We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, good location, lovely room, friendly, helpful staff.”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent, good location, lovely room, friendly, helpful staff.”
Reviewed April 6, 2010

We stayed here for four nights with our border collie. The room they gave us was spacious, quiet and (at our request) on the ground floor). The reception staff couldn't have been more helpful in recommending where to walk the dog from the hotel, nearby restaurants, directions etc. We booked B & B but on our next visit will definitely book half board (the photo on their web site of the restaurant does not do it justice). However, the breakfasts were excellent, tasty and good variety, and the waitresses friendly and efficient.

The gym/pool area is an added bonus and has good long opening hours. We have no hesitation in recommending this first rate hotel to anyone and for those with dogs it is a terrific location.

We had a query on our bill which we didn't pick up until we were at home. Following an e-mail, the management quickly and efficiently sorted out the problem, which was a very pleasant surprise as really it was our fault for not spotting it at the time. Much appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manxholidaygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2010
Firstly thank you very much for writing such a glowing review, I have passed all your compliments onto the staff. My apologies for the problems with your bill but I am glad that the problem was resolved to your satisfaction. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    354
    417
    179
    59
    27
See reviews for
187
587
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Firstly this hotel could easily be a 4* with a little care and attention.

I arrived on 26th March for 2 nights and was amazed at the fantastic location that this hotel has.
However a little TLC is needed from the management to take this hotel up a level.

As we entered our room and went to make a cup of tea the spoons were found to be dirty and stick, clearly they had not been cleaned.
The in room brochure stated that room service was available from 7am till 9pm but when i tried to order a sandwich i was told they stop serving food at 2pm !
I then waited at the reception for a good 10 mins whilst the receptionist was on her mobile phone outside the main entrance and clearly saw me waiting.
Again later when i went to the bar, after 10 mins no one had arrived to serve me so we left.
These little things, although not major issues are part of the customer care package and should be addressed by the management.
The Gym was very good and also the pool but chewing gum on the side of the pool and toe nails in the steam room are off putting. Albeit the pool is very clean and im guessing some guests must also take responsibility for there own actions.

The food was excellent and can not be faulted with the menu changing daily and the service from the restaurant staff was also attentive and good.

Id like to return to the riverside but would have to see an improvement in the customer care as this hotel could be so much better.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay. We are truly upset and disappointed with the review you have given, Customer Service is so important to us and to read your review is extremely distressing. I would like to assure you that all your comments have been taken very seriously and we have spoken to each department mentioned to get to the bottom of how your experience was so contrary to what we train our staff to provide. Mobile phones are certainly not permitted at work and the receptionist should also have not left her station, much the same as the bar staff who were on duty. Our Head Housekeeper has also been made aware of your comments regarding the spoons and has acted upon them. And we have also spoken to the Leisure Club team and asked them to be extra vigilant with the cleaning of the club.
Thank you for comments about the Restaurant and meals we have also passed them on to the kitchen and waiting on team.
We would hope that you do decide to stay with us again and give us a chance to show you how good our service can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Having just returned from a long weekend away for my girlfriends 21st birthday and this hotel made for a special weekend away. The deal we got by booking early was fantastic value for money! The riverside hotel is a very nice hotel and the perfect base to explore the lakes. The view from the room was very nice being above the river kendal watching it pass by the window and you can see kendal castle. Food and facillities were first class and free underground parking! Would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice getaway weekend! i booked this then was worried by some of the bad reviews on here on arriving the were swiftly put to rest as the hotel is excellent, the rooms are nicely laid out and free wi-fi in the room is an excellent touch. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice break in the lakes. The service by the staff was fantastic, breakfast was very good and the evening meal was lovely and the waitress was very helpful and nothing was too much trouble! This should be a four star hotel as it punches above its 3 star rating!
L Jones North Wales

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LewJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, Assistant to the Director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2010
Everyone at The Riverside wanted to thank you for taking the time to write us such a great review. I always say it means a lot to the staff to receive feedback and even more when it is such high praise as this. Like you said in your review we do have some negative feedback on trip advisor which unfortunately was prior to the massive refurbishment project we have undertaken, it just takes time and guests such as yourself who feel so impressed by their stay they are compelled to tell other travelers. Let’s hope we have many more reviews like yours, and we hope that we see you again at the hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We booked on a weekend "deal" which included bed, breakfast and evening meal, and it proved to be a good move. The meals were superb, but would have been much more expensive if paid for separately.
The atmosphere was lovely, and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The room was large and looked out onto the River Kent, and had all the facilities you could need.
The swimming pool, sauna and steam were an added bonus. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thornbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely report, it always gives the staff a boost for all their hard work
Please keep checking our website for our special offers, we offer a range through out the year, or if you prefer please contact our reception and will we pop you our mailing list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N. Yorkshire
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I booked for 3 nights over half term, myself and my 8yr old son. Hotel was nice, rooms clean and comfortable, well equiped and serviced. We ate in the resturant 2 nights (as part of the deal), food was ok, service not so good but more staff would sort that out. Breakfast was average, not a great deal of choice, would have preferred some fresh fruit, pastries and breakfast cooked to order instead of buffet style. Leisure centre was really good, nice clean changing rooms and pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, it was never too busy which was nice. I would recommend for a short break. Location is great, 2 mins walk into the heart of Kendal and 20/30 mins drive into Windermere,

Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rosey321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Thank you for your feedback, all feedback, positive or negative is always welcomed. We apologise if the service in the restaurant in the evening was not up to scratch, it is something that the manager will be dealing with.
If you do decide to stay with us again, please ask your waiter or waitress in the morning for a cooked to order breakfast and we will always be happy to prepare something for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 15, 2010

This was a last-minute booking and we have had a lovely time. Our room was very comfortable and clean. Ample space and good facilities. Bathroom was lovely. The only thing that irritated us was the poor quality lighting, plenty of lights but all very dim. We enjoyed our meal each night ( all included in the special offer price) and the menu was very varied. The food was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful.
We made use of the leisure facilities and had the use of the under cover parking, a boon in this cold weather.
The only area that disappointed us was the lounge. It lacked character. A cheap electric fire sits in a lovely fireplace. An living fire would have made all the difference, and the furniture was sparse.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ericnoble48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2010
Thank you for your review, we certainly take on board what you said about the lounge, we are in the process of organizing more for the lounge to create a more comfortable atmosphere.
We are really glad that you enjoyed your meals and found the staff friendly and helpful, it is always great to pass good feedback like this on to them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Untied Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We arrived at this hotel on the 1st Jan 2010 with a little bit of concern having read some of the not very complimentary reviews. Our concern was completly wasted we were greeted by a pleasant young lady on reception and were given our keys. Unfortunately, a simple mistake was made in that she give us the wrong room, the room we were given had not been prepared or serviced. When we returned to reception the room was immediately changed with an apology from the young lady. The room we were then allocated was lovely, clean, and very comfortable, the en-suite was beautiful and spotless. A simple mistake had been made and rectified without question. The rest of our stay was enjoyable and totally without incident, all the staff were friendly and helpful, the breakfast was 1st class and served in a relaxed and pleasant room overlooking the river Kent. The weather outside was cold, a shivering -3 degrees but the hotel was warm and very comfortable. The leisure facilities were good and very clean and well presented. We were not disappointed with any aspect of our stay, except as vegetarians the choice of meals were limited, having said that if we had asked then maybe we would have been offered other choices but to be honest it wasn't a big issue for us. A very relaxed stay after a frantic Christmas....Thank you Riverside Hotel

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy_and_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,119 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing