We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need on a wet November day!”
Review of The Joshua Tree

The Joshua Tree
Ranked #16 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Joshua Tree is a delightful fully licensed Cafe & Bistro in one of Kendal's oldest buildings. Coffee Shop by day & our 'Famous' Starter & Pudding Club held monthly in the evening Tucked away in one of Kendal's historic yards - a lovely sunny courtyard to catch those summer rays & inside a cosy open log fire for those cold chilly days. All our food is freshly prepared and locally sourced. We are available for private parties (minimum 12 people) and can design a menu to suit any occasion from finger buffets to sumptuous 3 course dinners
Derby, England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Just what you need on a wet November day!”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We saw this cafe through an opening in the main street and were encouraged in by a local. We found an open fire, warm welcome, excellent breakfast, and an apple and raspberry crumble that were superb.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franc_o_fyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    42
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back again - evening meal this time”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We've just returned from another stay in the Lakes. We visited the Joshua Tree again but this time for an evening meal (only Fridays and Saturdays for an evening meal). It was excellent - food, service and a very reasonable price. It felt like a bit of a different place compared to the day time; even better. Perhaps because it was dark and less busy.

I had the beef stroganoff which was mouthwatering. My daughter (10) had a salad - which she enjoyed (she doesn't have salads normally). My wife's chicken kiev was the best she has had. The sweets - chocolate brownie AND sticky toffee on the same plate? A really good idea that has to be tried! It is this good here.

We will certainly visit for our next stay.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank swebb11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great last minute dinner”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Found this restaurant on tripadvisor and made a reservation on the same day. Had a great meal, fantastic dinner menu with only a few dishes but I wanted to try them all!! Lovely relaxed atmosphere! Thank you so much will definitely be back again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kym1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Needs more personality”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Found the staff to be a little negative and the food a little bland. Went on a nice summers day, the sun was shining only wish the place was too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank steve s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were a party celebrating a birthday.

I have been during the day and had excellent food but never thought of going here for dinner.
It was superb.
The food is excellent, beautifully cooked and presented by the chef owner James.
The staff were charming and efficient - Zoe was a delight.
The whole restaurant felt it was full of people really enjoying the food and service.
The wine list was very fairly priced as was the food.
We all had a brilliant evening and would all highly recommend.
We will definately return.
Thank you for making the evening so special

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MancsJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Joshua Tree also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to The Joshua Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing