We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Wainwright House

Wainwright House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wainwright House
Ranked #23 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
Driffield
1 review
“Highly Recommended”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Good clean B & B accommodation nothing too much trouble. Interesting connection with Alfred Wainwright. David and Shirley are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Excellent cooked breakfasts. Ideal for anyone wishing to stay in Wainwright country. Nice and quiet and plenty of parking space. Very good value.
We will be back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jhwresdell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Briliant! .... It cost about £40 and I stayed in a period bedroom and it included an absolutely delicious fried breakfast with the best bacon and sausages ever. David and Shirley were and helpful and very kind and hospitable. i would definitely recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wainwright House is a lovely building steeped in Wainwright historical associations with spacious gardens and trees all around. It is peaceful and yet within walking distance of Kendal town centre, about 10 minutes away. You can walk from the house up into the hills behind. The owners are just lovely, so friendly and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.

It has become our favourite place to stay in the Lake District. We will certainly be returning and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We have stayed in different rooms and were happy in all of them. Upstairs might be a problem for tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 963christina963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A small yet clean B&B located just 10 minutes walk outside of town. The service were friendly and helpful, the owners sure has sense of humour :))). I really enjoyed my stay in Wainwright and would love to come back next year :).

There is a pathway just around the gate entrance, which lead to the top of the hills behind the hotel. Unfortunately I only found out in the last 20 mins, but I believe it's would worth a trip :). The public transportation is not really good, so ideally you need a car; but otherwise you can just walk around as the town is not that big anyway :).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LocNguyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kendal
1,003 reviews
1.0 mi away
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 14 in Kendal
664 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balcony House Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Sonata Guest House
Sonata Guest House
#3 of 42 in Kendal
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wainwright House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wainwright House

Property: Wainwright House
Address: Wainwright House Fowl Ing Lane, Kendal LA9 6PH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Wainwright House Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing