We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Stayed whilst completing a two day training course locally. Within walking distance from town centre with nice Tai and Italian restaurants over the bridge. car park requires a token from reception and swimming pool was small. gym is used by locals and was busy every night. colleague requested to change room on arrival as it was unclean. breakfast was slow as toast is requested from one staff member. would of been better to have a make yourself toaster. Coffee wasn't very hot and overall very basic/ average.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynsey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2014

Thank you for your review and helpful comments. We're sorry you found your stay to be average, but have taken your comments on board. We will be putting in a self-service toaster soon, for one thing. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,054)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

585 - 591 of 1,054 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed at the Riverside while doing a relatives house clearance. It was a great location for us and the pool was an added bonus after a hard day. The room was ok, nothing of any note, although I did like the bathroom mirror that was heated so did not steam up when having a shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. A lot of the hotel looked like it could do with a lick of pain here and there, especially the windows. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hcbradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay including the pool, location and staff. The heated mirror is clever isn't it? We agree with the lick of paint comment too, which is why we are working through our painting regime as I type! Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Treated my guy to a weekend here as a Christmas pressie. Hotel had nice view, was in good position in town, was nice and quiet. Breakfast good and staff very friendly. Room was just ok nothing special for the cost, the heating wasn't working and on a wet cold weekend didn't please.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for your review. Thanks for your comments about our food and staff. We are perplexed as to why the heating wasn't working for you. No one else mentioned it, so it seems to be an isolated incident. They are controlled from a dial in the room, but we are looking into it as it seems to be working fine now. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My partner, our children and I stayed at the Riverside last weekend as a celebration of my partner's 50th. We both have memories back to childhood of family holidays in the lakes, but neither of us were overly familiar with Kendal, so it seemed a perfect spot. In addition, as we live on the North/West Yorkshire border the drive wasn't too long for a Friday after school get away.
Initial impressions were good; a clean and attractive reception area, with a friendly and helpful member of staff on duty. The room (403) was very pleasant, even with the 4th bed squeezed in, and the view of the river was a bonus, despite the rain!
We moved as quickly as we could to get back down the stairs in order to use the pool for an hour before having tea. The spa facilities were quite compact but once again were clean and well presented with decent changing facilities; we have seen much smaller pools!
Refreshed, we headed for the bar to have some tea. The menu offered a wide selection of reasonably priced dishes and everything we ate was well prepared and presented and the bar offered a good range of beers and wines, including some very nice locally brewed bitter and lager. It too was staffed by a friendly and effiicient individual, who seemed to have a genuine knowledge and interest in the local brews.
On returning to the room it was nice to discover that, unlike so many hotels, the room was not at the same temperature as the sauna, but was pleasantly cool; the room 'instructions' did give clear advice on how to control the heating, but so often hotel rooms are already far to hot for the guest to have any real control.
Breakfast the following morning had the expected wide range of hot and cold food options and was all self service (which is fine by me); again, those staff who were on duty were very welcoming and the food was pleasant. I was particularly pleased that the sausages seemed of a higher quality than the very generic offerings of some establishments; I hope this was a reflection of the reputation of the county for it's sausages!
I think is is sufficent to say at this point that the rest of our stay remained at this very satisfying level; I hope we will go back again before too long and would very much recommend the Riverside hotel to anyone wanting to stay in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We always love reading such comprehensive reviews, especially when they are 5-stars. We are delighted your family enjoyed their stay with us, including the leisure area, accommodation and food. You are quite right about the quality of the sausage in particular (along with everything else of course too!). Thanks again and we hope you come back to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stayed here on a 4 day work trip. Room was lovely bed comfy and all my questions were answered in the info book. I had no problems at anytime with the wifi.Breakfast was lovely and the staff great. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great hotel and i cant wait to go back. Well done the riverside !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tito21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thanks for your review and 5-star rating. We enjoy reading reviews from business guests, who don't always leave reviews as they are in and out of hotels so regularly. So thanks again and we'll look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed 2 nights for my wifes birthday and ended up in 3 different room, we had to move from the first room at 8pm because the heating didnt work, the second room the night after had a barking dog two doors awaywe complained and when the owners had finished thier swim they returned however it started again at 8pm and on this occasion they couldnt be found so once again the bags were packed and we went to the 3rd and final room, not the start of the evening(s) we had hoped for. I would like to think after the first complaint about the dog the owners were asked to leave the hotel but I imagine we were the only ones inconvenienced

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room but ask about dogs, avoid room 1 (foot of the stairs) lots of passing guests, a...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eric1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

We are very disappointed to read this review. It is always our intention to ensure guests have a relaxing time with us, unfortunately this was not the case. We cannot remember the last time a dog was barking and the owners could not be found. So we are sorry about this. Staff did everything they could to help make this an enjoyable stay, including two free bottles of wine, but it just wasn't meant to be. As always, we will learn from this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My partner and I stayed for two night, we arrived and parked the car in the secure hotel car park. The staff were friendly. We had room 207 which over looked the river, it was a great size room with a double bed and a single bed, the bathroom was very clean with fluffy white towels. The view over the river was lovely. The beds were very comfy we had 2 great nights sleep very quiet indeed. The breakfast was lovely, and plenty of choice. I would defiantly stop here again.

Room Tip: Room 207 over looking the river, excellent size.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank minNewark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2014

We thank you for your lovely, 5-star review. We work very hard to ensure everyone is well looked after and enjoy themselves. Thanks for mentioning our fluffy towels too; an important yet oft-overlooked item! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,134 reviews
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $116 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing