We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

Lakeland Maze Farm Park
Ranked #5 of 42 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: A fun day out for all the family with plenty to do rain or shine. Maize Mazes open july-september and Farm Park open weekends easter- end of September. Soft play, Go Karts, Ferrets, Farm Quiz, Tractor Rides, Trampolines, Bouncy Slide, Farm Animal barn, Groom the pony, and a small animal pet barn, Bale Maze, Indoor Lego, Outdoor Play Area, Tractor Barn, Farm Quiz, and Seasonal activities as well. We also provide kids parties.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Poor value, very expensive for what it is. Facilities not clean and looked dated. Only a handful of animals to be seen, the main attraction was a maze where the maize was only up to my knee! Not really as described/ illustrated in the leaflets, very disappointing

1  Thank Bruce323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W, Owner at Lakeland Maze Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Many thanks for your comments. We are priced in comparrison with other attractions in the Lake District and other maize mazes in the UK. The maize crop is never above head height when we open but grows a foot a week in warm weather, When you are in the crop today the 12th it is waist high and as tall as a 7 year old. At the edge of the field the crop doesn't look as tall as we are limited with how we can treat the edge of the field. The maize mazes are still growing all the time and we expect them to be 6ft by the end of July. It is a seasonal crop.

I would like to point out to anyone reading this that the maize mazes were not open on the day of your visit and so feel it is perhaps unfair to comment on them. We have won maize maze of the year twice in 2011 and 2013. This competition is based on mystery shoppers findings and cleanliness of the facilities is recorded consistently as being more than satisfactory in many of our reports.

I have not been on the shop floor much this week due to a bereavement and am interested and disappointed in hearing your comments about uncleanliness and I will feed these back to the staff. I can assure you that we do keep strict cleaning schedules and the staff work hard to keep the farm clean.

Thanks again for your comments
Jane Wadsworth
Lakeland Maze Farm Park
07723 503385

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 174 of 186 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant activity farm to visit, but similar farms are cheaper and better equipped; some of the play equipment here was tired, and needed replacing. Animals,in the pet barn, can only be petted at certain times, unlike other farms, where animals can be petted all the time. Spend a bit of money on your attraction please, Lakeland maize farm!

Thank johnbuchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W, Owner at Lakeland Maze Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Hi

Thanks for your comments, Our prices are set to be competetive with other attractions in the lake district where we are based.

New play equipment for easter this year has included new ride on toys for toddlers, new football game indoors, and the lego in the indoor play room was added right at the end of last season..

Controlled animal petting is designed to put less stress on the animals, as it is early season. When the mazes are on petting is open all afternoon with a member of staff able to do handling with visitors from lunch time. We also have signs up on the pet barn door saying if you have missed the allocated times, that a supervisor can organise a petting session for you at reception, I will see what we can do to improve this information for visitors.

Since opening several new attractions have been added each winter, this season it has been the vintage tractor barn, and straw bale maze.

Thanks again for your comments
Jane Wadsworth
Lakeland Maze Farm Park
07723 503385

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were able to get a family ticket from deal monster for £12! Amazing value at normal £24 too! So much to do! Indoor soft play, climbing wall, warm building blocks room, trampoline, go karts and bouncy castle slide all under shelter, fab hay bale maze too! Meet the pets, ponies and ferrits! Family tractor ride around farm included in price too! Lots of ride ons outside, along with a lovely park, swing, slide sea saw, football! We stayed 3.5hrs and the big maize maze not even there yet! Lovely ice creams and hot drinks had in the cafe area too! Excellent and will be returning very soon!

1  Thank Kirsty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We visited at the weekend and thought this was a great value day out. A family of 4 get soft play, huge maize maze (seasonal), outdoor play area, tractor rides, farm, go kart track and more for £24 family ticket(2+2). They have a family pizza meal deal for £9.99 too. Loads to do, kept twin four year olds occupied for four hours easily and we could have stayed longer...worth a go!

2  Thank TheWilkiesontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W, Owner at Lakeland Maze Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your review.

Please come back again and see what we've been up to to try and improve the place more so more fun can be had...

Kind Regards
Jane Wadsworth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited here on a very wet day unfortunately. Therefore we never got to experience the full maze as we went round it very quickly. There is a lovely cafe inside with ball pool for kids. Lots of really good outdoor things including trampolines, swings, ride on toys and much more but of course the weather wasnt good enough for this.

Recommend going on a dry day

Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jane W, Owner at Lakeland Maze Farm Park, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hi

Thanks for the review,.

Just wanted to point out for anyone reading this reponse, that we don't have a ball pool but do have a soft play area.

Also we have a trampoline under cover and a bouncy slide and a pet barn all undercover. Will add it to our to do list on a wet day to bring the pedal toys in and didi cars.

We have also just purchased some indoor lego which will be going in the indoor play room.

Hope the weather was better for the rest of your trip...

Kind regards
Jane Wadsworth
07723 503385

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lakeland Maze Farm Park also viewed

Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Lakeland Maze Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing