We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend away with hubby & dog”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a 2 night weekend break. The room was spacious and clean and over looked the river. The staff were excellent and the food both the evening dinner and the buffet breakfast were excellent with a wide range of choice. The only drawback is they have quite a large secure car park which soon gets full but they also have an overflow car park which a little way from the hotel. I would recommend this hotel and I will be returning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Thanks for coming to see us and for posting this 5-star review. It is rare to find a centrally-located hotel with free parking, but we have loads of space as you mention in our covered car park and overflow as well. Thanks also for your comments on our staff and food. We'll look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,139 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit to the Lake District and the hotel provided a great base for exploring Windermere and the surrounding area. The room was really nice and we had an excellent evening meal in the restaurant. The breakfast buffet was also nice and staff were very friendly and attentive. The hotel seemed to have a good range of facilities but we unfortunately didn't have chance to try out the pool. We booked our stay via a Groupon deal and as such it was really good value. I don't think I would have paid the full price but overall we had a great time and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freckle_FaceMAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

We are so pleased you chose us as your base for your very first visit to the Lakes. Thanks for posting this nice review as well; it sounds like we ticked all of your boxes for an enjoyable stay. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on a two night break,22-23 March,Hotel is well situated with rooms facing the river,rooms are very comfortable and very clean,there is also a spacious modern bathroom,
With the weather not being at its best (as usual) our group of eight spent some time chilling out in the spa and sauna rooms, there is also a well equipped gym for the more athletic minded.
We were on a deal which included a four course meal which was very good,i paid a little extra to have steak and it was cooked to perfection.prices in the bar are slightly elevated but typical of a hotel of this calibre.
We all thoroughly enjojed our stay and i would highly recommend considering staying here if your ever in Kendal.
On our second night we ate at tha Jintana Thai restaurant and would also recommend highly.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are very quiet and have good river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Hi and thanks for staying with us recently. Thanks also for this wonderful review. Everyone really enjoyed reading it. Thanks for the food recommendations and we do hope you'll stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed here for a mini break pre easter, the hotel reception efficient, room clean and tidy, excellent shower. We ate both nights in the restaraunt good selection and very good food. the breakfasts were also very good hot and varied selection of cold starters with the hot food very good. We used the leisure club twice clean towels and good spa facilities. We will definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Wow, we just want to thank you for this amazing 5-star review. I think your review sums up nicely what we are going for; comfortable accommodation, good food and great facilities. We look forward to your next stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just back from a two night D,B&B deal at this hotel. It has a great location overlooking the river and 5 minute walk to the Town centre.
Our room was quite small but very clean and comfortable, staff were very courteous and helpful. This Hotel has a leisure complex (very small though) but guest are welcome to use it, great for working off the good food that is served here.

If you are looking for a base to visit the Lakes, you cannot go far wrong staying here if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for this review. We are in a great location for visiting Kendal and the Lakes as well; I am pleased you thought so as well! Thanks again and do visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had an excellent break at the Riverside Hotel. Very good location just a five minute walk into the centre of Kendal with the railway station very close by also. Nice views over the river and very quiet at night with no traffic noise. Two night deal included a meal and wine in hotel on first night. Food was very tasty and service good. The breakfasts were also superb, lots of choice and although the restaurant was busy in the morning the waitress was very efficient. Went in the gym and spa and the only criticism is that the pool is rather small. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We cannot thank you enough for this splendid, 5-star review. We do hope the next time you are looking for a great value break away, you will give us a ring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Riverside hotel, we had a great time, location central and town lovely with plenty of restuarants and bars. Our room in the hotel was very clean overlooking the river and very spacious. We had a four course meal in the hotel on our first night, I was pleasently surprised how nice the meal was, compliments to the chef. Lots of choice at breakfast. Staff offered a friendly service and could not do enough for you. I would definately recommend this hotel for the location, fabulous service and excellent food.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazza123Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Wow, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for this 5-star review! Our chef, Mike, will certainly be pleased to read your kind words about our food as well and thanks for mentioning the rest of the staff too. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Kendal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
10.9 mi away
The Regent Hotel
The Regent Hotel
#2 of 12 in Ambleside
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $118 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing