We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth it for the gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Levens Hall

Levens Hall
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Levens Hall is an Elizabethan historic house and garden, located at the entrance to the Lake District in the county of Cumbria.
Lancaster
Level Contributor
54 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worth it for the gardens”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

It's a typical stately home inside although there are a couple of nice touches for the kids. The gardens however are something else you could explore for hours and for kids it's amazing to be able to run round. It's a little pricey both for entrance fee and in the cafe but would definitely go back

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mjk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    95
    8
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gardens like something out of Alice in Wonderland, wonderful for kids to play and hide in!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We live near Levens Hall and although I've been several times, I've never been in the house. The gardens are amazing, beautifully kept and the topiary is fantastic. There are great play areas for kids including a playground with slides and willow dens, plus a willow maze. There are also giant yew hedges, green tunnels and mini traction engine rides and Bertha, a massive showman's engine which is often fired up and "in steam", brilliant for little boys! The cafe is nice but often quite busy. My only gripe with Levens Hall is the cost, £7 just for the gardens which is a bit steep, although I appreciate that the upkeep must be expensive. For a cheaper alternative, you can explore part of the estate (Levens Park) by following the public footpath from a stile by the bridge opposite the entrance to Levens Hall. There are beautiful views and places to paddle in the river and lots of room for kids to run around.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Planetoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbagot12, Owner at Levens Hall, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Levens Hall. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your experience although I was sad to read that you found it a little expensive. The recession has proved that we need to provide honest value to our visitors and therefore this year we decided that children can visit both the house and gardens for free.

The topiary garden is one of the oldest and most famous gardens of its type in the world and needs five experienced full time gardeners and a number of volunteers to keep it going. The topiary itself takes six months to clip and starts as soon as we close in October. It is not a cheap exercise but we realise that we have an obligation to preserve our heritage and we set our standards as high as possible as a result.

I hope that we see you again soon and that you continue to use the park although be careful if you you go in the river!!

Kind regards

Richard Bagot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Elizabethan house and gardens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

The topiary at Levens Gardens is amazing.
The house is worth a look as it is full of Elizabethan carvings and fab rooms settings.It is well organised with knowledgeable attendants around the house.
Good reasonably price tea rooms.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hazelmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful gardens, maintained with care and imagination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of my favourite historic gardens but I hadn't been for nearly ten years. The topiary gardens are instantly recognisable and justifiably world famous, and are still beautifully maintained, but I was delighted to see the continued development of the gardens with a new willow maze, a jubilee fountain garden, and several other development and rejuvenation projects which add further levels of interest to a fascinating old garden.

The Bellingham Buttery cafe sells simple but wholesome local food at decent prices, and the shop has interesting products, a fair number of them also locally sourced, at a range of prices.

Overall, we had a very pleasant visit and are looking forward to visiting again later in the season when the seasonal planting is more advanced.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MargiMagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rbagot12, Owner at Levens Hall, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of Levens Hall. It was very kind of you to go to the trouble of posting such a positive comment on Trip advisor about your experience. We worked very hard during the winter restoring and improving many parts of the house and gardens and this has been reflected in the feedback that we have received from our visitors. We hope that we see you again soon and hopefully we will see you again later in the season (hopefully when the sun makes a much needed appearance!!)

Kind regards

Richard Bagot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Magnificent topiary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you like topiary you'll probably be blown away by the gardens at Levens Hall. They're absolutely spectacular. Joe, the apprentice gardener gave a guided tour of the gardens which we thoroughly enjoyed. We visited in May and the yearly pruning had only recently been completed so everything looked just perfect. Would definitely recommend to anyone who likes beautiful gardens.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank candiloveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Levens Hall also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Levens Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing