We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Made to feel like Lord and Lady of the Manor!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
north west
2 reviews
“Made to feel like Lord and Lady of the Manor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

From beginning to end we couldnt fault The Stonecrass Manor. We stayed here for our anniversary and The Manor made the occasion even more magical than we could have imagined. I had phoned the Manor the day before to organise a surprise bouquet to be put in the room for my girlfriend and she was ecstatic when she opened the door of our room. Thankyou Stonecross Manor.
When we arrived at the Manor our check in was very easy and the member of staff was very friendly and welcoming. She was very informative and helpful. We stayed in a double room and it had everything we needed. The bathroom was fantastic and the power shower really gets our seal of approval.
Once we had unpacked we went downstairs to the hotel bar and got ourselves a drink. There was a wedding at the Manor that day but we were still made to feel very important and the bar staff were great. We had our drinks in the Manors lovely front garden area as it was such a lovely day and then we ventured into Kendall.
We returned a few hours later and got ready for our evening meal which we had booked earlier in the day. The restaurant was quite busy but had a lovely atmosphere and our meal was simply beautiful. I had the peppered steak which was devine and my girlfriend had the duck which she thouroughly enjoyed. We had the house red which was really nice. The restaurant staff were really friendly and gave excellent service. After our meal we retired to the lobby were we had a few drinks. The wedding was still in full swing but didnt disturb our relaxing evening.
We attended breakfast quite late the next morning but there was still plenty on offer and the standard of the food was very high. We enjoyed a full cooked breakfast with refreshing fruit juices and a lovely pot of tea. We checked out at 11am and with regret we didnt have enough time to enjoy the Manor pool and spa area. We did go and have a look on our way out and it looked very inviting and fun.
Overall we loved our stay at The Stonecross Manor and hope to visit again some day soon. Top Marks Stonecross! Thankyou to all who made our anniversary weekend that bit more special. Andrew and Katie.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esskarms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2009
Dear Andrew and Katie

It was with great pleasure that I read your very complimentary review of your recent stay at Stonecross Manor Hotel.

We do strive to give the best possible service and hopefully exceed our guests expectations at all times, but it is only through feedback from our guests that we can truly gauge the actual level of our delivery. I therefore appreciate very much the time and effort you have put into writing the review, which has been passed on to all of the staff to read.

Once again, thank you very much and I hope that we can welcome you back to Stonecross Manor in the near future. Kind Regards Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    240
    131
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
409
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2009

OK. The redeeming factors are that this hotel has very strong showers. It also has a small swimming pool (although changing facilities are meagre, so be prepared to change quickly and stay wet!)

Its failings: staffing levels appaling: service poor and lacklustre throughout - had to ask for additional coffee at breakfast. The receptionist seems to be the jack of all trades - barman, leisure centre attendant etc.

Dinner was appalling: lamb was severely overcooked, roast potatoes strangely soggy and fat laden (deep fried we think) and catering for vegetarians was non existent, In the year 2009 I was offered pasta bake. The only vegetarian option? Come on guys! It was VILE. The desert (sold as home-made) was a plastic, gelatinous horror - if it was home made the chef has some particularly unique skills.

Sorry to say, it was expensive and outdated - good service might have redeemed it, but beyond redemption i think. Sadly i can't rate lower than 1 for service or value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ginsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Ginsta

I was terribly disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed your stay with us in May.

Having been previously unaware of your complaint I was further disappointed to realise upon investigation that you had not brought your concerns to our attention during your stay so that we could rectify this at the time. I understand that people do not always find it easy to make a complaint face to face and our reception log, which is used to log guest’s comments at check out does not indicate that you did. However understanding that this can be a problem for people, we also offer other avenues for our guests to comment on their stay, such as our visitors book located at reception and our guest questionnaires which are placed in each bedroom.

We do this because we are committed to offering our guests the best possible experience and take their feedback very seriously, in particul any feedback that may be of a negative nature.

While we strive to give the best possible standards of service and quality of food, we realise that we don’t always get it 100% right and in such rare cases we do endeavour to do our utmost to make it right at the time so that our guests can relax and continue to enjoy the rest of their stay.

The quality of our food is normally of the highest standard and is without exception prepared in our own kitchen. We consistently receive great compliments from our guests about our food as we do for the friendliness and professional efficiency of our staff. It is therefore of extreme concern that you did not receive our normal high standards of food quality and service. I have however reviewed your comments with the appropriate staff and addressed the issues which you have raised. I am also pleased to say that we are now offering a larger range of vegetarian options.

Again, it is such a great pity that you did not bring these issues to our attention at the time so that we could make amends rather than choosing to anonymously advise us through Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kendal hotels

st helens, england
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2009

we stayed at this hotel for 2 nights from 26th march 09 to 28th march 09. Very smooth check in very polite and pleasant staff at check in. No language problems at all.
The lift a little dated but why change something if it still works perfectly. We had room 207 found this four poster room very comfortable and warm,tea and coffee making facilites in the room were first class they seen to every little detail with even hot chocolate and biscuits in the room as well as the usual tea and coffee sugar and milk sachets. Food was excellent even Black Pudding with the cooked breakfast , We had the evening meal on the 27th march in the hotel and it was excellent , the food was cooked just right my husband ordered a medium rare steak and it was done perfect I had the fillet of salmon and can say i have never tasted salmon so succulent that it melted in your mouth we picked a bottle of rose wine of the wine list at random and it was one of the best rose wines we had tasted. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff . All the staff we encountered we polite and friendly .

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank june40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear June40

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Stonecross Manor Hotel on Trip Advisor. We really appreciate your compliments and glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2009

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in March 09. Welcomed by extremely friendly, bubbly Easter European receptionist. We arrived after kitchens had closed and she kindly offered us sandwiches. Only problem was she seemed to be the only member of staff, covering reception, bar and I think she even made the sandwiches. Had the same problem another night when male receptionist was also barman for the night.
The room was well furnished, cosy and clean. Standard of making-up of room was very poor though which was disappointing. (This is the only reason I would not recommend it to a friend which is a shame really because the other staff seemed quite dedicated). There was also loud music playing in a nearby room which might have annoyed some people, although this didn't bother us enough to complain.
The breakfast was very good and the dining room was well staffed.
The hotel is walkable distance to the town - 20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank binkyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Binkyman

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the positive comments that you have made in relation to your stay and assure you that we have addressed any issues in regard to staffing. We have also taken particular note of your comments in regard to the cleanliness of your room and addressed this with our housekeeping staff. I hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2009

We stayed at the Stonecross Manor Hotel for the valentines weekend and had a lovely time. I am surprised at the few negative reviews of this hotel as we couldn't fault it but I suppose some people have different expectations! The staff are very friendly and make you feel very welcome and will go out of there way to get you what you want.

The food here is excellent, breakfast is a buffet style with a selection of cold and hot food consisting of: Cereals, juice, fresh fruits, yoghurts, croissants, sausage, bacon, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, grilled tomatoes, beans, mushrooms, fried bread, black pudding, toast with marmalade and jam, fresh coffee or tea and they even offer smoked kippers on request! We had a valentines meal in the evening which we thoroughly enjoyed, they had a beautiful menu of approx 5 starters and 6 mains to choose from followed by a choice of delicious deserts and coffee. As it was valentines they had also decorated the table and even made the butter in to a heart shape (to me these little touches show the effort and thought the hotel puts in).

The bar and restaurant offers a wide selection of champagne and wines (all reasonably priced) that you can have with your meal or just drink in the bar, reception area or in your room.

We found our bedroom to be well equipped having more than adequate wardrobe/drawer space for a weekend away with a very comfortable bed and most importantly to us the bedroom and bathroom was extremely clean!

The hotel also has a very nice swimming pool and spa with small changing areas, the reception staff also provide you with towels when using the pool area. The exterior of the hotel has a good sized car park at the rear with smaller parking area to the front and side in well kept grounds and there is a little outside gazebo for the smokers!

The only slightly negative comments I would make is that the reception / entrance area would benefit from re-decoration as I feel the wallpaper lets it down a tad however the sofas in this area are very nice and fitting with the style of the building. The only other thing is that the bedroom windows seemed a little damp and may need repairing / replacing but there was definitely no mouldy areas around the windows as stated on some other reviews. These are only minor negatives which I am sure the hotel are quite aware of and will be giving attention to in due course.

We would without a doubt stay at this hotel again and thank all staff for our enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fromleeds82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Leeds82

Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review of your stay with us on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the small touches that we endeavoured to add.

Yes we are aware of the issues in regard to the decor and maintenance that you mentioned and assure you that these are being addressed as part of an ongoing refurbishment programme. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2009

Having read reviews for this hotel i have to to say

Stonecross you rock xx

we have just had an awesome time x again

THANK YOU xx

just found this site and a few comments are unjustified x this is a business, family, pet friendly hotel (few and far to find) no surprises and a good to find. nothing is too much trouble for this hotel, they will help to plan your day out adventuring and serve your every whim.

Have stayed a few times and sometimes been upgraded to a larger room

We'll be back xx thanks guys xx

  • Liked — The Staff and Atmosphere (keep decorating your doing good) like the badges
  • Disliked — flood lights shining in room (look good from outside but too harsh in room)
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cockiesouthner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2009
Dear Cockiesouthner

Thank you so much for your very complimentary review. We are so pleased that you continue to enjoy staying with us and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2008

i have just arrived back from this hotel and i must say what an awful hotel it is... £117 per night for 3 nights inc breakfast what a rip off!!!

this is is not run like a hotel its more like a basic guest house.

i must say the easten european reception staff were robots when i complained about the state of the luxury rooms we had booked and the poor facilities they said that the director( Anne) doesnt listen to them so complain direct!
i arranged a meeting with Anne and i explained i wasnt happy
with the amount they were charging for a flea pit and she discounted the 2 rooms by £10 per night...what a joke!
the whole place is in a really bad state and last
night there was no heating on downstairs.

my advice to anne would be get a grip of your staff and sort your poor hotel out its got potential if you stop cutting corners for profit reasons.

my advice to anyone wanting to stay in kendal is to stay at the castle green up the road and it has good facilities and its much cheaper... or even better the hundeth hill hotel in cockermouth

  • Liked — lovely exterior
  • Disliked — th whole of the interior
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank carloski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonecrossManor, Director at Stonecross Manor Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2009
While we at Stonecross Manor Hotel are committed to ensuring our guests expectations are always exceeded wherever possible, we appreciate that we don’t always “get it right” and in such a case endeavour to do everything we can to rectify this.

It was therefore disappointing to read this review, especially as I had believed this guest’s complaints had been addressed to his satisfaction at the time of his stay.

While I understand Tripadvisor reviews are the subjective view of the individual guests I make the following comments in response to this particular review:

I am surprised at the comment in regard to “the eastern european staff.” Especially as I only have one staff member in my employ who originates from Eastern Europe and who is a particularly warm, bubbly and friendly individual who receives many positive comments from our guest questionnaires. Unfortunately the staff member in question has read this review and was reduced to tears by its comments in reference to her.

My staff and I work together very closely to ensure we are always striving to improve our facilities and service. We produce comprehensive reports from our guest questionnaires and maintain a visitors comments book, both of which we review on a weekly basis. We proactively address any issues which may arise and have a policy of rectifying guest’s complaints swiftly and to the very best of our ability; as we believed we had done in this particular case.

I understand that our guests are seeking a quality product at value for money prices. As such we continually improve the hotel product in terms of cleanliness, services offered and by an ongoing refurbishment programme, while maintaining prices that are reflective of the product and competitive to other hotels in the area.

At the time of addressing this guests complaints it was therefore believed that the recompense of 10% off his total bill to be appropriate to the level of complaint.

Finally, this guest stayed at the hotel during the very busy festive season and I have to say that the many comments left in the visitors book as well as the many guest questionnaires completed by our guests all indicated that everyone else enjoyed a particularly pleasant stay with us, highlighting in particular the quality of the food and the warm and friendly service given by the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing