We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely be visiting again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ash Meadows Guest House
Ranked #6 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Will definitely be visiting again!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We spent two nights here and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the area. The B & B is located a short walk from Kendal town centre and is within easy access of The Lakes. The rooms are spotlessly clean and well-decorated with a homely feel. The hosts, Peter and Phillipa, are friendly and welcoming and couldn't do enough for us! The breakfast is delicious and there's a whole range of food/drinks to choose from. You are also welcomed with hot drinks and home made biscuits/cakes in your room on your arrival. We had a lovely stay and will definitely be going back again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaineK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
48
4
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

We've stayed here twice now and I've got to say this is the benchmark at which B & B's should be set at. Lovely place lovely people and fantastic breakfast. Location is good aswell only a 5 minute walk in to kendal or 10min drive to Lake Windermere. Cant recommend this place enough! 5 *****

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
2 reviews
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We spent two lovely nights at Ash Meadows. Our hosts, Peter and Phillipa, gave us a very warm welcome and made us feel at home immediately. Ash Meadows has been beautifully decorated and furnished to the highest of standards and is a credit to the owners' artistic talents. Our room was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and had a very large shower and bathroom. Again our needs were very well thought out with everything we could wish for being at our disposal from the lovely home made biscuits to the toiletries and bottles of water by our bedsides. For breakfast there was a good array of starters to choose from and guests can order anything they would like to be cooked for them. The warm home made bread was delicious. Peter and Phillipa were wonderful hosts and we felt like friends when we left. We would highly recommend Ash Meadows to all our family and friends and hope to return there in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariea b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

A super B&B within walking distance of Kendal and local amenities. The owners have taken great care to provide comfort and luxurious touches to make any visit a special occasion. The welcome was the best I have ever received and the room delightful, tastefully decorated and furnished to a high standard. From the home made biscuits and cookies to the fabulous breakfasts it is obvious that love and care is taken to make this the nicest B&B experience anyone could wish for. Only slight drawback is the road which can be busy at peak times but is nothing compared to the warm welcome, lovely rooms and great food. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fledermaus2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was our second stay here and just as before we were made to feel so welcome that it seemed like we were old friends. The breakfasts were out of this world and the whole place is spotless. Our room was very comfortable and had more than everything needed for our stay. All the details had been covered down to the little treats left on our tea tray every day. It is also conveniently located 20 minutes walk from the shops and restaurants in Kendal centre. Needless to say we have already booked for our return visit next year.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms available at the time of writing room 3 has a lovely large shower and slightly smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I stayed here in March this year and my only regret is leaving it this long to write the review. Pete and Phil were great company and welcomed me in as a guest and a friend. Lovely property, great room and an even better breakfast. Ill be staying again :-)

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Liam_Sharkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beziers, France
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Pete and Phillipa are the ideal hosts being both helpful and discreet. The accommodation is of a high standard and I would thoroughly recommend a stay here. The breakfast deserve special mention with both full english and healthy fruit options.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mervkp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kendal
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Travelodge Kendal
Travelodge Kendal
#4 of 14 in Kendal
407 reviews
6.3 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 14 in Kendal
487 reviews
0.1 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ash Meadows Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash Meadows Guest House

Property: Ash Meadows Guest House
Address: 123 Appleby Road, Kendal LA9 6HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ash Meadows is a lovely Victorian house which has been tastefully modernised to give guests the facilities that make a stay special. All rooms are en-suite, with central heating, heated towel rails, TV and DVD players, Tea and coffee making facilities, with home baked cake or biscuits. Egyptian cotton bedding and quality towels are the finishing touches. We offer full English breakfast, meat or vegetarian, freshly baked bread and croissant a choice of cereals, granola, fruit juices, fresh fruit and berries as available. We are situated 5 mins walk from Kendal Railway Station and 15 mins walk from the centre of town where there is a wide selection of restaurants and pubs to chose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ash Meadows Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ash Meadows Guest House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing