We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fantastic stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2010

fo ur of us have just spent the weekend here could not fault anything! rooms spacious and spotless bathrooms beautiful breakfast and evening meal lovely staff very pleasant and helpful hotel in a great location within easy walking distance to town cant wait to return

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bugsy2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to put such a great review on tripadvisor for us. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    394
    174
    57
    27
See reviews for
172
561
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This was our 4th stay at the Riverside , and once again we were very well looked after , we have recommended the hotel to friends and family who have stayed and all agree with us , that you can not beat it for - location / comfort / food / staff / pool / gym etc , and best of all value for money . Look forward to going again soon, BRILL . (George and Pauline , Bolton,Lancs)

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bug700es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Wow thank you for such a glowing review! We are really thrilled to have kept up the high standard for each of your trips and for your friends holidays as well. I will pass your comments onto all our staff and we look forward to seeing you on trip number 5!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Hotel well placed for short walk into town. Limited car parking spaces in underground car park although we did have a parking space so not a particular problem for us. Rooms not hugely spacious but are really very very nice; all over look river, have great wall mounted tv's, with comfortable bed and tea/coffee making facilities. Everywhere very clean. Staff all very helpful and friendly. Breakfast buffet style so although a good choice of the usual breakfast foods it is buffet style. Bar extremely nice- comfy squashy settees and great outdoor balcony to sit by side of river. Spa- swimming pool small, sauna great, steam room looks good but wasn't very warm. Jacuzzi nice but be careful stepping in as quite a deep step! Over all great location, clean and confortable and the only improvement i would suggest would be to have a greater range of breakfast types. Definately planning to go back but will ask for a room a little away from the bar as there was a party and i could hear some slight noise! Still a great hotel!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluesky086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2010
Thank you for your great review, we are really pleased that you enjoyed staying at the hotel and that you were happy with your room. I will certainly pass on your comments about breakfast and the steam room to right departments so we can get them fixed. We hope that you will stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

The rooms were very clean and spacious. The food was good but the wine was expensive.
The spa was good except the security. The staff at the spa did not have locks for the lockers and did not offer any alternative security. We had some clothing stolen as the spa is also a private gym club open to paying members from the public. The hotel staff were quite apathetic about the theft even up to director level, who advised we call the police.
The fire escapes were used as storage facilities for all sorts of things including mattresses, vacuum cleaners, stacks of towels and sheets, boxes,etc. Not safe at all.
If you are going to use this hotel check your escape route carfully.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheParaisoPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
We are very sorry that you had these problems in our leisure club - we did investigate the matter and get the police involved. I now believe that the clothing has been returned and it was taken by a club member by mistake. Locks are available from the leisure club reception and this is clearly noted on posters in the changing rooms. We hope that now that clothing has been returned and the matter resolved you will look back on your stay with us as a much more pleasurable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlander
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

We booked a short break offer and were very happy with the hotel. The food was good and I thought the room was outstanding. Even the TV was a quality Phillips LCD. It was very warm in the room. We kept the window open all the time although it was cold outside. I'm sure they could get the heating bill down a bit. Low energy bulbs which are everywhere now were supplemented by led reading lamps over the bed. This was welcome because we read a lot. Comfortable chairs were provided in the room too. The pool and facilities were of a very high standard. The hotel has an inside car park with additional parking by the station. The Riverside location next to a bridge is pleasant and Kendal has more to offer than most of the nearby towns. The Lakeland Kitchen headquarters are well worth a visit. The K Shopping Centre in Kendal is poor but the town has plenty of interesting shops. The Riverside Hotel is a good base for visiting the various lakeside locations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank your very much for high recommendation! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and it’s great to receive such positive feedback. We have invested a lot in the quality aspect of the new rooms, to ensure that our rooms exceed our guest’s standards and expectations. We hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

Spent a Saturday night here before running a ski course at the nearby dry ski slope. Staff very friendly, everything works and difficult to find fault in anything. The bed was more comfortable than many four and five star hotels I have stayed in. I was impressed with their list of organic wines and there is an atlention to detail which shows. The rooms have been recently refurbished generously and they even had a notice up on the wall of a staircase apologising for the slightly worn appearance of the carpet which was shortly due for replacement. Three star rating does not do this hotel justice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epoque1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you very much for your excellent recommendation of our hotel. We do work hard to provide a great stay in every aspect, and it is lovely to see that our Organic Wine list is appreciated. I hope that you will choose us again on your next ski course.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night break at Riverside and found it to be excellent in many ways. Ideal location for walking into town and was about a 15 minute drive to Windermere. Staff were efficient and friendly, Room had nice view over the river. It was clean, bed was comfortable and tea/coffee making facilities were more than adequate.
Breakfast was really lovely, cooked nicely and plenty of choice. Our first night we also had a bar meal and it was excellent and plenty of it. Definately recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherryade_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
Thank you very much for your positive comments about our hotel, they are very much appreciated. I have passed on your comments to the staff and the kitchen team. We look forward to you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.9 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#5 of 11 in Penrith
962 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing