We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very popular”
Review of Emmas Yard 46

Emmas Yard 46
Ranked #4 of 7 Coffee & Tea in Kendal
Restaurant details
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very popular”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

A very popular place to go. I go lunch times with friends & I have always enjoyed the food & atmosphere. Worth going to if you are in kendal.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Popsypops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Could have sat there all day.”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We had a lovely Paninni and Salad each and two glasses of Wine
sat by a lovely coal fire and outside it was freezing we really enjoyed it and all for £12.36 well worth a visit

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Disappointed17358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“No gluten free options”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

went with a friend who has coeliac's and there was nothing she could have on a warm day besides baked potato - no cake options at all and even the soup was not certian. Staff were apologetic - but normally there is something in this day and age!!
We ended up with a quick coffee (which was ok) and went somewhere else.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anneandnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“A great cafe”
Reviewed March 15, 2012

A warm fire normally awaits and the staff are very attentive. Its the place we usually go for lunch when time allows.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank StephenCKendal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yet another surprise hidden away in Kendal”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

I was actually heading for the tailor's shop which is in front of Emma's, but being a Thursday they were closed, the weather was mizzling and I had no umbrella, and it was lunch time. Seeing the sign to Emmas if followed the small alley and was greeted by the warm smell of new baked cakes and scones. Although full downstairs, there was plenty of room upstairs.

This is a very old building with a long history, and the tables each have a brief description of what it has been usef for over the years. It has been very well restored though with lovely light wood and traditional but contemporary pieces of furniture including a splendid long side board. It gradually filled up with other diners - mainly business folk and locals who knew its location. I chose one of the specials of the day - a fabulous cheese and onion quiche - home made with a super crunchy top. It was deep filled and quite delicious. It came with a very large mixed salad, and thankfully no beetroot. I just hate a plate of food stained red with bootroot juice.

A had a good cafetiere of coffee and the thoughtful addition of a jug of hot water. The service was warm and pleasant and overall it was a very good place to eat. Being off the main thoroughfare it was not noisy either. Whilst I was far too full after the quiche to try one of the many puddings or cakes, I shall certainly start to use it as a regular stopping off place - next time for the coffee cake and coffee.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Cumpston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emmas Yard 46 also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Emmas Yard 46? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing