really nice; only dislike for me was it's outlook onto a stone wall barn which rendered the room quie dark. However, the bathroom extremely well decorated, bright (large velux in the high ceiling), roomy and super clean. Breakfast first class with home made jam and marmalade (very yummy) and an extra touch were the cotton napkins.
Being on a main A road the traffic noise is noticeable, but l did have the window open overnight.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room overlooking the garden and the stream next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMRHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Had to stay overnight near Kendal and chose Millers Beck because we had seen it from the road previously.

The hotel was welcoming - nothing too much trouble - clean and well presented, with all of the facilities you might expect plus some delightful scenery. Our room was large and recently refurbished with a spotless bathroom and comfortable beds.

Breakfast was excellent and unrushed.

Will recommend this place to family and friends.

Room Tip: You can hear running water from the beck on one side. We didn't find this annoying but there ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Needed a place to stay near Kendal for three days whilst attending a course. Considering the price I thought I'd booked into something that would 'just about do'. I was very much in for a pleasant surprise:

1) Clean, tidy and kept that way! Absolutely spotless. Owner takes pride in this and keeps it that way.

2) Location - couple of miles from Kendal, near lovely local scenery and good pubs (Srtickland Arms was a favourite)

3) Breakfast - just right. Lovely full English (or other stuff if you want) with plenty of Tea.

4) Very friendly owner – I just felt welcomed but not over-welcomed as you can be sometimes.

5) Cost – excellent value for money. Definitely will be coming here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blakedown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

we loved the location, house, people etc. will return as soon as we can. location was perfect for the yorkshire dales and the lake district. lovely breakfast with homemade jam in a conservatory looking at the garden and millrace under the window. we saw 3 of the rooms and a flat which were all lovely.

Room Tip: contact owners directly to book rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 800jp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We really enjoyed this place, It was cozy, warm and well located.The decoration and fixtures were very tasteful and the room we stayed in was very comfortable. The owners were very hospitable and helpful throughout our brief stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noribaires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Stayed here with my partner for two nights over the new year. The location is lovely even in the typical British weather, easy to find and a 5 minute drive into Kendal. The whole place was immaculate! The rooms were spotless, well decorated and lovely and warm! Breakfast was delicious and the owners were extremely helpful and welcoming and made us feel right at home. Would recommend this to all from near and far! Every credit to this cracking little place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
3.7 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,016 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
85 reviews
4.1 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
2.9 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millers Beck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millers Beck

Property: Millers Beck
Address: Millers Beck Millbridge Lane | Stainton, Kendal LA8 0DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millers Beck 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality B&B and Self Catering accommodation in 17C converted Water Mill in rural location near Kendal, Lake District and Yorkshire Dales. Just 3 miles from M6 Junction 36.Always contact direct for best deals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Millers Beck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millers Beck Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing