We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper pub excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Inn - CLOSED

Castle Inn
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Proper pub excellent food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Go regularly and food is excellent and very good value for money. Service and food always excellent as is the ale.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happyhol123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cumbria
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Proper pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Called in here having been in the day before for drinks. the selection of real ales and the fact that its not on the tourist trail and used lots by locals adds to the appeal. ordered beef in guinness with chips. got loads, my wife chose jacket potato with tuna. both meals arrived swiftly and very hot. washed down with pride of pendle ale. only complain was the frozen chips. a pet hate of mine. good value for money meal in a proper pub. we will be back next time when we are motorhoming in kendal, now we have found this pub.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tomturbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good food at good prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Enjoyed a quiet lunch from a good menu, by pub standards, a good selection of local ales and all at moderate prices compared to some other local pubs.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilburight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eating out in Kendal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were impressed with the good service and value for money. We have no special dietry needs - other than good wholesome food

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 920TheCount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We eat here sometimes twice a month, The landlady & Landlord do most of the cooking with Jan working the bar. Never ever had a bad meal yet and 2 for £10 is a steal, would really recommend going here with no questions asked

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Inn also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing