We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hostel BUT”
Review of Kendal Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kendal Hostel
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very nice hostel BUT”
Reviewed May 22, 2014

Kendal Hostel is a nice Hostel with a good location, a very friedly staff which really helped us, a big kitchen, dining room, billiard table and a nice interor, the price is ok.
BUT: The beds are horrible! I never slept SO bad!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jo123405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    73
    34
    6
    9
See reviews for
26
30
64
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

Very friendly service and no hassle booking, thank you Jan :-) Hostel was clean, beds comfortable enough and ideal for groups wanting economical beds for a night(s). Quirky building too with plenty of character in an ideal location. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jono1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The staffs there helped me a lot on every aspect, e.g. they provided me towels, hairdryer and a place to cook. They treated me kindly and always with smile. I was glad that I had stayed at Kendal in my trip.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Chia Tien T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 11, 2014

A well situated hostel in the heart of beautiful Kendal. Jan is very welcoming. Had a single room which was excellent value foe money.

Overall it was a great stay. Very friendly, definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I have stayed at Kendal Hostel several times over the past few years, most recently in March with a large party of friends. The hostel is exactly what you would hope it would be: great value, friendly, comfortable enough, quiet but in the centre of town and convenient for the train station. Breakfasts are also good value. Jan, who runs the place, is friendly and has a wealth of local knowledge.
It is really everything you could expect for the price and well worth it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank English30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

I was greeted by Jan. While sorting me away with a bed in female room, she immediately gave suggestions on where to go and how to get around using public transportation.The bed was comfortable with individual lights which was good for bedtime reading. Everything expected out of a hostel was basically there. Its location is a plus point as its practically in the commercial stretch and pubs, trains and bus station are all within short walking distance!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank NurulAlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place, staff friendly and nothing was to much trouble. The hostel is right in the centre of town so ideal 4 a good night out. Cheap as chips and as cosy as an old pair of slippers.try the brewery arts centre right next door, great bar and fantastic food. It's also a cinema and has live gigs if ure lucky to stay when there's a gig on get in there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frenchfancys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#5 of 13 in Kendal
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lyndhurst Guest House
Lyndhurst Guest House
#2 of 42 in Kendal
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kendal Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kendal Hostel

Property: Kendal Hostel
Address: 118-120 Highgate, Kendal LA94HE, England (Formerly Kendal Youth Hostel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kendal Hostel is a converted Georgian Townhouse only a stones throw away from Kendal's town centre. Kendal is a historic market town known as "The Gateway to the Lakes" and Dales so great to use as a base or to start your adventure. The hostel is situated only 300 yards from Kendal town centre where we have markets twice weekly, traditional shops, Museums and plenty of eatery's. Walking is a great way to enjoy the area, We have many walks that start from Kendal, and also many other areas. There is a wide range of walks to suit everyone. Kendal is close to all local amenities including great transport links such as the Oxenholme, The Lake District train station that is on the West Coast line from London to Glasgow, National Express stops daily in Kendal and also we are only a mere 8 miles from J36 of the M6 motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Kendal Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kendal Youth Hotel Kendal
Kendal Hostel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing