We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Believe all you read”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
exeter
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't Believe all you read”
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Frantically booked this hotel as a last minute search for half term, confirmed booking and then decided to check Trip Adviser (yes i know, i'm a numpty). I was horrified to read the reviews listed against the hotel as they were so mixed. The poor ones really concerned me so much so, i had to call the hotel for an explanation. I spoke to the manager who talked me through the bad reviews and reassured me to continue with the booking.
Arrived Monday and have to admit i was pleasantly surprised, ok the hotel in side is still a bit dated and getting to breakfast each day was a task (rabbits warren) but the leisure facilities, bar and our room were very good. I can't comment on the food as we did not eat there but i was impressed by the staff and their helpfulness . I would rate this hotel as good, unfortunately the trip adviser scale only offers average or very good
This hotel is ideally placed for thoses looking to explore the lake district for a few days but not wanting to pay the extortionant prices and also very close to the motorway.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    405
    176
    59
    27
See reviews for
178
578
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe
1 review
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Arriving Sunday afternoon, I had a swim watched some TV and then went down to dinner at approximately 8.00pm. Unfortunately the menue of cod, chicken in mushroom sauce and vegitarian option was a disappointment after reading the sample menue on the website. Taking the attitude of "Why spoil the evening" we opted for a Sirloin and Fillet steak at a supplement. What followed was a complete disaster. One lukewarm soup,
one pate with chewy cold toast, possibly from breakfast, then the two steaks arrived both with the same very unpleasant taste accompanied by a little dried up sauce due to it being served on extremely hot plates. Not wishing to risk food poisoning we left both meals having only taken a couple of bites each. We were then told the management would not be available until 3.00pm the following day and not prepared to risk a breakfast from this kitchen and living only 30 minutes away we decided to pack our bags and leave for home at 9.00pm. Now reading the Trip Advisor comments on this and other hotels in the group it would appear this was not an isolated incident.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank homeinbare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 19, 2009
We would like to apologise to this guest for his disappointing meal in our restaurant. Our General Manager has tried to contact this guest several times by telephone and letter to discuss his stay but so far we have received no reply. We are always sorry to hear that any guest has not enjoyed their meal, but we would like to point out that all other guests in the restaurant that evening did enjoy their meal, including the 4 other guests who opted for the steak. The plates are kept hot as this is what most guests prefer, we do not like to serve our meals on cold plates. The hotel did of course have management on duty that evening and it was our Assistant Manager who spoke to this guest although admittedly our General Manager was having an evening off work. If we had been given the chance to rectify any problems we would have, and we have made sure that this guest left the hotel feeling like they enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We stayed here for three nights.this Hotel had some poor reviews on Trip advisor but we foud it clean ,nice rooms, good dinner and breakfast.Staff were excellent.We had no complaints at alland believe me all our party have very high standards .Would defimately go back.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maevefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2009

arrived on the saturday afternoon and had a great welcome.The spa was a welcome sight and not busy. Had a wonder around Kendal and was pleasantly surprised. What a lovely town! The train station is a 3 minute walk from the hotel where you can be at the lakes in less than 30 minutes.The food was fantastic, from breakfast through to the evening meal. You could hear most tables commenting on the great standard of the meals served.There was a different menu each night with a good selection to choose from.The staff were very helpful with good knowledge of the local area.Would recommend this hotel this hotel to couples or families alike.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

An overnight stay on a long journey. The family room was right next to the riverside - quite a novelty. There was a large flat screen TV and very comfy beds - apart from the put u up whose springs seemed to come through the matress. The bathroom was clean and had more shelf space than many 4 or 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The room was not fashionable - nor was the hotel, but booked on AirMiles and therefore not expensive.Breakfast was acceptable but the coffee was just brown water - take your own or the Nescafefrom the bedroom. The spa was cold, but clean enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whereshalligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
Thank you for your comments, we have taken this on board and tyhe comments from other guests about the morning coffee. We have now changed our brand of coffee and our coffee machine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2009

Had booked for one night through the tourist info centre. Thankfully it was only one night.

This hotel is tired, worn and dirty. Our room was dark and dingy containing a double bed and a single. Why did the bedspreads not match? The furnitire was dark, scuffed and worn and in need of refurbishment.

Breakfast was served in a dark worn dining room. There was a buffet but quality was poor. Service, (toast and cofee) was poor. Cleanliness was poor and the table top sticky.

We could not wait to check out. That will teach me to allow someone else to do the booking and not check tripadvisor first.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank g0ingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
The hotel is currently undergoing a redecoration. Three of the 5 floors of bedrooms have currently been renovated, with new furniture, curtains, large flat screen TVs, new beds and bedding. The remaining two floors will be completed in the new year. The restaurant has also been given a make over with new chairs, curtains and decorations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2009

I booked up the hotel without looking at Tripadvisor, later looked at Tripadvisor, relised it was a Hugh mistake. So same day as booking cancelled and they charged me £50 cancellation charge!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! booked on 20th July for 26/27th September 2009.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank dunnring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbybridge, assistant to the director at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2009
We would like to point out that a cancellation charge is standard practice at any hotel. The £50 charge is significantly less than most hotels would charge and we do inform the guests on reservation that this charge is non-refundable. We always offer any guest the chance to move their booking to another date free of charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing