We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No quantity but quality!”
Review of Castle Dairy

Castle Dairy
Ranked #10 of 150 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $12 - $98
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Castle Dairy Restaurant and Art Gallery offers a unique dining experience in Kendal’s oldest inhabited building. Staffed by Kendal College apprentices and watched over by chef Chris O’Callaghan, the restaurant provides exceptional food, surrounded by local art work, in a truly unusual setting.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“No quantity but quality!”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

The place is just amazing. We were sitting in a room with a Roman road as the floor.
Food was very very good. Not to much quantity, so If you want to fill your stomach go to another placed.
The pork belly was very yummy and the fish was of quality. Also they gave us 2 canapés for free meanwhile we were waiting for the food and also 2 small toffees and chocolates after the dinner. Both of them very well presented.
Is not a place for going every day but if you want to surprise to somebody is perfect.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    44
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Wow. Talk about quality. This must be the best restaurant in Kendal. Delicious food, very good service and great old, old building (a few hundred years). Order before 7.00pm for virtually half price. Eat here, trust me you won't be disappointed. Run by the catering students from the college.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
251 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“21st Century Food and Service on a Roman Road!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Castle Dairy is the oldest continuously used building in Kendal and sits on a part of the Roman Road through the town. It forms the floor of one of the rooms.
My wife and I went today to celebrate our wedding anniversary. A Taster Menu during the middle of the day was up to the best standards of Michelin restaurants. Each course was a delight for both sight and senses and the service was personal and attentive without being fussy.
The waitress and Chef even had the time and thought to write "Happy Anniversary" on the final dish - a delightful surprise.
An excellent wine menu added to our pleasure. We are fortunate to be able to walk to the restaurant so no worries about drink and driving. Even though we were on our own in the restaurant (middle of the day on a Tuesday) we did not feel isolated as the surroundings were interesting as well as the food being great. Allow time though - we were there for nearly 3 hours.
We shall return to try one of their more standard offerings too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cambridgeblue65to67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We had a very mixed experience at Castle Dairy, with some food being excellent and some poor, and the service friendly and willing but rather hit and miss. We wondered if front of house was understaffed but couldn't tell how busy the resaurant was as we were seated in the area just inside the door, which only has 3 tables. After we were seated, we were ignored for at least 10 minutes. No menus, no offer of drinks. Eventually we had to flag down a passing waitress to get drinks and menus. We ordered 2 bottles of wine at the same time as we ordered food; neither bottle arrived. Even when the starters arrived, the staff didn't notice we were drink-less and we had to ask for our wine again.

We thought the amuse bouches were a miss. The starters were OK and we all agreed our mains were wonderful. Desserts were a different story though. They may be trainee chefs but their pastry skills are sadly lacking - two of us had mille feuilles and agreed the pastry was inedible and some of the worst we'd come across. So the meal had some high points and some flops. We left feeling that neither the food nor the service is consistent enough to merit the prices they charge.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSwaby, Public Relations Manager at Castle Dairy, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
It is always really disappointing to hear that our customers haven't enjoyed their experience at the Castle Dairy.

We are always striving to produce the very best food and consistently high service and will take your feedback seriously in order to improve.

Thank you for your valuable comments. We hope that you will consider coming back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful experience, excellent food and service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Thank you for making my husbands birthday lunch (13/06/14) so special, all of us considered the food outstanding,with friendly service and wonderful surroundings.We look forward to our next visit (which we hope will be soon) Well done!keep up the good work.we would recommend this restaurant to anyone who appreciates excellent food presented with flair and imagination..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Dairy also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing