We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and restaurant but not so great rooms”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my husband for my birthday in January. Lovely location on the riverside, even saw a little otter having a swim in the river from our room! Rooms are a little dark and dingy but clean and comfy beds too. Good facilities, we used the steam room, pool and jacuzzi and the changing rooms were clean and the shower good.
The food in the restaurant was delicious, a good choice on the menu and really nice cheeseboard! staff arranged a bottle of champagne on arrival for our dinner at my husbands request and wished me happy birthday! A nice treat!
Locally kendal is lovely with a good few shops and pubs, a nice weekend in all!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zachara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Nice review thank you. We are pleased you chose to celebrate your birthday with us too. The otter is a frequent passer-by and we always enjoy when he/she visits. Thanks for mentioning how you enjoyed your dining experience with us as well; that will bring a smile to the chef's face! We hope you'll come up and see us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

742 - 748 of 1,116 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2013

Came here on a groupon deal, assumed it might be a bit shabby as some of them can be but was pleasantly surprised! Really clean and modern decor, were upgraded to the Kendal Castle Suite, another lovely surprise and it was wonderful. Restaurant is nice and staff were really friendly. Little Spa is nice, only a bit marred by the one to one swimming lessons for kids but even then the instructor was appreciative about other people and the kids were well behaved. Lovely views of the town and river, had a lovely evening out in the town and day shopping. Really enjoyed and will definitely find an opportunity to stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynneClarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Really nice review thank you very much. The 5-star rating has gone down well with all the staff too! I'm happy you were pleasantly surprised by the hotel and facilities; and Kendal has quite a bit too offer as well. We'll look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I booked under the 2night dbb offer and they added our 20mth old daughter free. Included cot and meals. Lovely view over the river, large comfortable room, enough for all of us!! The staff were very friendly and brilliant with our little girl, lots of attention at dinner and breakfast and they even provided some supper for her when I asked. Lovely walk into centre of Kendal and short journey to Windermere and Bowness. Will definitely book to go again. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank northernlass02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Thank you for visiting us; it was our pleasure to host your family. Thanks also for posting this nice review as well! Everyone is so pleased to read your kind comments and your daughter made it easy to make a fuss over her! Until the next time, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

right next to the river with view from your window of the kendal castle perched high above this interesting pretty market town with great shops pubs and restaurants and loads of country walks to sizergh, levens or the limestone scar above the town with great views to the Lythe Valley. Rooms were spacious the staff helpful brekky tasty and theres a warm small swimming pool and free parking to leave your car safely out of the way of traffic wardens So handy for the train station or the bus station from where you can get the open top bus right up to bowness, ambleside and grasmere, or explore further to ullswater, coniston or the imnposing sounding dungeon ghyll with a change at windermere (10.30 for an all day ticket covering all lancashire and cumbria stagecoach busses).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevemasonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Thanks for visiting and for the 5-star review! I'm happy you enjoyed are central location with easy access to great Lake District attractions. Thanks for mentioning are lovely staff too; they appreciate it! Do visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel rises literally out of the River Kent in Kendal and is just over the bridge from the town centre. The indoor car park is shared between the guests and members of the leisure club Speedy and pleasant check in and pleased to be located on the third floor with views over the river. The spacious room was clean and reasonably well decorated. Bathroom more than adequate with a shower over the bath which is more than OK if you are shorter than six feet tall otherwise you have to stoop to get under the shower head. Staff are very friendly and guests have free use of the well equipped gym and pool. A very pleasant stay and would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

We really enjoyed reading this review thank you, especially given the nice comments about the staff! We do have an excellent gym, if past comments are any guide! Thanks for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well positioned hotel walking distance to town and attractions, old castle nice walk but very steep hills to conquer. Were a couple and took dog with us. Room was very large and clean, overall brilliant. Prices no more than the average pub with a bar menu with huge selection of decent priced food. Dogs are allowed all areas apart from the spa and restaurant so you can if you wish have your dog with you whilst eating in the bar. Staff nice and friendly. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and has good selection and food is kept hot. DOWNSIDE, the restaurant menu for evening meals is probably the worst for options and quantity I have seen anywhere, I did not like any of the starters so asked if I could have a starter from the bar menu, offering to pay for it but was informed by the waitress this was not allowed??? Also did not particulary like the main course options so paid extra to have the fillet steak. Food was good, but reiterate the choice is abbismal so would suggest to either eat out or from the bar menu.

Room Tip: We stayed room 203 which was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank landoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for your stay and review. We do love dogs here and they seem to enjoy themselves too! I am also happy you enjoyed the bar menu. The restaurant menu is table d'hote, changing daily, but not as extensive as the bar menu as you know. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Another business trip brought me to Kendal. I liked the look of the location and on arrival was more than happy. Free car parking (albeit the parking spaces were tight for splace) was a bonus. Check in was quick & friendly. The room had a river view and was more than ample. It was a shame the river view could not be appreciated...the window had condensation between the panes.
After a stroll around the town I headed back to eat at the hotel....mistake! My fish and chips featured a tiny fish fillet and soggy chips. I complained and to be fair i was offered an alternative Ichose a burger which was pretty tasteless. The soggy chips were blamed on the type of potatoes they used! (err dont use them then!). They did offer a discount by way of compensation.
I slept well in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was the dreaded buffet and the quality was not good.Fried eggs of a buffet aghhh, but they looked better than the crusty scambled egg. In conclusion I'd return for the room and location but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hello and thanks for posting your review. I'm happy you enjoyed our location and got a comfortable night's sleep - obviously key when in town on business! I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food. We usually get such nice comments about the dining experience and we will ensure to be back on form should you visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,211 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#17 of 20 in Windermere
537 reviews
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $96 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing