We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish I hadn't gone back a second time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wish I hadn't gone back a second time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We first stayed here when there were floods on the M6 in December, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was warm and welcoming, quaint, with lovely staff and good food. I went back myself recently for a single night and was very disappointed. I paid for an upgrade room with a 4 poster bed, and struggled to get my small suitcase into the room. The room seemed smaller than the basic room we had last year, there was 2 bedside tables, a chest of drawers, an ottoman, a dressing table and a huge wardrobe with more drawers. The bathroom was very grubby with hairs and a dead fly in the sink, and the 2 teacups supplied for a morning cup of tea were both dirty with hardened rings of someone else's tea.

The bar and restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful, although I was disappointed with my dinner as the rib eye steak I ordered was definitely not "medium", it was grey and hard, and the chunky chips were burned. Breakfast was what you might expect, but nothing special.

I heard people say how nice the pool was, but I didn't see it myself

Room Tip: Probably not worth spending extra for a superior room. My room overlooked the front and it got a bit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crew-Sing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    240
    132
    51
    44
See reviews for
71
410
13
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We made a last minute reservation here and were very pleasantly surprised by how nice our room was and what an excellent price we got. Value for money was superb! Our bed was extremely comfortable and huge! The shower was excellent and plenty of hot water and very good water pressure! Food both at breakfast and dinner was very, very good. If we need to stay in Kendal again, then we will book here.
I wish we would have had our swimming suits as they have a beautiful pool, jacuzzi, and steam room! Next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CNAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

We booked the Stonecross Manor at very short notice (day before arrival) for a well earned break to recharge batteries! The location was ideal as out of central Kendal but within walking distance. Our 2 day package included a 3 course meal on the first night (or £20 equivalent). The food I have to say was exceptional ! the menu was extremely varied which made choosing difficult! both myself and my husband could not fault the meal in any way. The room (208) was small with one or two maintenance problems (catches on window, tiles in bathroom) but it was perfectly comfortable. Breakfast is buffet style and again was perfect. We both loved the new leisure / pool facility and this added to the 'chill out' factor. Well done management ! we run holiday cottages and appreciate how hard it can be to please all people, all of the time !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 837GILL63837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

stopped at stonecross manor for a weekend break room was clean but so hot even with no radiators on that i had to open the windows wide to try and cool down, breakfast was really good with a wide selection of hot and cold food and staff friendly, however is overpriced with local pubs in Kendal offering better deals.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlackpoolSkinnygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Our first visit to this establishment with friends on a short walking break. Our party totalled 9 adults and our leader organised a very good deal for three nights DB&B in the week after Easter. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The food at night was excellent and only a nominal surcharge made for going off piste into the a la carte menu. Breakfast was the usual Buffett but of excellent quality. The staff, without exception were attentive and cheerful at all times despite the best efforts of one guest (not one of our party) to be churlish and rude to them. It must have taken years of training for this guest to develop such a finely honed talent.

Room Tip: The four poster beds are very comfortable. Perhaps rooms to side and rear of hotel are best in view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at the StoneCross for one night on a trip to the lakes, it was a bank holiday weekend and a last minute booking. We had a very large room and it was spotless. Its dog friendly and our boy Max was delighted when offered a biscuit on arrival. He soon learnt that the receptionist had a biscuit box and would stop by for one when ever we were passing. The food in the bar took a while to arrive but it was Good Friday Evening and very busy. The portions were enourmous and the fish and chips was more like a whale. Theres a park just a few hundred yards down the hill for dog walking and the Romney just a few doors down is a fantastically trendy pub that serves lovely food including a carvery and Max got a slice of beef of the carvery here too. A great location with plenty of parking and just 10 minute drive from Lake Windamere. We had a lovely walk down the river into Kendal too would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room up in the top corner, with windows on either side which had amazing views. and we woke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meljriley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just had our 3rd stay, and the Stonecross did not disappoint, room 103 (suite) was nice and clean, he food was wonderful, breakfast and diner. The staff are always helpful nothing is to much trouble. The pool was not open but this did not bother us.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sly2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.3 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
0.8 mi away
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
4.9 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
5.3 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
7.7 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonecross Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonecross Manor Hotel

Property: Stonecross Manor Hotel
Address: 84 Milnthorpe Road, Kendal LA9 5HP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonecross Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the fringe of Kendal with ample FREE parking, easy access from M6 junction 36 and A591. All 30 rooms have en suite bath & shower and have been decorated to a high standard, some boast elaborate 4-poster beds. Established in 1857 as an orphanage Stonecross Manor Hotel has since been extensively modernised and converted into the fine hotel that it is today. Close to the Lake District and Yorkshire Dales National Parks and is also an ideal stop off point when travelling to and from Scotland. Catherines Restaurant and the Westmorland Bar offer an ambience of relaxation coupled with quality Cumbrian and regional cuisine and a wine list to please all tastes. The Newly refurbished heated-indoor pool and poolside Spa with Steam Room and massage jets is now open to guests and members. Stonecross Manor Hotel is also a perfect Wedding venue, with function rooms to suit small or large receptions, both formal and informal while the Civil Ceremony Licence ensures your special day can be enjoyed all in one place. Conference and banquet facilities are also available offering a light and airy environment for your seminar or dinner with quality equipment and extensive menus to cater for all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stonecross Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonecross Manor Kendal
Hotel Stonecross Manor
Stonecross Manor Hotel Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing