We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard”
Review of Castle Dairy

Castle Dairy
Ranked #11 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $11 - $96
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Castle Dairy Restaurant and Art Gallery offers a unique dining experience in Kendal’s oldest inhabited building. Staffed by Kendal College apprentices and watched over by chef Chris O’Callaghan, the restaurant provides exceptional food, surrounded by local art work, in a truly unusual setting.
East Lothian
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Trying hard”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We were the only customers on Friday of a Bank Holiday weekend. Front of house was very attentive as a result. Food was nice but overpriced. They need to do good value first to build up customers. Potential for it to be a really interesting place. Lots of character, but doomed without customers. Worth a try to support Kendall college

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank j7jpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    44
    9
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
“A perfect evening”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Went to the Castle Dairy for our 40th wedding aniversary celebrations on Saturday.
Everything about it was excellent! Food, service, surroundings, atmosphere and cost.
A perfect evening. Would recommend to anyone/everyone

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH382_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Exceptional. Lovely, really love it!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I was nervous that, visiting for a second time, the Castle Diary wouldn't live up to wonderful experience of the previous occasion but it really is exceptional.

The menu is exciting making the choice of what to have difficult, presentation is stunning and the food delicious.

The staff are delightful - friendly and attentive without being obtrusive.

Thank you.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripavisored
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A little gem of a place!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband and I went here because of the reviews on here. We weren't disappointed. The restaurant is out of this world and I love the exhibition area upstairs as well as the charm of the old kitchen range with a open fire on it. I even put a log on it, cheeky me. The staff were friendly and attentive, and the food was amazing. The Sauvingon Blanc was the best I ever tasted so we had another bottle. There are too many little touches to mention that make this restaurant an amazing place to visit. They really work hard to be outstanding in all areas. This was our first trip to Kendal and we will be returning to dine again here. Well recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CatherineD612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic menu and well worth a visit”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was fine dinning at its best,fantastic friendly service and the presentation of the food was just amazing,nice selection of fine wines and the char grilled 20oz cotê da boeuf served with Cipolini onions,green beans,trompetts,spinach,truffle mash and a red wine jus was fantastic
5 *****

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Gingerball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Dairy also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing