We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How all B&B's should be ...”
Review of Crosthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crosthwaite House
Ranked #20 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“How all B&B's should be ...”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed at Crosthwaite House for 5 days, and it was faultless. The house is an elegant Georgian building in the quiet village of Crosthwaite in south-east Lake District, about 15 minutes' drive from Kendal and Windermere. I received a warm welcome, and was shown to the single ensuite room, which is a reasonably priced £35 per night. Like many other rooms it is front-facing and offers a delightful view across open country towards Cartmel Fell, and also of the local church. It is the attention to detail that makes any B&B shine out among others, and the owners Sam and Tiree have certainly given this a great deal of thought. Home-made biscuits in each room, lemon drizzle cake and other delights put out in the hall for guests to try, and also damson gin in the guest living room, where free WIFI is also available. An information folder in each room provides honest reviews of local eateries and also good local walks, and with the latter we were provided a more detailed walking guide to Lords' Seat, which turned out to be a fantastic walk. Breakfast was excellent, with lovely home-made greek yoghurt/stewed fruit/granola creations each day, fresh squeezed orange juice, and a choice of full english or the "days' special" ... the latter proving to be a delicious alternative, such as Eggs Benedict, or the fantastically adventurous "Dr Seuss Special", green eggs and ham. Nothing was too much for Sam and Tiree, providing advice on diverse subjects such as walking, mountain biking, the local property market, how to get to places. The overall experience was an exceptional, faultless B&B with an easy-going, chilled out atmosphere. The Punchbowl Inn, 100 metres along the lane also provides a fine dining experience.

Room Tip: Their website allows easy online booking. If you ring to book, ask if front-facing rooms are availab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheHikingDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed and lovely review for us - ahh the energy levels rise again - it's so nice to get good feedback :) We're really glad you enjoyed your stay, and that you were the first guest to sample our Green Eggs and Ham - well done you! (Did you spot it was served by Sam I Am?!) Also happy you enjoyed the long walk on Whitbarrow - we love it up there and always encourage guests to give it a try as it's such an unspoilt area and so much quieter than the main Lakeland fells.

All the best with your exciting plans for the next few months, thanks again

best wishes

Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed here with my family for our parents wedding anniversary. Tiree and Sam were fantastic helping to suggest places to eat and walks to try. The house was beautiful and all the little touches such as the fresh wild flowers, home made biscuits and local damson gin really made the stay extra special.

I had the single room. The bed was comfy, the en suite clean, the shower powerful, and the view superb.

As for the breakfast it was amazing. Choice of full English or the daily special. I had eggs Benedict the first morning and the full on the second day. And the granola fruit and yoghurt pots were lovely.

All in all you couldn't find a nicer more welcoming place to stay in the lakes.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Hello
Thanks so much for your review - really glad you enjoyed your family weekend of celebrations here - it was lovely having you all to stay and a really nice idea to surprise your parents. We hope to see you again!

Best wishes

Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed for three nights earlier this month, organised by our three daughters as a present for our Ruby Wedding Anniversary. The girls' selection of B and B and its location couldn't have been more perfect!

We loved our room with a window seat and views over beautiful South Lakes countryside. The fresh flowers and home-made biscuits added to the welcome we'd already received on arrival. Like other contributors we thought Tiree's breakfasts were absolutely delicious - great ingredients beautifully cooked, as well as offering an amazing choice with "specials" changing each day. Fresh flowers on the tables as well. Suggestions for walks (with accompanying maps and notes) were excellent, and views from the top of Whitebarrow over the South Lakes peaks on a fine, sunny day were magnificent. We enjoyed the relative quietness of this area, as opposed to the heart of the Lake District, both on our walks and just driving around. A lovely part of the world. And always a very warm welcome on our return.

There are plenty of pubs nearby serving good food (Hare and Hounds, Masons Arms). On our second night our daughters had organised a meal at the Punchbowl a few minutes walk away - and surprised us by appearing there with their partners! It was a lovely special meal, and they then joined us at Crosthwaite House, so it was a fantastic family weekend. Sam and Tiree had kept their secret throughout our first day's holiday! This B and B was great to return to in the evenings after a meal, with the twinkling lights in the lounge and damson gin set out to round off the day as we chatted.

The girls' rooms were all great as well and they also enjoyed their stay immensely. A perfect place on a special weekend. Would recommend Crosthwaite House to anyone.

Room Tip: Our front facing rooms all had delightful views over the countryside. Being in an old house they al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubywedding_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, July 22, 2012
Hello guys, thank you so much for reviewing us - especially as it's your first review :)

We loved having you all here to stay - especially once the secret was out and we didn't have to be careful not to let the cat out the bag any more! It was great fun and a very thoughtful present from your kids.

Glad you enjoyed the local area again, and your walk up Whitbarrow, we love it up there.

Best wishes and hope to see you and the family again at some point - Golden wedding maybe?!

Best wishes

Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our trip to the Crosthwaite House was planned on a whirlwind two week trip to the U.K. in May. My husband and I traveled as far north as St. Andrew's, Scotland, and down to Bath and over to London.
We chose the Crosthwaite House because it was halfway from Edinburgh, Scotland and Tewkesbury, England. We wanted a place in Kendal so I started looking at Trip Advisor (like I always do). I chose this charming place because Tiree and Sam commented on each and every post a person wrote on their B&B. I figure, if they spent the time to care about what people were saying about their place and wrote such a thoughtful note back, they must have a lovely place they care about and treat their guests as if they were family. I was not disappointed. The moment we got there, we were greeted with friendly faces (Sam and his daughter) and their golden retriever. I, at first, had a difficult time connecting to the internet but Sam was very helpful with this, even let me have the router in the room so I had the best chance at reception!
The breakfast was delightful. We even met another couple who brought their golden retriever on their trip. We have two that we were missing back in the States, so between Sam's and this other couple's golden, I was able to get my fix for the week :)
Just a stone's throw from the B&B was a wonderful place to eat for dinner, the Punch Bowl. We were able to walk there, which was a plus since we were sick of driving.
The only frustrating thing about our visit was getting there, and to no fault of our own! We followed our GPS which took us down a one lane road, that was supposed to be two, where weeds were hitting our car on both sides and there were walls on the other side of the weeds! If someone would have been coming the other direction, I don't know what we would have done...there was no turning around, pulling off to the side or backing up! We should have followed Sam and Tiree's directions they so kindly sent us in the mail! Next time :)
If you get a chance to relax after dinner, and you will, try some of the Damson gin they leave out for you to partake of. I liked it so much, I bought some :)

Room Tip: If you are looking for a place to hop on and off the highway....this is not it. If, however you wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanpbsn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hi both! Many, many thanks for leaving us such a lovely, detailed review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay - we're lucky to have some great reviews here on TripAdvisor but it does mean people's expectations are high - so it's good to know we still measure up!

We're really sorry that you had a bit of trouble finding us - and like you said, through no fault of your own! It's a real shame, as, were it not for the errors of Mrs.Sat Nav, you should have had a straightforward 15 minute trip from the motorway on nice (relatively!) big roads. We have many guests who often stay with us to break a a long journey north or south due to the fact that we are easy to access from the M6.

Since you stayed we've also had another couple of guests who've been sent down the same little track, so we're now addressing this by reporting the problem to the major sat nav providers and we're going to put a note on the directions section of our website to warn people too - thanks for bringing it to our attention!

We hope you had a great time on the rest of your UK trip, and enjoy that Damson Gin!

Best wishes,

Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in May and loved it. We had a lovely room with a view over wonderful wonderful countryside -green lightly rolling meadows and stone walls and the birds sang and cows lowed and it was truly bliss. We were within walking distance of really lovely hillside spots (just up behind Crosthwaite House and we loved being up there looking over such amazing countryside in the quiet and peaceful surroundings. Magic.

As well -we experienced a warm welcome, really helpful directions to interesting places around about, a comfortable and well appointed bedroom and a delicious breakfast with fabulous choices. In addition, home baking, home made plum wine (Hmm mmm!) and friendly people.

Loved it. Highly recommend Crosthwaite House!

Room Tip: Rooms are up stairs. All well sitauted with various views. We liked the big room we had -it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grannifee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We love living here and are really glad you enjoyed your time in Crosthwaite - it's a special place! Hope to see you again, happy travelling! Tiree and Sam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside, UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Just had the best weekend at Crosthwaite House, our only regret is that we couldn't stay longer (although I'm not sure our waistlines could cope - the food is AMAZING!!) :-) Thanks to Sam, Tiree and family for making our weekend such an enjoyable one, despite the weather! Anne, Steve and Katie x

Room Tip: We stayed in the Merryweather room which has access to outside with a seating area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anniepoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hi guys thanks for your review - really glad you enjoyed the celebratory weekend - shame the weather had other plans but hey ho! Was lovely having you to stay, hope to see you again. Best wishes Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We recently stayed at Crosthwaite House for four nights. The B&B is easy to find, with adequate parking on site.

We picked Crosthwaite house based upon the great TripAdvisor reviews – and we were not disappointed!

I had specifically requested the Merryweather Room, as it had direct access to a small seating area in the back garden. I thought that we may be able to enjoy the beautiful Lake District sunshine – but alas, it rained pretty much the whole time we were there! However, we did not let this spoil our experience. The room was quiet and perfectly appointed. There were lovely details like fresh flowers in the room each day and delicious homemade shortbread on arrival. There are also homemade treats left on the hall table, for the guests to help themselves to. My favourite being the triple chocolate cookies, mmmm!

The breakfasts served by Sam and Tiree were incredible! Sam was the perfect host in the dining room, bringing endless supplies of tea and coffee (not even batting an eyelid to our Green Tea and De-Caff coffee request!) and Tiree cooked up the most amazing breakfasts. There are plenty of cereals to choose from, together with the homemade granola, fruit and yoghurt concoction (which is quite rightly raved about in other reviews!). This is followed by a choice of a full Cumbrian Breakfast, or the special of the day. The special on our final day deserves it’s own special mention – Brioche French Toast, made with coconut milk and fresh vanilla, served with Damson Jam. (The Damson Jam was probably homemade as well – seriously, I think Tiree IS superwoman!).

As the other reviews have mentioned, there is a pub within two minutes walk of Crosthwaite house, called The Punchbowl. We ate in here on the first night (thank you Sam for booking the table!) It is a little on the pricey side, but the food is of very high quality. We also tried two other pubs, the Hare and Hounds (our favourite) and the Masons Arms, both only about ten minutes drive away. The food experienced in both of these, was incredible and very reasonably priced. However, I would suggest booking a table. It may well just have been because it was half term, but all three pubs were VERY busy and we struggled to get a table (especially at the Masons Arms).

All in all, we had a great stay at Crosthwaite House. Sam and Tiree were the perfect hosts and as such, we would have no hesitation in returning.

Please go and stay at Crosthwaite House – you will not regret it!

R & S Marsden

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonSonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hello both

Thank you so much for such a lovely and detailed review! We're so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are very kind...though I'm afraid I'm not quite Superwoman - if I was I'd have organised sunshine for you! I'll work on my superpowers for next time...

Hope you're all well, take care and thanks again

Sam and Tiree xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
4.2 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
1.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 14 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tranthwaite Hall
Tranthwaite Hall
#33 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
4.3 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosthwaite House

Property: Crosthwaite House
Address: Near Kendal, Kendal LA8 8BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Lyth Valley on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park, we offer a 3 bedroom self catering apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crosthwaite House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing