We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the South Lakes”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

As part of a coach-load I arrived at the hotel and found checking in quick and found my way to my room. The hotel was not purpose-built but is a converted tannery so the layout and the shapes of the rooms is quaint to say the least. My room was spacious and comfortable but a bit too warm with no visible signs of adjustment on the radiators so like others before me I opened the window! Evening meals were excellent and the buffet breakfast was also good and if there were moans it was that the service was at times a little too slow and the vegetables undercooked (bordering on raw not al dente!)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for visiting and for posting this nice review. We are at that time of the year where the heat is on, but it can still be rather warm out. The hotel does heat up quickly as well as retain its heat very well. Quite a green building for its age! I will double-check that all of the radiator's adjustments are in working order, thanks for letting us know and we hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

Absolutely gutted with this hotel, stayed there 20/10/13 for my 40th birthday, paid £200 for the two of us to have a special night away, booked the feature room which was meant to be premium, plaster falling from walls, couldn't see from windows due to condensation, the bathroom looked like it hadn't been decorated since the hotel was built, the whole idea of paying decent money was so we could have a nice night IN our room, instead it completely ruined the weekend, oh and the lift smelled of urine, then to make matters worse the company I booked the room with Superbreaks had charged me £200 for the night only to find the Hotel only charged £148 for the night, still £100 over the price of what the room was really worth, now have to start to try and get my money back, this should be fun

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
9  Thank Nik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

This was a very unfortunate review to read. Some people love the room referred to in the review, whilst others are not so keen. It is clear that you fall into the latter category. The hotel is due a visit from the decorators in early November, which will help freshen up the rooms. When we come to assess any changes that need to be made, your review will be helpful I'm sure. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Arrived the Friday night for a weekend getaway. Was quite pleased especially with the free parking in the hotels car park after going round the one way system a few times trying to find it. Quick check in and straight up to the room which was an odd shape but had plenty of space and seemed to have been finished nicely.

We had tea on the Friday night in the bar which was quite nice. Especially the chicken Kiev off the specials board.

The rooms overnight were extremely hot but once we had turned off the radiators and opened all the windows we slept very well on a very large bed.

Unfortunately trying to shower on the Saturday was an issue as the thermostat on the shower was broken and stuck on scalding hot. We reported it and it seemed to be fixed by the following day.

The breakfast on the Saturday was lovely. Cooked to order, great produce which was very tasty. The following night was very similar but the breakfast on the Sunday was very disappointing as it was buffet breakfast, according to the waitress we only got fresh ordered breakfast the morning before as the serving plates on the buffet was broken, the reasons it was disappointing includes crusty scrambled eggs, white fat on the bacon and rather dry sausages.

Overall it was an average bnb. It was a toss up between coming here and a premier inn and I think if I returned to the lakes id rather go premier inn next time.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank lisaandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, although I am sorry breakfast wasn't up to scratch on the Sunday for you. We do work very hard to offer guests an authentic Lake District break, something we believe nearby chains are unable to do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights (Sat & Sun) and found the rooms to be clean but too warm , tried turning heating down in the room & bathroom but to no avail, looking from the bridge back towards the hotel at all the open windows and it seemed like everyone else had the same problem.
Breakfast was really good with either cooked or fruit & cereal or both if you wished.
Free Parking next door if you are lucky.
Now, what really got to me is the fact that there is a TV Screen behind the Reception Desk
( approx. 40" screen ) which is showing LIVE images of anyone who is using either the pool or the Jaccuzi,...this is on view to anyone in Reception,or worse to anyone who maybe stood outside looking in.
I approached the duty manager on why it was a live images being viewed by anyone and further explained it was an invasion of privacy on anyone using the pool / jaccuzi and that also believed it to be illegal for all and sundry to keep viewing it.
I asked why it couldn't be recorded when staff were using it and then it could be played back on a continuous loop to show everyone you have a nice pool, and the live images put on a monitor out of view to the public, apparently , I am not the only person to bring this to the attention of managers at the hotel but it seems to have fallen on "deaf ear's" , in this day and age you can never be too sure just who is watching!!!!
Sat night was someones 18th Birthday... An ambulance was called at around 9pm to take a young girl to hospital due to passing out on the stairs with excess alchohol, we were on 2nd floor and all we could hear was the boom-boom of the music on the 3rd floor until midnight, teenagers running up and down corridors and sat on the main stairwell smoking, the poor young staff left to deal with this were being sworn at - spat at and being verbally abused,....I complained twice but it still carried on until the music finished....not good at all..
I don't usually do reviews , but in this case I thought I should inform you of what my weekend was like.

Room Tip: make sure no party is going on on the floor above you ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Thank you for posting your review. I'm happy you enjoyed our location, and breakfast, but do apologise about the rooms being too warm. Regarding the TV screen of the pool, although it is for health and safety (and certainly not illegal), we will be changing our policy after receiving feedback like yours from guests. Also, the birthday party we were hosting was in no way as described in the review. It is true that an ambulance was phoned, but unfortunately for the young lady, she had arrived at the hotel in a state that required this. Our staff would never serve someone under those conditions and are well-trained in these matters. Certainly, nobody was smoking in the stairwells or running around the corridors as door staff made sure of that. It is a shame that your stay with us was marred, but to be honest, we did not receive any other complaints from any other guests; and we were full that night. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We have been here twice now and have found it a very good hotel it is clean and has comfortable beds and good tea and coffee facilities. They have some good extras like the shampoo, hairdryer, iron and board. First time we stayed in a family room and was very spacious second we stayed in a double the bathroom was small but cosy. The shower was very good.

We particularly enjoyed the spa facilities the pool is a good size with the spa , sauna and steam room a favourite with my hubby. We enjoyed the decking at night looking over the river with a nice bottle of wine. As well as the view from our room overlooked the river the room was slightly hot but we just opened the window.

Breakfast was good too with a good English Breakfast and we found plenty of staff on hand who were polite and very efficient. We didn't have an evening meal as we wanted to eat out. The staff at Reception and the gym were great too and very helpful and friendly. We are hoping to return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our hard-working staff too; they definitely appreciate it! We hope you return soon too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice medium size hotel right on the river - there's no garden on the bank, the river really does flow past the window if you are on the ground floor.

Lovely big rooms with comfortable beds. Clean and tidy.

Nice full English breakfast - great bacon and sausage :)

Quick check in and free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zevonesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for your nice review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, in particular our food, accommodation and free town-centre parking! We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed the other night, hotel is Ok, staff very friendly but the hotel is a bit rough around the edges.
Breakfast room needed more staff, 1 women serving clearing up and dealing with general enquiries.....rushed off her feet!
I was expecting a little more for my money.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Thanks for posting your review and for your kind words about our staff. The restaurant, and breakfast in particular, has seen a few changes over the past 10 days including being fully staffed and a few new additions to our cooked breakfast. The hotel will also be getting a fresh coat of paint top to bottom very very soon. We hope these changes will meet with your approval and you would consider giving us another chance!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $108 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing