We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cracking riverside hotel”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“cracking riverside hotel”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

right next to the river with view from your window of the kendal castle perched high above this interesting pretty market town with great shops pubs and restaurants and loads of country walks to sizergh, levens or the limestone scar above the town with great views to the Lythe Valley. Rooms were spacious the staff helpful brekky tasty and theres a warm small swimming pool and free parking to leave your car safely out of the way of traffic wardens So handy for the train station or the bus station from where you can get the open top bus right up to bowness, ambleside and grasmere, or explore further to ullswater, coniston or the imnposing sounding dungeon ghyll with a change at windermere (10.30 for an all day ticket covering all lancashire and cumbria stagecoach busses).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stevemasonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thanks for visiting and for the 5-star review! I'm happy you enjoyed are central location with easy access to great Lake District attractions. Thanks for mentioning are lovely staff too; they appreciate it! Do visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    405
    176
    59
    27
See reviews for
178
578
27
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

This hotel rises literally out of the River Kent in Kendal and is just over the bridge from the town centre. The indoor car park is shared between the guests and members of the leisure club Speedy and pleasant check in and pleased to be located on the third floor with views over the river. The spacious room was clean and reasonably well decorated. Bathroom more than adequate with a shower over the bath which is more than OK if you are shorter than six feet tall otherwise you have to stoop to get under the shower head. Staff are very friendly and guests have free use of the well equipped gym and pool. A very pleasant stay and would recommend

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gomin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We really enjoyed reading this review thank you, especially given the nice comments about the staff! We do have an excellent gym, if past comments are any guide! Thanks for recommending us to others and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well positioned hotel walking distance to town and attractions, old castle nice walk but very steep hills to conquer. Were a couple and took dog with us. Room was very large and clean, overall brilliant. Prices no more than the average pub with a bar menu with huge selection of decent priced food. Dogs are allowed all areas apart from the spa and restaurant so you can if you wish have your dog with you whilst eating in the bar. Staff nice and friendly. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and has good selection and food is kept hot. DOWNSIDE, the restaurant menu for evening meals is probably the worst for options and quantity I have seen anywhere, I did not like any of the starters so asked if I could have a starter from the bar menu, offering to pay for it but was informed by the waitress this was not allowed??? Also did not particulary like the main course options so paid extra to have the fillet steak. Food was good, but reiterate the choice is abbismal so would suggest to either eat out or from the bar menu.

Room Tip: We stayed room 203 which was quiet and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank landoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for your stay and review. We do love dogs here and they seem to enjoy themselves too! I am also happy you enjoyed the bar menu. The restaurant menu is table d'hote, changing daily, but not as extensive as the bar menu as you know. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, England
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Another business trip brought me to Kendal. I liked the look of the location and on arrival was more than happy. Free car parking (albeit the parking spaces were tight for splace) was a bonus. Check in was quick & friendly. The room had a river view and was more than ample. It was a shame the river view could not be appreciated...the window had condensation between the panes.
After a stroll around the town I headed back to eat at the hotel....mistake! My fish and chips featured a tiny fish fillet and soggy chips. I complained and to be fair i was offered an alternative Ichose a burger which was pretty tasteless. The soggy chips were blamed on the type of potatoes they used! (err dont use them then!). They did offer a discount by way of compensation.
I slept well in a comfortable bed. Breakfast was the dreaded buffet and the quality was not good.Fried eggs of a buffet aghhh, but they looked better than the crusty scambled egg. In conclusion I'd return for the room and location but would eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SimonJKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hello and thanks for posting your review. I'm happy you enjoyed our location and got a comfortable night's sleep - obviously key when in town on business! I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food. We usually get such nice comments about the dining experience and we will ensure to be back on form should you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

So we stayed at the Riverside from the 16-18th April '13. We had a groupon deal which included 2 nights stay with breakfast each morning and 1 evening dinner included in the price.

Having travelled up for London we left early to avoid traffic which meant to getting to the hotel earlier than we thought. Thankfully the hotel were very flexible and allowed us to check in early with no issues.

Room-

The double room we stayed in was nice. It had a river view and was equipped with all the essentials. The only things we missed were a king size bed (but the double was ok -it was cosy and we slept liked logs) and a mini bar with fridge. The bathroom was tiny but had everything you needed- just meant only one person using it at a time to clean teeth etc. Although we didnt have time to order from room service we were surprised at how affordable the room service charges were (ie food, laundry) and had we stayed longer would've used these. One thing I would suggest would be the possibility of having a mesh like thing on the window where it opens out or a net curtain as on the the first morning we returned to find 2 pidgeons had snuck into our room through the open window and were sitting quite casually on top of the wardrobe until my husband shoed them back out! But having said that all was ok. We were also impressed that dogs are allowed to stay at the hotel as you wouldn't of guessed it... The hotel was kept immaculate, clean and tidy.

Spa-

We used the spa facilities. They were nice but I think in need of a bit of an update. The changing area was ok but I didn't like the fact that the shower area had glass doors. I like to shower in privacy so that was off putting for me. Some ppl might not be phased by it but it just makes me feel on show. The pool with just 4 ppl in it becomes crowded. It's a shame it isn't wider because it seems popular with residents and locals. (The slopey bit next to the jacuzzi is a bit of a waste of space). The jacuzzi was good and so was the steam room. We attempted to use the sauna but we weren't sure if it was working or not as it wasn't hot just warm. My husband also booked into a boxercise class and really enjoyed it. He said the class was '10/10 -it was tough and she whooped my [--]' so that meant he really liked it lol!

Food-

Breakfast was lovely there was a good choice of cooked breakfast items and cereal and juice. The only thing we did miss at breakfast was having fresh fruit like apples, bananas etc... There was grapefruit and orange but I think this was tinned as it seemed sweetened. Evening meal wise the groupon included a 4 course meal. The food was really nice and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The only thing I would say is is that as a hotel resident I wouldn't class tea & coffee as a course when you have ample amounts of it in your room. We thought there would've been like a sharer course like olives, bread, dips that sort of thing while you're waiting for your starter. But maybe it's a London thing?!

Staff- having read previous reviews before coming up to the Riverside we weren't sure what the bad reviews were for... The staff were accommodating, polite and always smiling. Service like that makes you feel settled instantly and makes good stead for the rest of the stay. Keep up the good work!

The hotel itself was located in a nice area. The town centre is close by as is morrissons (seems to be the cheapest by far petrol wise) and the Lake District on its door step. Peace and quiet is what we wanted and that's exactly what we got! We took a walk up to Kendal Castle which was nice we just wished we had a dog to of taken with us! I would definitely use the hotel again and I would recommend it to friends, family and others.

Suggestions for the hotel- we noticed the bar area was quiet. I know this has taken off in London but we didnt see any hotel style afternoon tea on offer... Especially when weather is bad residents maybe inclined to come down and 'do tea'.



Places to recommend while in Kendal-

We had lunch on our first day at TT's on our way walking into the town. It has a retro theme and the staff were lovely. Food portions are huge and will definitely keep you full 'til dinner time! Worth it's value for sure!

We ate one evening at the Weatherspoons about a 10 minute walk away. It was worth the walk as its cheap and cheerful. Hubby had steak which was cooked perfect.

Sarah Nelson's Grasmere Gingerbread in Grasmere is definitely worth a visit. The queues were backing up out of the shop!

Also visited was bowness- had a good walk round but as the wind was making the water choppy we couldn't go out on a boat like we had planned. We had a walk round Windermere but due to the weather we couldn't stay out too long and had to keep dodging the rain and wind.

Kendal and Lake District are lovely places to visit. We would love to visit to again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r-hertsxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
This was a very enjoyable, and thorough, review to read; thanks so much for that! I think people will really find it helpful. I certainly have nothing to add and I appreciate your constructive comments as well. Lots of tips in there for things to do in the area as well; very helpful. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

First the gripes - there is a smell of drains on the way from the parking lot to the hotel which is unpleasant. The evening meal food in the main restaurant left much to be desired although good waitress service almost made this irrelevant. On the other hand the bar food in the bar was excellent. Breakfast as mentioned by others very good.The hotel staff could not be bettered - helpful and informative. 10 out of 10 for the room, its view and the facilities (pool, sauna etc.). Wonderful location - but hard to find the car park on arrival - thank God for the satnav.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bones O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting and for posting this nice review. We are a well-equipped hotel with great amenities that I am pleased you enjoyed. Until the next time, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely relaxing 2 night mini break (Groupon deal) at the Riverside Hotel in Kendal. The Hotel is just as it looks in the photos and is situated on the riverside. It is in a great location, 5 minute walk to the centre of the town or along the river bank and up to Kendal Castle. We were allocated a lovely room overlooking the river with a fabulous deep window bay which we used as seating! The bathroom was spacious with a large bath and plenty of hot water. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast which was plentiful and tasty (topped up even at 9.20 am), and we enjoyed an evening meal served in the dining room which was delicious. Again, we were lucky to have a table by the window so took in the river view whilst we dined. The staff are very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. We also enjoyed using the pool, sauna, spa and jacuzzi area, which we found, as the rest of the hotel was, spotlessly clean. Wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 307 which was located on the 3rd floor overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovestogadabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
This review was a pleasure to read; especially the kind comments about our staff, location and accommodation so thank you for that. You will always be warmly welcomed here and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing