We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true "East European" dire service experience!”
Review of Vats Bar

Vats Bar
Ranked #59 of 148 Restaurants in Kendal
Price range: $6 - $13
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: There's a great choice of eating and drinking at the Brewery - something for every taste. The Brewery has somewhere to eat all day, every day of the week. In the Day: The Warehouse: a relaxed lounge, serving a range of drinks from Farrer's specialty teas to bottles of local Hawkshead ale. It also serves the best latte in town. Eat locally made cakes, homemade scones and soups. In the Evening: The Vats Bar & Grainstore: Our extraordinary bar and restaurant serve a range of superb beers, wines and spirits and serve the famous Brewery Pizzas and our fabulous 'Brewery Tapas'. The Vats and Grainstore are bustling, off-beat, friendly venues and should be part of any night out in the 'Auld Grey Town'.
Algodonales, Spain
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A true "East European" dire service experience!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Unhelpful unfriendly,continually "texting" behind the bar staff,warm beer served from pipeline that'd been in there for 18 hours,unkempt,not very clean surroundings.Opened 10 minutes later than advertised and meant we then couldn't eat prior to the cinema advertised start (that too was 20 minutes late in starting!).You have been warned!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank yammidave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    39
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beer in a Barrel”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a lively place, that everyone seems to flock to in Kendal. we were lucky to get a table in one on of the large old barrels! really! which was novel and comfortably private, for such a busy place. It was a great place to enjoy a drink after a wonderful meal across the road at the jintana thai.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank vickypips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
145 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stopped here for a late bite to eat. It very much reminds me of the student union bar when I was at university. The service was about that standard - where the bar staff were more interested with flirting with each other than interacting with customers. The atmosphere was also very weird - like a university bar.

However, the worst bit was the food. I had a weird duck and bacon salad. Now, until this meal, I thought bacon could only improve a dish. Well, this dish proved that theory wrong. They are both fatty meats with strong flavours that do not complement each other.

I find this is really sad because it's obviously a community undertaking. I like the concept behind it, and hope that they have a relook at how it is executed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank HAGustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What happened to Customer Service?”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Drove through to Kendal to spend time with family who were camping near by. Vats had been recommended by friends and we thought we would give it a go. The first thing I noticed was that the childrens menu was not really suitable for children under 5, and we had a toddler with us. That being said, he happily ate my pizza and some chips.
The pizza was nice, but I hardly think that it was worth the price.

When it came to ordering dessert (which took a lot longer than expected to make), there was obviously some kind of mix up at the till, as what we had ordered did not arrive! First thing that came was 2 of the 2 cheese platters, when we only ordered one, then 1 of the summer fruits/chocolate plate arrived, we ordered 3. When we pointed the mistake out to the waitress that there had been a mix up, she was a lot less that helpful. My Uncle had ordered a 2 cheese platter, not 2 cheese platterS, but all the could tell us was 'Well we don't call it that', and as we pointed out - it's called a 2 cheese platter on the menu, and it probably states the same on the till. Obviously the next problem of only 1 of the 3 summer fruit/chocolate plates had been made and brought to us, however, the waitress - who quite clearly did not receive any training in customer service, turned her back on us and walked away.

All it would have taken was 'Sorry about the mix up, I'll rectify the problem straight away', but instead she attempted to argue her way out of it, and then clearly couldn't be bothered to do her job & so walked away from us. Luckily, the two children's desserts arrived with no problem.

Food was lovely overall, but maybe teach the staff some basic skills in how to treat paying customers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deborah B, Manager at Vats Bar, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We were terribly sorry to hear of that you were so disappointed by your experience at the Brewery.

We work hard to make sure that our customers have a good time here, so we take it very seriously when we fall short of our own expectations. We do have a process for reviewing all complaints so that we can improve our service in the future, your issue will be followed up.

I hope this experience doesn't put you off coming back to the Brewery, we would be delighted to see you back here again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A revelation!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Always been quirky and unique ambiance but now the food matches up with superb quality fusion Tapas. The pulled duck with bacon and quinoa / pomegranate salad with a side order of spicy wedges was superb. The service can sometimes be a little hit and miss but was quick and friendly particularly as served outside in the hidden gardens. Sensational!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bababiffo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vats Bar also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Vats Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing