We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
211 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

After a drive thru torrential rain from Glasgow then arriving in the city and walking thru the rain to find accommodation, The Riverside Hotel was a welcome site. The rooms are very nice indeed, the price OK and it's literally right on the river. I booked 2 rooms for us and our friends and we both were happy with what we got. They were comfortable and very nice. The only downside I could find was with the dinner. They tell you if you want to eat in their restaurant you must prebook so we did. What we wern't told was it's a 3 course menu with choices for 25GBP. My husband and I don't eat 3 courses and there was no alternative. The friends travelling with us were happy with the choices so stayed but we went downstairs to the bar and had meal there. We were both happy with our choices but it made it a bit akward when we actually walked out of the restaurant. If we had been told when we booked in what to expect it would have saved any embarrassment.

Room Tip: It's really lovely if you get a room on the ground floor so the river is literally right outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussiepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thanks for your lovely review of our hotel. We are very pleased that we were able to offer you a comfortable stay after your difficult journey, and that you appreciated our beautiful river views. I am sorry to hear about the misunderstanding you encountered over dinner, and this issue has been flagged up with our staff in order to avoid embarrassment in future. We are very grateful for your comments and hope that you stay with again next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    402
    176
    58
    27
See reviews for
175
574
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

On a Group W2W cycle ride
excellent hotel with good location and the ability to accomodate 50 cyclists
rooms clean and spacious
food excellent
staff very accomodating
good leisure facilities

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Middlesfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
We would like to thank you for this great review of our hotel and we are so pleased that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us. We hope that you all enjoyed your trip across the W2W cycle route and that you made it to Wearmouth successfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Had a great three nights here early September,had booked a double room but got a nice big family room so plenty of space,bathroom was lovely and large with a good shower.Used the restaurant for breakfast and dinner and had only one complaint did not see any fish on the menu for breakfast and a tomato with the fry would have been nice.Was suprised this was only a three star Hotel as i have stayed in many four star that were no better. Would go back there again if i was in the area and maybe we would be luckier with the weather next time .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you for your positive review of the Riverside Hotel. It is lovely to hear that your room was to your satisfaction and that we were able to exceed your expectations of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again in summer and hope that you do experience better weather next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

On the whole the Riverside is a very good hotel only very minor niggles appeared. The room was very spacious and clean. The shower was hot and powerful. The bed was lovley and comfortable. There was little noise despite being on the corner of a fairly busy road. The breakfast was good. Crispy bacon and better saussages would improve matters further. Staff were lovley and helpful.

Now for the niggles. As we enjoyed ourselves so much they are just comments to be looked at rather than a stop don't go there panic. Our room had a lovley refurb but they forgot the toilet roll holer. We had to make do with toilet rolls on the window ledge in the bathroom (I said they were minor niggles). The main staircase had about 10-15 spiders at the very top of it climbing the walls. We were only passing through so not really a problem. Finally the poor girl on reception/bar seemed to be doing everything so as a consequence we had to wait to get our token to get out of the car park.

On the whole we had a lovely stay at the riverside and will be going back again as we love the lake district and Kendal makes a nice base.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments regarding your stay at the Riverside Hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our showers and beds were to your satisfaction. We appreciate you letting us know about the “niggles” that you experienced, as it is only when customers do these that we are able to fix them. You will be pleased to know that the room is now properly equipped!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel had views of the river and bridges, This hotel was clean, spacious and comfortable with decor in older style which i liked. Staff were very friendly. We had access to the leisure facilities,albeit a smallish pool, but spa and sauna were welcoming. We.d booked a double room but got a family room on fourth floor,which give us lots of room. We were here for our first anniversary. There was a wedding on but we couldnt hear it. There were lounges, bar and restaurant which were welcoming. Small car park,but we got parked even with a wedding happening. We will return if we visit the area again.One gripe. not enough staff at breakfast and we had to ask them for things.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romanceriva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_ManagerSLH, Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Thank you for your excellent review. We strive to exceed our guests expectations here at the Riverside and reviews like these let us know we are on the right track! We are glad you chose the Riverside Hotel for your first anniversary and do hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

Waited 10mins to be checked in, despite ringing the bell. Then waited 10mins to check out. No apology. Very understaffed (although pleasant enough) - this may be due to Bank Hol weekend. Giant big screen TV in reception area which is a live view of the pool, for all and sundry to watch you getting in and out of the pool in your bikini. Could literally read a girl's tattoo as she got out of the jacuzzi, the screen is so big. Inappropriate and felt very uncomfortable using the leisure facilities, knowing we were on a big screen in Reception. Asked about this - given no reason as to why this is the case.

Have to go up and down staircases and through several heavy doors to access the lift - not ideal for wheelchair users (I did notice a stairlift for about 4 steps) or people with heavy cases. Stayed in Room 311, window broken - wouldn't close or lock. Felt unsafe as window large enough for someone to fit through and right outside it was a roof, which you could access from the street by a staircase. Burglar's dream. Asked someone to see to this. Never did. Never got back to us.

'Double bed' was 2 twins put together, empty crisp packet left in room. Nice view of river. This came with huge spiders all over the hotel - literally counted 10 all at once on a small corridor. Had to take alternative route to room once as massive spider on staircase. Massive cobwebs everywhere making the place look dirty. These should be cleaned away daily.

Breakfast was organised chaos. No-one there to greet you, just wander round aimlessly until you can find a member of staff and ask what to do. Told 'please find a table'. There were none available as they all needed cleaning. Waited 15mins for coffee after asking twice. Breakfast selection poor.

Put our concerns in a letter on first day, handed to reception and asked duty manager to contact us to discuss. No-one ever got back to us. Extremely poor customer service.
We travel every month and have stayed in many hotels. This was the most expensive and the most run down, understaffed and disappointing. Will never visit Kendal again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel. With regards to your comment about the TV screen, this is a legal requirement allowing us to monitor the swimming pool. The leisure club has hundreds of members, none of whom object to this. We are sorry that your window was not fixed promptly, however your "do not disturb" sign was on your door throughout your stay, and our staff adhere to this vigilently. As your room was on the third floor, above the river, it is in fact completely inaccessible from the outside. The public areas of the hotel are cleaned thoroughly every day, therefore we disagree with your comments about the cleanliness.
We appreciate the comments that you have made, however we do not feel that they accurately represent the Riverside Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

...central location, parking facilities and spa was excellent...staff were very helful..nothing too much trouble...only downside would be the lack of help for the bar person...she seemed to do everything....fetching meals trying to serve the bar etc....still did it with a smile...on the friday it was the receptionist doing everything.....

Room Tip: all the rooms look over the river but we asked for a higher floor just for better views...there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasper59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
Thank you very much for this brilliant review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the beautiful views from the bedrooms. Your appreciation of our staff will be passed on, they will be very pleased to hear it. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing