We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent exhibition” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbot Hall Art Gallery

Abbot Hall Art Gallery
Ranked #9 of 37 things to do in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Abbot Hall was designed as a opulent house by architect John Carr of York in 1759 for Colonel George Wilson of Dallam Tower. Recognised as Kendal's finest building, it was lived in by a succession of different families over the next century. It was purchased by the Kendal Corporation in 1896 for £3,750. Together with the Castle and the Parish Church, Abbot Hall was the only Grade I listed building in Kendal. By the 1950s it was almost derelict and threatened with demolition until a group of local people formed a charitable trust and raised money to save it. It opened as a public art gallery in 1962. Today Kendal’s finest historic house is an award winning art gallery. Our exhibitions showcase a variety of works by a wealth of international artists. The Georgian period rooms allow you to glimpse what life was like in another time and provide views of the River Kent and Kendal Castle.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“An excellent exhibition”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had always meant to come here but this was my first visit. Loved the Lynn Chadwick show and the permanent collection is home to several hidden gems. Worth a visit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank missfitz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    36
    21
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“By The River Side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Interesting first visit .The Gallery stands near the river Kent and next to the Church. It houses a nice collection of George Romney paintings and an unusual triptych painting commissioned by Lady Ann Clifford.There are some nice watercolours including a J M W Turner.
There is a nice coffee House for a snack and rest.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
107 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Beautiful gallery”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The gallery is housed in a beautiful building on the banks of the river at Kendal. It is a great size, enough to see without becoming overwhelmed. We liked the Great Picture, and finding out more about Lady Anne Clifford, and were impressed by the paintings by Kurt Schwitters. There seems to be something for everyone in this delightful art gallery

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TopTapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morlandmonk
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Small but with a fair bit of interesting stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Not as big as I'd expected but with some very interesting local pieces, well worth a visit. The cafe is quirky but quiet good too, even had some gluten free cake!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank morlandmonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
158 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Regular visitors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2012

On our way up to Scotland we make a pont of visiting this great gallery. Parking is great for our motorhome. I always enjoy the exhibitions here as they are of such a consistently high standard. You can see everything from JohnRuskin to Lucien Freud for example, but much more from all over. Generally we are talking of 20th century, but in the downstairs there is the permanent collection which is much older. In the main galleries there is a shop with a good selection of medium priced art books, also souvenirs and postcards etc. There is a tearoom attached to the building with clean toilets. The gallery is situated beside the river, with gardens , and only a short walk from the town centre.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank COSTGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abbot Hall Art Gallery also viewed

 
Kendal, Lake District
Kendal, Lake District
 

Been to Abbot Hall Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing