We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Very helpful staff only problem was resturant shut at 9pm although staff did make me a sandwich so not sure if ther was actually room service
They were really helpful as I was holding interviews and gave me a room

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
1  Thank jillNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

621 - 627 of 703 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2011

We had three nights at the Stonecross, booked on a travelzoo offer - it was quiet and relaxing, with a limited number of guests around when we were. We used the basic pool and spa every day and had it to ourselves most of the time!
We were pleased with the service and facilities. The bedroom was fine. The food was excellent, breakfast fit for a king with all the choice you could want, and dinner cooked and presented well. The staff were generally friendly and helpful, although the service in the restaurant could have been more consistent.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BellaBlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

This was the second time I have stayed in this hotel during the past few weeks.

The initial reaction to reception was very positive. A very nice area, well laid out and relaxing as was the bar and dining room. The staff are so accommodating and friendly and nothing seems too much trouble. The very quickly make one feel at home.

Whilst the bedroom furniture is a bit tired this was more than compensated for by the comfort and cleanliness.

The food was excellent no matter which menu you ate from.

I think this is an excellent venue for leisure or business and most certainly good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NorfolkPainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2011

Just checked out after a really nice break at this hotel. Lovely staff, very friendly and cheerful. Couldn't believe the bad reviews about the food here, our dinner on both evenings was really enjoyable and well presented. We will definitely be returning. Thank you

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norwichcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

went for a romantic night away after christmas, hotel was excellant, sevice excellant, food in restaurant could not fault. Staff very helpfull and friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jackieCumbriaEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

My wife and I together with 2 friends booked 2 night New Years' experience. It was excellent throughout. From the planning stage prior to the trip, to the final goodbyes, the whole trip was outstanding.
We found the attention to details, very good, the staff pleasant, the atmosphere electric! We even sang on New Years' Eve. Coould have been the wine, but you only sing if you are enjoying yourself and we really did. We all agreed it was a wonderful 2 day adventure and would heartily recommend the hotel to anyone. It may only show 3* on the door, but we all had a 5* experience!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peterwasilew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

We have just returned from a two night stay here and this was our second visit.We ate in the restaurant on the first night and can honestly say that it was the best meal we have eaten out in a long time,breakfast selection was very good.Staff were all very polite especially Christa on reception,if we are ever planning a trip to Kendal again we will definately be staying at Stonecross Manor.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dido50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.5 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,096 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
561 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
23.6 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range: $78 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing