We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not the Best!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not the Best!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Firstly finding the Riverside isn't the easiest, there wasn't any room in the hotel car park so had to park at the railway station (not too far away) we had to wait at reception for someone to come to check us in. The room was adequate and the view wasn't bad, unfortunately we had only luke warm water and there were stray hairs in the bath and the toilet hadn't been cleaned properly. On a plus side, the food in the restaurant was good although courses came thick and fast and it took us less than three quarters of an hour from beginning to end, so not a leisurely dinner.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We are sorry that you struggled to find our hotel; we do give a map and directions with our confirmation letters to try and help guests find their way around Kendal’s one way system. Thank you for reporting to us the problems with the water, we were made aware of this and have had the heating specialists come and fix the problem, the system is new and top of the range and we were very upset to find that this problem occurred. I will pass your comments onto the housekeeping and restaurant managers and ask them to review and carry out further training with their staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    386
    172
    57
    27
See reviews for
168
553
24
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

We stayed at the hotel after our wedding in Warwickshire. We checked in to our room late Sunday evening after a long drive with many delays, there was no information to tell us what services the hotel had to offer e.g how to use room service when breakfast and meal times started/ finished. The following morning we got up for breakfast which was lovely and the service was good. We then tried to log on to the free wi fi this was not working so we advised the staff and went out walking for the day while they assured us an engineer would be out to fix it. This never happened. That evening we wanted a relaxing bath only to find it was broken this was also reported multiple times but never addressed or fixed. The day before we checked out our room was not even made up / cleaned until after 4pm even then the bathroom was not cleaned properly ( hair in sink and and dust on towel rails)Overall rating for our stay was unsatisfactory not 3 stars.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammieorourke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
I am very sorry that you found to have problems during your stay. We did have problems with our wifi and our wifi support technicians which caused delays in getting the problem repaired, we are very sorry that you were affected by this. Your room should have had a guest information booklet and a brochure on the local area - I am confused that this was not left for you on top of the desk, as they are all kept in the rooms. Our housekeeping team do work hard to ensure that all room make ups are done as early as possible but sometimes some rooms are last on the list and it can be a bit later in the day when they are done, we are sorry if this was too late for you. But we are glad you enjoyed the food and the service from our front of house team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
selby
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2011

Just returned from the Riverside Hotel, where we stayed for one night.
it was a present for my husbands birthday.
Check in was good we arrived early but our room was ready Room 208. In the room which was quite large we had a double bed and a single bed, toiletries provided iron and ironing board The bathroom was clean and the shower good.
Bar good restaurant good, the staff were very pleasant too. couldn't fault the hotel for one night.
The only down side was you could smell cigarette smoke on that floor, so either
someone was smoking in their room or it was coming from the stair well.
Would definatetly stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scarthingwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your comments to our staff who appreciate the feedback. I am sorry that you had to smell cigarette smoke, sometimes we do get cheeky guests who smoke in their rooms, despite being asked not to.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frodsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2011

My partner and I stayed here for two nights during August 2010. The location is great if you want to spend some time in the lake district and the parking available is right beside the hotel so very practical. Our room overlooked the river so was extremely quiet, as well as being clean and spacious. However the tea and coffee were not replaced and the room felt cool despite the August sun.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lida-lids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about our hotel. We do try and keep the rooms a bit cooler in summer as many guests appreciate this when returning from a hot day out, heaters are available on request. We hope that you will come and stay with us again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2011

found parking no problem. waited a while to check in as girl was serving at bar (not a problem ). room was very clean a bit on the small side but had everything i needed. appreciate the toiletries. my main reason for choosing this hotel was it had swimming pool etc, what a dissapointment the pool was far to cold the jacuzzi out of order and the showers were barely warm , small children in the changing room were shivering and saying they would not go back into pool. looking back on other reviews i see this has been a problem in the past !!! maybe time to have it checked.
Breakfast was fine and catered for everyone .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacquiScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
I am pleased that overall you found our hotel to be a good one and that basically enjoyed your stay. The comments about the pool being cold have been taken on board and we will be discussing with the Sanctuary Leisure Club to try and find a way to get this fixed. It is not something that happens regularly, actually quite rarely, but when it does it is a massive inconvenience to our guests which we obviously want to avoid. I hope that you will come and stay with us again soon and that next time the pool will be warm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the hotel on the 21st January 2011. Easy free parking in the ground floor carpark and pleasant check in. Room was fine for one night but a bit small with only a double bed (bit of an issue when you are 6 ft 5) but a super view across the river towards kendal.
Bar was good, reasonably priced (£2,90 for a pint of Hawkshead bitter) though a nice open fire would have really made it as the electric fire really didn't do it for me. |Kendal town centre is 2 minutes over the adjoinng Stramongate bridge and so the hotel is really well positioned for Kendal centre. Breakfast was good: plenty of choice and well cooked with good service and a great view of the river from the restaurant.

Overall a pleasant stay and would return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrGrumpLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We have taken on board your comments about the open fire and have had someone come and have a look, unfortunately due to it’s position we cannot have one fitted but we are being priced for an upgraded electric fire which should add to the ambience of the bar. I am sorry that you were allocated a double bed, we do have superkings available, should you wish to stay with us again please mention on reservation and we will ensure that you get a bigger bed for a more comfortable night sleep.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

We spent 3 nights on a New Year BreakThe hotel is lovely ;food was good and the leisure suite was excellent. .We were promised a welcome drink and canapes on the first night. That didn't happen and the welcome drink was switched to New Year's Eve.(no canapes!)There was no "host" in attendance--an oportunity was lost to make people feel part of a celebration.In fact we didn't realise who the manager was until she hosted the quiz on the 3rd night.The staff were individually very good but there seemed to be a lack of overall organisation.The meal on New year's Eve was excellent but took a long time to serve.The ceilidh was OK but the disco was awful. The 2 presenters lacked enthusiasm--music played was cheap downloads (not original artists) and quite wrong for dancing to and for the age group in the room.The highlight of the evening was in fact the "zoomer " balloons.

The Manager should have been there and taken responsibility for this.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Directors at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
We are very sorry that the disco was a let down on New Year. We have received other comments to this effect and it did not go unnoticed by our management. The DJ did let us down and we will be using a different one next year. We did have problems with staffing levels over New Year and this unfortunately meant that our manager was taken away from the host duties she would have normally loved to perform. We are sorry that this had an effect on your stay and we are glad to hear that the high standard of the food, rooms and leisure facilities went some way to making up for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.7 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing