We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a tranquil setting”
Review of West Barn B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kendal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
West Barn B&B
Ranked #26 of 42 Kendal B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Such a tranquil setting”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at West Barn on a stopover to Scotland. We received a warm welcome from Sue, the owner. Spotlessly clean room and fantastic organic breakfast. Scrummy homemade cakes on the tea tray. The jams were heavenly and my husband felt the black pudding was one of the tastiest he has ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestSussexFleck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
57
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Recently stayed here as a base for exploring the area and what an excellent and friendly B&B.
Accommodation very clean and comfortable, excellent breakfasts and an extremely welcoming hostess.
Would not hesitate to recommend and would definitely stay again if visiting the area.
For those wishing for a quiet and secluded location cannot praise highly enough.

Richard - Derbyshire

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 998RichardB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Stayed here for one night and it was fabulous. Sue - the owner - is lovely, welcoming and a great cook. Little touches let you know you are somewhere special. Excellent quality accommodation, home baking on arrival, crip white bed linen of highest quality, fluffy towels and quality toiletries. Organic, local produce for breakfast with a wide choice to order in advance was served in a very homely dining room off the kitchen, whilst watching the birds at their feeders through the window. This was a great find. Deserves its 4 stars and more. Thoroughly recommend this place. Will definitely visit again if in the area.

Room Tip: Close enough to Kendall with interesting walks nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j7jpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at West Barn for two nights on our way up to Scotland and back. It is located only 10 minutes from the M6. We were very impressed, the room was very clean and well equipped, we had dinner both nights as well as breakfast and the food was really first class. Organic and local but beautifully cooked and presented. Overall one of the best we have stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerandjulia88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

One of the cleanest, best equipped and friendly B&B's we have ever stayed in. Sue made us welcome, and the room was extremely comfortable, with every possible traveller need catered for. Sue even made reservations for us at the local pub for dinner (also highly recommend). Breakfast was so delicious I'd go back just for that (the local produce is super-tasty). Loved the fact that just about everything was local and organic. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We've had a wonderful and very relaxing Easter weekend at the west-barn. After a couple of days walking around the Lake District there is nothing better than a warm bath and a superb comfy bed with great views.
Sue is just lovely and very helpful giving information about the area, and I'm not patronising if I say her breakfast are the best I ever have in my life!! Fresh, tasty, anything you need to enjoy a long day outdoors.
Thank you for let us feed the chickens, we'll definitely recommend you to everybody!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Estefania G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 3, 2013

What a fantastic find! Sue gave us a warm welcome, including home made cake! The room was clean and comfortable and everything is so beautifully decorated. West Barn is just a short way off the M6, so very easy to get to, but the property itself is tucked away in beautiful, peaceful hills. Not a hint of traffic noise!! The personal touches make you feel so special. Sue is a great hostess: amazing food, great recommendations of where to go and really interesting conversation. We felt thoroughly spoilt after our night there and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kendal hotels
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,033 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
1.4 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 13 in Kendal
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#11 of 13 in Kendal
296 reviews
4.4 mi away
Lyth Valley Country Inn
Lyth Valley Country Inn
#1 of 13 in Kendal
92 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Punch Bowl
The Punch Bowl
#19 of 42 in Kendal
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to West Barn B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about West Barn B&B

Property: West Barn B&B
Address: Barrows Green, Kendal LA8 0AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Kendal
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
West Barn is a luxury, environmentally friendly Bed & Breakfast near Kendal in the Lake District. Using quality locally sourced food/organic food and organic products situated in a peaceful, rural, wildlife haven. Nestled at the end of a quiet country lane in a hamlet of 3 properties, surrounded by fields, woodland and wonderful scenery and yet only 3 miles from the vibrant town centre of Kendal. Friendly but discreet, professional service, offering imaginative home cooked dinners and breakfasts with homemade jams and preserves and a level of service normally associated with a 4* hotel.: West Barn is truly a special place to stay. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
West Barn B&B Kendal, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing