We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely property, excellent breakfast”
Review of Crosthwaite House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Crosthwaite House
Ranked #21 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely property, excellent breakfast”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Stayed here last month taking 3 rooms for my sisters, friend and mother-in-law. Mother-in law got the best room - single facing the front with excellent views over the hills.! All bathrooms the same with shower, nice white towels and toiletries. We were given use of the front room, which was a bonus so all 5 of us could meet, chat and have a glass of wine before going out. The fire was lit both nights as well which is a real novelty for us townies.
Breakfast consisted of cereals and/or a granola mix with fresh fruit and greek yoghurt which is nice. On top of that there is then the usual full breakfast or a specials board. Plenty of tea, toast and coffee. Very pleasant owners who have recently taken over the house from their parents. We were allowed to have our little dog stay too.
There is a pub/restaurant 2 mins down the road - nice but expensive. We enjoyed The Hare & Hounds the following night more - more relaxed, cheaper and fantastic food. (need to drive to this one though). Bowness on Windermere itself isn't too far away.
So overall - would stay here again. We have stayed in numerous places over the years. Recommend for both service and value. Thank You to the Owners.

Room Tip: Rooms at fron will give you the view of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CBRchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, November 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and complimentary review :)
We're really glad you all enjoyed your stay, and we love it when groups use the lounge, so it was great to have you all enjoying a drink by the fire. We hope to see you all again

best wishes

Sam and Tiree
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
39
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I stayed at Crosthwaite house while attending a friends wedding. My room was both clean and very homely. We were made to feel very welcome and even had a brief walk round the orchard. The breakfast is absolutely gorgeous the balsamic roasted tomatoes and aga fried eggs are a must. Even homemade apple and elderflower juice is on offer. If you're looking for a getaway with gorgeous views, friendly family service and a eal Cumbrian experience, please visit Crosthwaite house, it's just lovely.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahUK4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, October 26, 2011
Thanks for posting a review for us! We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us...and particularly glad you liked the home pressed apple and elderflower - Sam's dad does a grand job of doing all the juicing so I'll pass on your comments to him! Hope to see you again at some point. Best wishes Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

A charming B & B near Kendal, the house itself has a great vibe and the food is excellent, with a choice of traditional cumbrian breakfast or the special of the day, e.g. smoked salmon & scrambled eggs on organic brown bread. Choice of cereals or greek yoghurt with fresh fruit & granola (scrummy!) My single room was comfortable with the usual facilities (en suite wc & shower, tea/coffee & tv). Fantastic views of the open countryside from the rooms and a lounge where you can relax in the evening. There's a pub, the Punchbowl, within approx 200 yards, and the area is very peaceful.The hosts, Sam & Tiree, are welcoming and friendly & most importantly for me, allow dogs to stay.in their home. Definately recommend staying here!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahjwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thanks so much for leaving us such a review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay and it's very kind of you to have outlined everything you enjoyed in such detail! We hope to see you again, best wishes Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2011

A fantastic B & B that well and truly hits the mark and offers exceptional value for money. Travelling throughout the UK with work, it's such a pleasure to come across great places like this. I'll definitely be back :)
An outstanding pub around the corner, serving fantastic food, was the icing on the cake :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesandsharky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thanks so much for leaving a review - we're really glad you enjoyed your stay and a good night's sleep! We look forward to seeing you again, best wishes Tiree and Sam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Very friendly hosts and well appointed room made for a very relaxed stay and atmosphere and the breakfast is not to be missed!

Our bed was very soft which wasn't the best for us however we agreed that it was the only thing that wasn't as we would like it, plus the hosts were very helpful with suggestions of where to go walking the following day. Maybe I should have mentioned the bed, but I'm not sure what could have been done about it.

One of the very best places we've stayed and it is highly recommended to anyone thinking of staying in the area and wanting a break from busier towns.

Room Tip: Front rooms with a view over the valley highly recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Hello

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We're really glad you enjoyed your stay, but apologise that you did not find the bed the most comfortable. We really appreciate you letting us know - like you said we couldn't have done much while you were here, but following your feedback (and the feedback of one other person on TripAdvisor) we have decided to buy new mattresses for the two front rooms for our next season...some guests seem to like softer beds but personally we prefer them firmer too so will upgrade accordingly!

We hope to welcome you back to Crosthwaite House, thanks again and best wishes,

Tiree and Sam x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Sam & Tiree run a wonderful B&B in Crosthwaite House. The rooms are comfortable and beautifully clean. The service is just right and breakfast home cooked and very tasty (try the yoghurt granola).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisbrinsmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Many thanks for posting a review for us - really glad you enjoyed your stay and that the weather was kind (on the whole!) Hope to see you again, best wishes Sam and Tiree x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Ok so I am very good friends with both sam and Tiree and so some of you may see this as a biased opinion. However I have taken my family to crosthwaite house and paid full price for our rooms and so I think I am entitled to an opinion.

Sam and Tiree were very welcoming to all the guests that were there when we stayed. As mentioned in other reviews I loved the little finishing touches such as the home made biscuits on the bed or the damson gin (which I think was made by SAMs dad) saying drink me on the side board. ...

The breakfast was delicious. I especially liked the special which was huevors rancheros when we stayed, the only other place I have seen this is in Houston Texas! I should also mention that a fried egg done on an aga is amazing(almost worth buying an aga for!)

So once again they are very good friends of mine so please feel free to ignore however every word I say is true. We have already booked our next visit for the half term!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. The two at the front have slightly better views however our rooms were at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevencoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crosthwaite_House, Manager at Crosthwaite House, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Aww, thanks Steve - it was a surprise to see you on here, but I guess that the Powers That Be have deemed you worthy to review us! :) It is always lovely to have you all to stay, and of course you won't be having to pay full price when you visit us out of season (just in case anyone out there is thinking we are awful to charge our friends!!) xxx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1.4 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,088 reviews
4.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
4.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
76 reviews
1.7 mi away
Tranthwaite Hall
Tranthwaite Hall
#33 of 42 in Kendal
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
The Lodge Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Underbarrow
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crosthwaite House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crosthwaite House

Property: Crosthwaite House
Address: Near Kendal, Kendal LA8 8BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the beautiful Lyth Valley on the southern edge of the Lake District National Park, we offer a 3 bedroom self catering apartment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Crosthwaite House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing