We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a refurbishment”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here with 2 young children in a family room back in June. Check in was efficient but the location of our room was tricky to get to with a pushchair.
The room itself was adequately sized and clean, although decor and furniture is very tired looking. There was a lovely view of the river Kent outside the window and the children enjoyed duck spotting.
We did not use the gym or pool as we only stayed 1 night. Breakfast was self serve and was quite varied. The only high chair available was a bit tatty and I had to give it a bit of a clean first, and my children did get a few stares from elderly guests when they broke the barrier of deathly silent!
Overall we had an ok stay here, but we probably won't use it again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ruberob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thanks for your review and for staying with us. I'm happy you enjoyed our location on the River. Thank you for the constructive comments as well; always good to receive feedback like this. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

676 - 682 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Excellent hotel and staff. Own swimming pool and gym - superb facilities and location. The staff were very friendly and accomodating. I had a room overlooking the River Kent and it was lovely hearing thevriver below us. The hotel is in the heart of the town, clean and the staff lovely.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks for this wonderful, 5-star review! I'm happy you enjoyed our location and thanks for mentioning our staff as well. Hopefully we will see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights, Booked an executive twin (2double beds) but when I arrived they had put us in a family room (1 double 1 single) with a wet room/disabled access.
I was then told they were fully booked so could not change.
Receptionist was helpful and gave us all the info we needed.

Good location, literally a 2 minute walk from Kendal Museum and Town Centre, lovely view over river.

Excellent Wifi connection, Ironing board, Iron, Hairdryer.

Pool was on the small side but long enough to get a few strokes in, jacuzzi was nice as was steam room.
Gym looked good although I didn't have time to use it.

Lots of cobwebs and "Living" spiders around the inside of the window and don't get me started on the outside.
Could not open the window without getting bombarded with big spiders, I think they need to be cleared weekly. This meant we had no fresh air and room got quite warm.

No soap given for in the bathroom although the other items were good, heard a few people asking for some but not receiving any.

Excellent Courtesy tray.

Breakfast was a let down, eggs were undercooked/slimy, mushrooms tasted funny, warm bread for toast.
Good selection of cereals and juices.

Car Park is good, enclosed and you need a token to get off, which we wasn't told about.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bridget_jones1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks for staying with us and for posting this review. We do have some great amenities here that I'm pleased you mentioned. We do clear away the spiders daily, especially this time of year being on the river and all. We have instituted some new housekeeping policies to address some of the issues raised here on TripAdvisor. It is already bearing fruit and I hope if you were to visit us again you would notice the difference. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Friendly, helpful staff - good location for Kendal and the train station. Hotel is 'tired' with rooms and general upkeep not the best. Restaurant food was a hit and miss affair - some dishes were pretty good, others were really poor quality. Simple things such as breakfast, no fresh fruit on offer and the turn over on certain items was not high enough - leaving food under hot plates for far too long to even consider eating. River views nice - shame cannot have the windows open as smoking area below the rooms from the bar downstairs. Deliveries for the hotel being left in the lobby all day, cleaning products for the bathrooms left under the sinks and other communal areas either in poor condition or untidy. Overall would have given a 2 star, however the staff made the difference.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BigTLondon71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thanks for posting this review; it has proven helpful for us. I am sorry that you experienced as many misses as hits, but do thank you for the kind comments about our staff. I am sure with a bit of work, we can easily address the issues you have raised. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

we had no problem finding a parking space. Had a lovely welcome at reception our room was not ready so receptionist put our luggage in a room for us and said we were welcome to sit in the bar and she would come and let us know when it was ready. We only had a short wait and when we arrived in our room the Kendal Castle suite we were very pleased with it. It had two separate rooms one with a sofa , chair , footstool coffe table desk and tv . Then you had your bedroom with plenty of wardrobe space, another tv and a dressing table with plug points in the right places so that I could plug in my straighteners. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was also lovely with a shower over the bath. Despite other reviews about the rooms being dusty ours were spotless and there was plenty of tea, coffee, milk and biscuits on the welcome tray. We also had lovely views over the river. Breakfast was lovely you had a good selection of cereal, fruit , juices ect and a good selection of sausage, bacon, black pud, beans and two types of egg (scrambled or fried) the staff were great they couldnt do enough for you friendly smiley faces though they were run off their feet could do with extra staff. The hotel was very close to plenty of shops and restaurants within walking distant which was an extra bonus. Other than the rain on saturday we had a lovely time . We could have chosen to use the pool, sauna , jacuzzi or gym but being shy we stayed in our lovely room and relaxed and read a good book. Our only downfall for our stay apart from the rain was the noise from the traffic and when the other residents used their water the waterworks in our room could be heard. But we closed the windows and the rooms were lovely so this wasnt really a problem. We would definately use this hotel again and reccomend to our friends.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrishartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

Thank you for your lovely 5-star review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay, staff will be delighted their efforts are appreciated. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

The location was great, the staff were lovely, the room was huge, pool was perfect for us. However, why do places that accept dogs always seem to be dirty? We had to move the furniture to better position the travel cot, I don't think anyone had moved it to clean in years! Surely that's something that should be done regularly. It was very off putting!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Foodies55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and your 4-star review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay, but want to apologise for the dust issue. Don't blame the dogs though; we'll sort it! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

The first thing to say about our stay at Riverside Hotel was that we had a great view of the River Kent and of Kendal Castle. The Hotel is situated in a great location sitting alongside the River and within walking distance of the town centre, it was also in a great location for our touring needs of the Lake District.

The room was spacious and very comfortable. The room looked like it had been recently refurnished which was nice, the only downside was that it looked like they needed to give the room a repaint as some of the walls were a bit dirty, but that was probably the only downside to the room, didn't really bother us that much. As for the 5 nights stay, the bed was probably the most comfy beds in recent stays we have slept in. Plus bonuses included a decent size tv and the storage space was just right.

The staff were pleasant throughout our stay with a friendly greeting from the receptionist when we arrived. Breakfast staff were friendly and helpful and always had a morning smile on their face.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GaryZ28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We really appreciate you posting this nice review and are pleased you enjoyed your 5-night stay with us. We hope you got to see all the sights in the Lakes over that time. We hope you'll visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $109 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing