We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay over New Year!”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We booked a 3 night stay over the new year period and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was perfect - clean, spacious and with a great view over the river. The food was excellent, together with the service. The spa facilities were basic but well maintained and overall the atmosphere in the hotel was relaxed and friendly. It was superb value for money and we will definitely go back to Riverside.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Jo77Coventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

A wonderful review, thank you! It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the team and in particular the chefs. We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

970 - 976 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2011

The staff and service was excellent. Food was good, especially the breakfasts. Leisure facilities and location were also very good. We were there for a three night New Year break, so one of the highlights was going to be the New Year Gala dinner, ceilidh and disco. The meal was good, ceilidh okay, but unfortunately the disco was awful. The couple running it had absolutely no idea how to create an atmopsphere. The music they played, until we suggested some appropriate dancing music like "Abba" or Tina Turner", was obviously NOT what we wanted as NOBODY was up dancing. They obviously were not interested as there was NO interaction with the audience and even the count down to midnight was half hearted. A lot of people left after the bells. That says it all! We went to our room for drinks and popped up every so often to the function suite, but they were in the same position, sitting looking at their computer screen, with only a few folk on the dance floor.
Overall, a lovely break, but the talking point over future New Year breaks will be "remember that awful disci at Kendal". Shame.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david_sherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay, we are so sorry that the disco let you down. Next year it will be a new DJ!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

With a little attention to detail, our three-night stay at the Riverside over New Year could have been so much better.

The rooms were fine, though the bathroom was a tad on the small side and the glass shower screen over the bath swung around rather than being anchored at the bottom - an accident in waiting if ever I saw one as we narrowly escaped disaster on more than one occasion when the door into the room crashed into the screen.

The food itself was OK, but the organisation - or lack of it - in the dining room left much to be desired. On the first morning tables were left uncleared for up to 15 minutes while people stood around waiting for somewhere to sit. Various components of the buffet breakfast were allowed to run out and were not replaced very speedily...one morning we went without bacon due to the long wait, and on two mornings we had already finished eating by the time our coffee arrived. And the fact that used plates were not cleared away quickly meant unsightly piles of dirty crockery were always stacked on window sills and any available space by diners trying to make space on the table.

Overall, the problems seemed to stem from a shortage of staff, which meant that service at the New Year gala dinner was also slow. There were simply too few waiting staff for the numbers booked, with the result that some tables waited 15-20 minutes longer than others for their courses to be delivered. And it would have been a big help if there had been someone obviously in charge both in the dining room and function room - there was no welcome, and no clear information on what was happening.

The piper and ceilidh band promised for New Year were a major factor in our choosing the hotel, but the first did not appear, and I'm still pondering whether a keyboard operator plus a stringed instrument constitutes a ceilidh band.

All in all, there was a lack of organisation and planning, and a distinct feeling that the hotel was cutting corners to the detriment of the whole experience, from the lack of staff to the sparkling wine rather than champagne used to toast the New Year. The reluctance to do things properly was also apparent on the third evening, a quiz night, when competitors over-flowed into an adjoining room. With a microphone this would not have been a problem, but there was no sound system so the quiz mistress had to read out each question twice, going from room to room.

The real question the Riverside management should be asking is how it can learn from its failings, because unless it does the answer will be a resounding no for next year!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourmalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you very much for your comments. We will certainly be taking everything you said on board and looking into ways to resolve the problems for next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2011

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights over the new year, and what a fantastic stay it was,the hotel was spotless, staff very friendly and the food was out of this world we ate in the restaraunt 2 nights and had a 5 gala new years eve meal, everything was cooked to perfection. the hotel also has a leisure centre for residents to use free of charge , i.e state of the art gym, swimming pool, sauna steam room and jacuzzi what else could you need. If you fancy a relaxing break in the lake district then you could not wish for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhinos-thruandthru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

A wonderful review to start our New Year! Thank you! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back again sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I spent three nights at the Riverside Hotel for their Christmas Break. This commenced on Christmas Eve and included bed, breakfast and quality evening meals for all three days, in addition to a six-course Christmas Day lunch.

This represented excellent value for money as the break was very well priced compared to others in the area with comparable packages.

The quality of the food was excellent throughout, especially the Christmas lunch. Service was faultless from what appeared to be quite a small group of very hard working staff, which added to the 'personal' feel of the hotel.

Our room was of a good standard with a good sized and very comfortable bed, attractive bath/shower room, large flat screen TV, and view of river.

A nice benefit was the (free for guests) leisure facilities which were open for use throughout the break, including a large gym, pool, sauna, and steam room. There is also a large free under cover car park.

Overall I would recommend this hotel, and we plan to return when the weather is better to explore the surrounding Lake District area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, it is such a special time of year and all of staff work hard to ensure that all the guests really have a wonderful time. It is great to read that all their hard work did not go unnoticed! We look forward to seeing you when the weather is a bit warmer and brighter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2010

Stayed in this hotel for one night. Location is lovely overlooking the river. Our room was lovely & very spacious. We were really looking forward to the evening meal after seeing the sample menus on the website, only to be told as there aren't many guests staying in the hotel we had to choose from the bar menu! This was nothing more than pub food with most dishes being served with chips.All food is supposed to be cooked fresh but from the speed it came out of the kitchen it was definately fast food. We were very disappointed. Later when we went up to our room we were greeted by the loudest live music coming from an organised party. It was so loud that we could hear it above the tv in our room. This went on until 11.30pm. If you decide to stay in this hotel phone first to make sure they are serving the restaurant menu & NOT the bar food & if you want a quiet stay make sure there are no parties in the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

We are very sorry to receive this report, it is certainly company policy to serve meals at all time in our restaurant and we will be looking into what happened on your stay with us. I can assure you however that the food is all cooked from fresh, we do not buy any precooked meals, all meat and vegetables are sourced locally, with some coming from own kitchen gardens in Grange-over-Sands. I am pleased that you enjoyed the bedrooms and the lovely view over the River Kent, we hope that you will come and try us again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

fo ur of us have just spent the weekend here could not fault anything! rooms spacious and spotless bathrooms beautiful breakfast and evening meal lovely staff very pleasant and helpful hotel in a great location within easy walking distance to town cant wait to return

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsy2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to put such a great review on tripadvisor for us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $108 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing