We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Armagh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 5 nights with my two daughters. Found the staff to be really friendly and helpful. Room was clean and food was good. Leisure facilities made the holiday even better for my kids. Good view from window and convenient parking. Good location as close to lakes.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thank you for your 5-star review and stay. We're glad to have been a part of your break with your kids. Thanks for your comments about our leisure facilities, staff and accommodation. We'll hopefully see you again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    394
    174
    57
    27
See reviews for
172
562
25
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Twyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

We stopped over at this Hotel to break a journey to the Scottish Highlands. The location was good, being a few minutes walk from the centre of Kendal and the rooms all overlook the river. The hotel had plenty of underground parking which was a bonus as often parking is at a premium in older towns. The staff, especially on the front desk, were very pleasent and helpful, one or two of the public areas looked like they could do with a lick of paint however our rooms both on the way there and back had been recently renovated and were very comfortable. It had a nice if small spa / gym /pool that our daughter particularly liked. The breakfasts were good as were the evening meals however a tip would be eat in the bar rather than the resturant. The choice of food is wider and the decor / atmosphere was better, we ate in the resturant on the way there and the bar on the way back. The quality of the food in both was good and reasonable value for money as was the cost of the stay itself.

We were orinally going to stay at another hotel for the return journey but changed our plans so we must have liked something.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for your nice review and comments about our hotel. We're delighted to have been your stopover on the way to and from Scotland. We have some pretty nice scenery in our area too, so maybe we can persuade you to stop longer next time. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Im not one for unnecessarily being harsh, but we were really disappointed with almost every aspect of our stay here. Although recently painted in some places, the hotel really does need some tlc. The bar is quite nice but is spoiled by tables and chairs stacked up against the wall, there was bird mess on the outside table tops, which i can appreciate can happen due to all the wildlife around, but this was dried on and still there the following day. The dining room is ok, but the windows are in a horrible state, dirty and in need of fixing / replacement. Its really just lack of attention to detail in a lot of cases: dust thick on top of the waderobe, shower screen bumps against handles on bath and therefore will not close properly causing it to leak, no labels on milk at breakfast, untidy files and paint kept under the stairs in full view, mould on the wall in swimming pool, crumbs on floor at breakfast (even though we were in for 715am), room smelled of smoking. Some minor points there but all in all added up to greater annoyance.
We ate in the restaurant and the food was ok, albeit from a somewhat limited menu, it was reasonable value for £25 per person and breakfast was also of a reasonable standard.
As a previous reviewer stated there were a lot of spiders and this was evident by quite a lot of cobwebs.
Unfortunately we wont be coming back here and for the money i really think you should expect more. We paid £178 for dinner bed and breakfast, in our second night we paid £190 (d,b & b) at Lodore Falls which was vastly superior in every way.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We are very disappointed that this reviewer was disappoint with their stay. There are certainly areas where we can improve on the back of these comments which, as always, we will do. We have an ongoing programme to remove the spiders and their webs from the hotel. It is built into our everyday duties. Being directly on the river during a warm summer (with windows open) does bring in a few spiders, but we do our best to keep on top of it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

Strong points: The hotel is in a good position, nearby lakes and absolutely awesome places. We could drive easily to Windermere, Grasmere, Keswick and other marvellous places. The rooms are nice and big and with a very nice view. The breakfast is ok, very good English breakfast and variety of cereals. There are gym and swimming pool available.
Weak points: definitely not clean. The toilet was dirty in a disgusting way and the bed sheets were full of spots. Also, slightly disappointing, we hired a car at the hotel and after a day out, when we were back at the hotel, there was no parking space so we asked the hotel and the hotel manager said if we couldn't find anything free we had to pay and there was no voucher available, so we ended up paying just because of their overbooking.
In general the experience was OK, but it could be better, especially considering the price of the rooms...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Thanks for your review. The good points are helpful, but so are the areas where we can improve. Obviously cleanliness is very important and we will work to ensure the issues do not occur again. We do have an overflow car park near to the hotel with plenty of parking, which we did mention when you couldn't find a spot. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

We have just got back from a weeks stay at this hotel,the hotel is very clean,the staff were very helpful,the breakfast was excellent as was all the meals we had,very good value for money,we would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice getaway as the surrounding area of the lakes are lovely,the only thing we would say is that the car park is used by anyone who pays,would be better if only for guests.overall a lovely pleasant stay

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 25, 2014
Thank you for your nice review and for your recent stay. We are quite lucky to have the staff we have and also be located in such a beautiful part of the world. We hope to welcome you back again. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on business with my company. The staff were well mannered and couldn't do enough for you and the service was excellent. The room was very spacious and had a good view of the river and bridge. Only problem I found was that from my room I could hear everything outside on the main road so I suggest wearing ear plugs to bed.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GafynO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Thanks for your business stay. We appreciate your comments about our staff and accommodation. Kendal is a surprisingly bustling town and we're sorry about the traffic noise. There are only a couple of rooms that face the road and bridge. They have lovely views as you say, but light sleepers may do better in a different section of the building. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

My mother and I enjoyed a wonderful two day 'Summer Sizzler' break. It was excellent value for money with a delicious 3 course meal in the restaurant on the first night and a cruise on Lake Windermere included in the overall price. The staff were extremely courteous and very helpful. It is our second visit to this hotel and we will certainly be visiting again.

Room Tip: All the rooms have a view of the River Kent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMH777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
It was lovely for you to visit us a second time and we are pleased to have continued to offer the same great service you expect of us. We will look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing