We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Just back from a two night D,B&B deal at this hotel. It has a great location overlooking the river and 5 minute walk to the Town centre.
Our room was quite small but very clean and comfortable, staff were very courteous and helpful. This Hotel has a leisure complex (very small though) but guest are welcome to use it, great for working off the good food that is served here.

If you are looking for a base to visit the Lakes, you cannot go far wrong staying here if you get a good deal.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Thank you for this review. We are in a great location for visiting Kendal and the Lakes as well; I am pleased you thought so as well! Thanks again and do visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,068)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,068 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2013

Had an excellent break at the Riverside Hotel. Very good location just a five minute walk into the centre of Kendal with the railway station very close by also. Nice views over the river and very quiet at night with no traffic noise. Two night deal included a meal and wine in hotel on first night. Food was very tasty and service good. The breakfasts were also superb, lots of choice and although the restaurant was busy in the morning the waitress was very efficient. Went in the gym and spa and the only criticism is that the pool is rather small. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

We cannot thank you enough for this splendid, 5-star review. We do hope the next time you are looking for a great value break away, you will give us a ring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from the Riverside hotel, we had a great time, location central and town lovely with plenty of restuarants and bars. Our room in the hotel was very clean overlooking the river and very spacious. We had a four course meal in the hotel on our first night, I was pleasently surprised how nice the meal was, compliments to the chef. Lots of choice at breakfast. Staff offered a friendly service and could not do enough for you. I would definately recommend this hotel for the location, fabulous service and excellent food.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kazza123Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Wow, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and want to thank you for this 5-star review! Our chef, Mike, will certainly be pleased to read your kind words about our food as well and thanks for mentioning the rest of the staff too. Hope to see you again the next time you are in Kendal.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

.Went for a couple of days to this hotel on a deal with Travelzoo,2days with b/b plus one 3course evening meal & a bottle of wine in your room,20%off. meal on second night.All for £79each.Great value.hotel in middle of town so handy for shops,Great outlook on River Kent from room.Wash basin defect while there,reported it while out for day,mended when we got back.
Good base for touring lakesWindemere,Bowness ect Friendly staff & gym /pool for keepfitters.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scaniaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

This was a very concise, yet informative review! It should prove helpful, so thank you for that. I am happy you found us to be such good value for money and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Good location for Kendal centre. Large room, very clean, good bed. Food excellent at evening meal and breakfasts. Staff friendly and helpful. River views from room really nice. Spa facilaties adequate for our stay. Free car parking on hotel car park. Ate out second night at Sawadee Thai restaurant just along the road, it was excellent. Overall a great time had and would stay again. Well done all at Riverside.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aniseedball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

It was a joy to read this review. Thanks for posting it and for visiting us. I am pleased we ticked all your boxes for a great break away and do hope you visit us again the next time you are in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a super place for a break! Beautiful location right on the river with lovely views. Excellent spacious room, where everything functioned as it should- rare in our experience of hotels! Excellent food in both the restaurant and the Tannery and first rate service with a smile from all the staff! Free and convenient car parking - another bonus not usually offered in town/city hotels.
I do not usually write reviews but wanted to share our experience. It will probably backfire as The Riverside will always be fully booked and we ll not be able to get a reservation! But we would love to come back in the future! Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bestmate007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for this wonderful, 5-star review and for your recent stay with us. Everyone is very happy you enjoyed your stay with us including your accommodation, location, and food. Thanks also for mentioning our friendly, efficient staff who make a stay at The Riverside Hotel such a great experience! I am sure we'll be able to fit you in the next time you'd like to visit! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

My wife and I stayed here on Feb 14th and 15th when some heavy snow followed by heavy rain arrived. Kendal went from picturesque to swimming all within 24 hours.
Anyway we were in room 302 I think it was which over looked the river and is about 20 or 30 metres from the bridge.
The room was fairly average considering the hotel website claims that a £20m refurbishment was completed in 2010. It wasn't dirty but it did feel like it needed some tlc and a good spring clean.
The window didn't fit and was stuffed with toilet paper to stop the draughts and rattles.
The bed was a standard size and not very firm so neither I or my wife really got any decent sleep while there.
The noise from the road wasn't to intrusive but we were aware of it all of the time.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the restaurant and tannery bar were very pleasant.
We used the swimming pool while we were there which was fine as was the sauna and steam room.
Meals were fine as well.
Can recommend the little Italian restaurant called Infusion which is about 200yds across the bridge in Stramongate. It's small and friendly with great food. We hadn't booked but they fitted us in on Valentine night without a fuss.

Room Tip: Riverside views to most room. I imagine that if you are over the gymnasium it might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

It was a wintry mix of a Valentine's Day this year wasn't it? Thanks for staying and for your 4-star review! I am happy you enjoyed your dining experience with us and thanks for mentioning the staff as well. I also want to thank you for your constructive comments too; they will be helpful as we go forward. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,155 reviews
8.0 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $110 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing