We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not such a great night out!”
Review of Acebo Lounge - CLOSED

Acebo Lounge
Price range: $5 - $54
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Acebo bar and tapas lounge. We serve simple, yet beautifully cooked Spanish cuisine using natural, local ingredients. Ideal place for an evening out with the ladies or intimate dining for couples. Kids menu also available, so you can enjoy that Mediterranean-style family dining experience. Excellent range of easy drinking Spanish wines and continental beers, private functions catered for. Open Wed to Fri from 5:30 PM and Sat from midday. Late bar Fri and Sat.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not such a great night out!”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Four friends out for a good night decided to try a recommended restaurant in the area. It certainly was a good atmosphere and very friendly staff but the nasty taste of being ripped off lasted well past walking out the door!

There is no denying the food was tasty but the small quantities of each of our 5 tapas with extra olives and bread and oil left us wondering what all the fuss was about, still not to worry maybe our 'buy one get one free' paella would fill us up. On its arrival the Paella was soon dispatched and we sat back and orderer more drinks whilst waiting for the second one to arrive. Needless to say it never came and upon questioning the waiter we were informed that we had already had the second one, it was in with the one we had just had!!!! Maybe its me but a not quite full 10 inch paella pan is enough for one possibly two, and at a price in excess of £10 per person I would expect it to be filled to a peak if your having to pay £20+.

With a sigh of resignation we asked for the bill and a final drink, when they arrived my glass was filled with crushed ice and a short measure of Margarita. So it went back and we got the bill. Fortunately not all in the party had been drinking and a discrepancy, which amounted to the cost of an extra bottle of wine, was discovered and brought to the attention of the waiter who admitted he had thought there was an overcharge on the bill!!!

We paid the amended bill in cash (their card machine had been playing up!!) and left.

By the way Juby5, there was still no loo paper in the ladies toilets!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roguerunner54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Acebo Lounge, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hi. I am quite upset with the comments you have left on trip advisor. I was of the understanding that on the night a gentleman in your party approached me regarding the margarita and I understood that it was not right and removed it from the bill (forgot to mention this in the review) and I explained about the paella that it is per person and there is adequate for two people to dine on this dish NOT FOUR! you seemed more than happy with this and assured me that it was NOT a complaint and told me the food was good and you were happy with it all (forgot to mention this in the review) provided you 4 free amaretto's for your inconvenience (forgot to mention this in the review) The toilets were cleaned and all stocks replenished that morning and as explained to other guests you just need to push the roll holder to one side to release a new roll. I am lost for words when you say you feel ripped off!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    5
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tapas with a twist.”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Friendly and relaxed with some settees around low tables and normal tables and chairs. We shared bread and ten tapas between three. Every dish was good and some were just a little quirky (in a good way) so not just the obvious tapas fare. Loved the lamb, the beetroot, ..... everything really.

Try the staff cocktail Mango Mohito - very refreshing on a hot evening.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveMOnHols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, great wine, good value”
Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

We had this place recommended to us and a very good recommendation! The food is very good value with 10 tapas dishes for £35 which filled the two of us with side orders of olives, breads, manchego cheese and cerrano ham.

The food is excellent, well prepared and very tasty. Would recommend the fillet steak, the mediterranean vegetables and the seabass with chick peas. The sticky toffee pudding was excellent, however the chocolate mousse was sour and inedible.

The wine was excellent. A standard bottle of Rioja at £15.

The only thing lacking was service. The chef took our order and there was one waitress/barmaid. We were the first in the restaurant and once it started to fill the lack of staff showed.

A great atmosphere with relaxing jazzy tunes in the background, unfortunately ruined by a hen party arriving, would recommend that the place doesn't accept such bookings, but they do have a business to run I suppose.

Overall a great meal. Would thoroughly recommend anyone to go and sample fantastic Spanish cooking in the heart of Kendal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDJsOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kendal, uk
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“cracking little place !”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Dined here just last night, 6 of us for a friends birthday, and wow, what a little gem ! The food was absolutely brill, we only had 10 tapas between 6 of us ( thinking we would order more ) and that was enough, I particularily liked the sweet potato cakes, lush, and the steak, gorgeous ! I had popped in earlier after work, with a cake and candle to ask if they could bring it out for my friend after the meal, absolutely no problem, the staff are great, really attentive and friendly. If I was to grumble about anything it would be the toilets, no loo rolls in the ladies at only 8 o'clock is not quite on, but a quick word to the staff had this sorted, also, the loos are in serious need of an overhaul, which i am assured is going to happen soon.
so overall a great dining experiance and will defoo be back !

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank juby5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“wow”
Reviewed April 25, 2012

its such a pleasant change to eat in a relaxed atmosphere..food and servie is excellent and really excellent value for money too

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fishermanrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acebo Lounge also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing