We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A worth while visit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Dairy

Castle Dairy
Ranked #18 of 146 Restaurants in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $26 - $96
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Castle Dairy Restaurant and Art Gallery offers a unique dining experience in Kendal’s oldest inhabited building. Staffed by Kendal College apprentices and watched over by chef Chris O’Callaghan, the restaurant provides exceptional food, surrounded by local art work, in a truly unusual setting.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A worth while visit...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2012

A 'Beautiful' building brought back to its once great self, hope Kendal College is up for the challenge, but what I have seen so far has been great with a big smile from all the staff from the start, I have never felt so welcome. A wonderful wine and dine experience is back in Kendal and a worth while visit, will be back.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WTManagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    44
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate in Kendal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2012

One of the oldest building in Kendal recently renovated. It is run by Kendal College & some of their catering students are being trained there.
They serve excellent hot chocolate and delicious cakes mid morning, and also serve lunches daily and dinners on certain nights, but I'm not sure which nights.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Underbarrovians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyable experience, great food, fascinating place.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

A really fantastic meal in an atmospheric and fascinating building. Staff were great, friendly and very professional. We enjoyed a personal service, delicious meal and a brilliant evening.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great fixed price meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

Cold night in Kendal but warm welcome at Castle Dairy, drinks and canapes by log fire then excellent three course meal followed by petit fours, all for £25-a steal,will be back when menu changes in Feb.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Spike2010_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The BEST place to relax and eat in Kendal 10 out of 10”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I came on a day trip to Kendal with me and my family i we heard about this wonderful and beautiful building so we went along where we first greeted and made feel welcome by the restaurant manager who offered use a wonderful seat by the fire and we had the most delightful cup of coffee and amazing soup we were surrounded by lovely antic furniture later on we got a wonderful guided tour and told about the history of the building and it was all so amazing we defiantly recommend and will return 10 out of 10

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank james w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Dairy also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Castle Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing