We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we absolutely loved our stay here”
Review of Riverside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riverside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“we absolutely loved our stay here”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

iwas travelling from Ayrshire to cornwall and decided to stop of en route at 3 locations.We absolutely loved our comfortable clean quaint room,with a beautiful view of the river.We arrived at 8pm on a beautiful summers night and the only downside to our stay was my 3 children could not use the pool as 8pm.We had paid more than other like for like hotels for this reason and to make our roadtrip a bit special .My children are 15,13, and11.My 11 year old is autistic so this took some explaining to pacify him.Otherwise a very nice stay in a cosy hotel.Hope to stay again soon.
Romy

Room Tip: my room had a lovely view of the river,i would ask for this view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank romy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry to hear of the disappointment caused by your children not being allowed to use our leisure facilities after 8pm. This is stated on our website, however we will look into how we can make it clearer to avoid future disappointment. We are very pleased, however, that you enjoyed you stay overall and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    402
    176
    58
    27
See reviews for
175
574
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (268)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Don't be fooled by the lobby area of the hotel. It needs renovation and that is apparently on the way. My wife and I stayed a single night in a twin room which was excellent. Looked brand new: spotless, modern, comfortable, quiet. Hot breakfast was good. Don't know about lunches and dinner. Service all around was good. Bar was quiet with range of choices. Only complaint is the high British pound versus the Canadian dollar. Room ended up being pretty expensive but that's not the hotel's fault. Overall, not a Marriott, but a good local hotel where we would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: all the rooms overlook the river !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawkeyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review of our hotel. We really appreciate your comments and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Good location and modern room. For the money, the breakfast was very poor, horrible quality sausages, no decent bread- just normal white or brown sliced, no fresh fruit, pastries or salad/cheese..you generally get all these when you pay over £100 a night.
There is no garden at the hotel but a small sitting out area which can get full quite quickly when sunny.
Nice friendly reception staff

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay at the Riverside Hotel. We are disappointed that you did not enjoy the breakfast, as we regularly get positive comments on the selection.
However, we are glad to hear that you were pleased with the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

I really enjoyed my short stay here, I booked BB&EM, which was great value. The set dinner choices were varied and there was plenty of it. Well worth it

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daveykbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Short but sweet! Thanks for this great review. We're very glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed here our first night in Kendal and then in a flat the rest of the time. The hotel is not that old but already showing signs of being somewhat dated. The Wifi didn't work in the rooms or lobby (you had to go into the pub) but they did let me use the hotel computer to check my emails.

The hotel is situated on the river Kent and there are fabulous views from the hotel of Kendal and the surrounding area.

The restaurant has a great view of the river and served excellent food. I had lamb and sticky toffee pudding (best I have had in years). They also served a decent English breakfast though wouldn't recommend the fried bread, it tasted as though it was just dipped in plain oil instead of fried in the bacon grease as it should be (yeah I know it is bad for me but you have to do it once in a while)

The room was clean, well stocked and comfortable. We were on the third floor overlooking the river.

We got a package where our dinner and breakfast were also included. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Whiteknight_013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
We really appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. It's great that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the food was as good as we hope it to be. I will pass on your comments regarding the sticky toffee pudding, I'm sure the Chef will be happy! We do, however, disagree with the comments made about the hotel being dated, as renovation work took place earlier this year and all of the rooms, bar and reception were completely refurbished.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

My husband and I spent four nights on DBB basis in the Bellingham Suite to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary......well what can I say......It was a wonderful stay.
Easy to find from the M6, with free undercover secure parking.
The Bellingham suite is incredibly spacious with a large four poster bed, two seater settee and two chairs, desk and a further 2 chairs.
The bathroom is also a very good size with a bath and a seperate shower cubicle. Being very pedantic... the shower could be a bit bigger and the towels could also have been bigger !
The room was serviced daily including fresh towels and tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits being replenished.
We had the 3 course table d'hote menu included which had a selection of approx 5 starters, mains and desserts all of which were wonderfully cooked and well presented.
The full english breakfast was basic, sausage, bacon, mushrooms, baked beans but well cooked.
All the staff were always friendly and helpful at all times.
The leisure centre has a pool (if fairly small) jacuzzi, steam room and sauna all of which are all well maintained and clean. I didn't use the gym facilities but they all appeared modern.
The hotel does boast wifi internet connectivity throughout but it is slow in the room and often not a good enough signal to use, but i'm sure it would have been ok i the bar area where the router was.
Overall we enjoyed a wonderful stay and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it and can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfingQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Riverside Hotel. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our food and facilities. Hopefully we will see you again in the future, maybe for your next anniversary celebration?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2011

We used this hotel as a stop over on a return to Essex from Scotland, i chose it as it had good facilities and a good rate.
Couldn't find it at first, the sat nav sent us to and industrial site, but the hotel is at the other end of the road, it's just a one way street.
We used the pool, Steam room and spa, then ate in the bar, very good facilities followed by good food.
Very pleased with the room, large and with riverview.
I have been told by my girlfriend that if we visit the lakes we will be based here.
Didn't realise it had anything to do with the hotel TV series until we saw the owner at reception on checkout.
Would recommend this hotel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilbo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s0uthlakes, Public Relations Manager at Riverside Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We're very glad that you enjoyed our food and facilities. We look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully for more than one night!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
24.5 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
5.9 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,086 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel

Property: Riverside Hotel
Address: Stramongate Bridge | Beezon Road, Kendal LA9 6FS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#5 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Riverside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riverside Hotel is situated on the banks of the River Kent in Kendal only a short walk from the famous Lake District market town centre. The hotel is conveniently situated for all the Lake District attractions and is only a ten- minute drive from Lake Windermere.The hotel has 56 en-suite bedrooms plus two suites one of which has a four poster bed. All the bedrooms have river view and include hospitality tray, freeview television, free wifi, direct dial telephone, hairdryer and ironing facilities. Free parking is available to residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Riverside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing