We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pete/kim plus 2 x friends”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“pete/kim plus 2 x friends”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Good central location for site seeing and general getting out and about. However the hotel does not have a welcoming cosy feel to it for chilling out eating and drinking. We found are room to be spacious, clean, warm, and the bed was comfy. The breakfast is a buffet set up, but due to limited staff was shambolic with guests having to cue for long periods, with the ones complaining loudest
getting served eventually. (really not impressed)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriellaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. We are in a great location with really comfy rooms overlooking the River Kent; perfect for relaxing. Obviously, your experience at breakfast was unacceptable. Our goal is to always provide fantastic, friendly service and we have the amazing staff to do so. Unfortunately, we did not meet our own standards or yours during your stay. If you were to visit us again, I am positive we would be back to the excellent level of service guests have to expect from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    400
    175
    57
    27
See reviews for
174
568
27
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
blackburn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Second visit, no real complaints. Location is perfect and staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is probably due a refurb soon as it is looking a little tired in places. Overall, quite satisfied. Just a mention for the lady who worked flat out on her own on the breakfast shift on Sunday 3rd. Well done.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackburnNolberto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your lovely review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and we all appreciate your comments about the hardworking staff; they are brilliant! Thanks again and hopefully we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were offered this hotel after being disappointed with our room at another south lakes hotel. Our room in this hotel was lovely and spacious with a lovely view of the river we couldn't have been happier! We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant the food was excellent and the young waiter and waitress were very efficient and attentive. Breakfast on the first morning was good the staff were rushed off their feet so we didn't get our tea I'm sure we would have done had we mentioned it but we decided just to make a cup back in our room. However breakfast on the second morning was worse we had to set our own table, wait for the cooked buffet to be restocked, weren't offered tea and toast but their seemed to be one poor waitress trying to do everything (dark hair in a ponytail) and all this she did in with a smile and unflustered manner but the restaurant was very busy. The hotel is very convenient for shopping in kendal, a very pleasant walk into town.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be on riverside which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. I am happy you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly our location and room with a view! I am very sorry for the experience at breakfast on the second morning. Everyone works so hard to ensure that guests are taken care of and I am sure the next time you visit we will be back on form. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

All the staff were polite, friendly & helpful. The room was clean & comfortable & the bathroom had a lovely powerful shower. We enjoyed the evening meal in the restaurant and the breakfasts were excellent, plenty of choice and quality food. The hotel is perfectly situated with lovely views of the river from the rooms and the restaurant and is only a short walk form Kendal town centre. We are definitely going to return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazzbar_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Nice review thank you. Your stay had everything one could want; clean and comfortable accommodation, friendly staff, good food and superb location. We will definitely look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful. Evening meal in the hotel restaurant was average, but breakfasts were better and there is lovely view from the dinning room, scenic and great for people watching. Upgraded bedroom to the suite, which was a fantastic size although décor and furniture including bathroom was tired and in need of an upgrade, bedroom doors close with a bang, which is unfortunate when the person next door is coming and going early in the morning. Gym equipment is kept well and a good size for a hotel gym, unfortunately spa had a number of hotel staff being loud, which took away from the relaxation. Great location, short walk to shops, town centre and Kendal castle.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leeceyfaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay and review. I am happy you enjoyed our fabulous location, just outside Kendal town centre and only a 10-minute walk to the castle. I am sorry about the noise in the spa area, although I am not sure it was hotel staff as they do not use it. I thank you again for your comments and do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Two night break for my wifes birthday. Arrived early saturday evening and were greeted by a warm polite very helpful lady on reception. She was very pleasant, informative and made us feel very welcome and that nothing was too much trouble for her. Immediately we felt very welcome.
We had a lovely evening meal and then went out for a stroll with our dog. We woke up the next morning had a wonderful breakfast and after letting it settle we used the wonderful pool and spa faciliies. My wife then realised that she had left her handbag with our money and credit cards at home and we had no money at all apart from some loose change. I had paid for the trip before we left so any food on the second day we would purchase ourselves. i then approached the new lady on reception and asked her if i could borrow thirty pence off her until i could arrange to get some money dropped off for us or get into the bank tommorow as they are shut on a sunday. I was met with an abrupt no. i cant lend you any money. and that was it. No alternative offer of any help, no thought towards our plight, nothing. We had paid £158 pounds for two nights and all i was asking for was thirty pence. He lack of care or symathy towards paying customers was disgusting, she couldnt have cared less and she was not interested in any way about helping us. I walked away from reception back to our room to tell my wife who was in total disbelief that somebody could be so unsypathetic towards somebody. I had asked to borrow thirty pence from her, not thirty pounds or anything else thirty pence. I could not believe it. This individual should not be working in a position where dealing with members of the public on a day to day basis is the main part of her job as her attitude towards them is totally devoid of any care and compassion towards them when a situation arises that may need them to go that extra mile to help them out. thirt pence for gods sake.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and review. I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular your meals. Having had a word with our receptionist on duty, there must have been some miscommunication. She thought you had asked to borrow £30, not £.30. Staff are not permitted to lend out money to guests, but had she realised it was only £.30, I am sure she would have made an exception! I do apologise for this miscommunication and do hope it will not put you off visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todmorden, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Stayed with friends for short weekend break, Good location, dinners and breakfasts excellent. Staff on the whole very friendly, took swimsuits to use pool but found it too busy with local members so a bit disappointed. Would stay again but request different rooms as noisy in the morning from 6.30.

Room Tip: Rooms downstairs are next to lift which is very noisy from 6.30am
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay and for your nice review and your wonderful comments about our staff, food and location. The pool and gym are popular with guests and locals alike, but tends to be a bit quieter during the day. Hopefully the next time you visit you'll get into the beautiful pool! Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
22.5 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
#6 of 11 in Penrith
4.0 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 14 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing