We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted by the upgraded room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were upgraded to an Executive Suite on our arrival, which having driven from London was a very welcome and pleasant surprise having booked several weeks before traveling. Staff were very efficient and friendly. Enjoying the sunshine we had pre dinner drinks on the bank outside the hotels "pub" see photo of view, and then into dinner.
The food was of a good standard, well presented and staff attentive and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay which started our travels to Scotland in a delightful and unexpected manner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_L2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Thank you for your review. Our Executive rooms are extremely popular and usually booked well in advance so you were certainly lucky to arrive on a day when we had one left!! We are ideally placed to break up a long journey whether heading north or south on the M6 being only a few miles from junction 36 or 37.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,877)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 1,877 reviews

Reviewed June 16, 2014

For a four star hotel Castle Green Hotel is somewhat lacking. The rooms are no better than a Premier Inn or Travel Lodge, but the price is double. The room we had was adequate, the bed comfortable, but no safe for personal belongings and no fridge/minibar. For £141 per night I would also have expected a bottle of drinking water to be provided in the room. Our first night we ate at the hotel's Bar Restaurant, The Alexander. The food here was pretty poor. I had a roast chicken breast with sauté potatoes and carrot & swede mash. It arrived in the bowl full to the rim with gravy, so much so that the mash had turned the dish into a soup and the sauté potatoes were just boiled new potatoes tossed in oil and then floated in the gravy. I have had better school dinners. Our second night we ate at the main restaurant and, thank goodness, the experience was altogether different. Excellent food, service and wine, which couldn't have been faulted. This is a hotel that offers fairly basic rooms at a premium price but with a good main restaurant. There are better and cheaper options available.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for your review
Our rates do fluctuate but we always aim to offer value for money based upon all the facilities we offer in addition to the bedrooms. This is of course a very subjective area and as such please accept our apologies that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.We do have competitive rates and promotions at different times of the year which can be found on the hotel website. It is unclear from your review whether you raised the matter of too much sauce with the chicken dish at the time so the Pub team could rectify the situation. This should of course not been necessary and I again apologise for this error.

I am pleased to report that we are planning to introduce safes into all 99 bedrooms as part of our ongoing commitment to improving the quality of our bedrooms. We are very lucky to have such a talented team of chefs who produce quality dishes for the Greenhouse Restaurant. This has been recognised recently during our annual inspection which has resulted in us retaining our AA 2 Rosette award.

Should you be willing to give us another chance in the future I would ask that you contact me directly at the hotel and I will personally take care of the arrangements.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have stayed at the castle green a couple of times. It is a very rural location so if u can't drive it's not easy to get to its a taxi ride from train station and if u wish to go into Central Kendal. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms I thought were average nothing spectacular if I'm being honest. The hotel restaurant was very expensive and the bar was also quite pricey. Also the rooms were kinda small and you could hear everything from upstairs till 3am! The spa wasn't great pool was small and steam room was also tiny. However overall the hygiene and cleanliness was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaney22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Many thanks for reviewing your stay.

Our Greenhouse Restaurant has been awarded two rosettes by the AA for the quality of food and service and with a daily changing three course menu costing just £28 we believe it offers excellent value for money for the standard.

It goes without saying that excellent hygiene and cleanliness are essential for any hotel, however it is great to read that this was your experience when you stayed with us back in January.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2014

I stayed for one night on 14th June. The room furnishings were budget hotel standard and with no air conditioning the room was stuffy and uncomfortable. The breakfast was average both in range and quality. On a positive note, the gardens were lovely and very well kept. I'd have expected to pay around £80 for the facilities on offer. The £144 I paid for B&B was way over the odds.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MandHtrips2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

We do aim to be competitive in the local market and our bedroom pricing is reflective of all the additional facilities we offer. Included in the room rate is use of our leisure facilities and spa, free car parking and wifi. We also have on site a two Rosette Restaurant and Pub with 12 acres of beautiful grounds to explore and a team of 120 staff to look after your needs.Like all hotels our rates do fluctuate based upon the season, with weekends being very popular. We do however have many special offers throughout the year which can be found via our hotel website.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a large establishment just outside Kendal, incorporating a function suite, gym, well tended gardens and its own "pub".

On the plus side, the hotel is run very efficiently by friendly and helpful staff; the room was spacious with a modern bathroom, all very clean; there is free wifi (albeit not the strongest) in the rooms; dinner in the main hotel was well thought out, cooked and presented, from a thoughtful and interesting menu; and breakfasts (with the exception noted below) are excellent, including extensive healthy cereal and fruit options.

The slight negatives were a somewhat odd parking system, with the car park some distance from the hotel entrance, requiring an uphill haul with luggage to the entrance (it does seem that it is possible to park closer but this is not signposted at all); despite efforts to produce something different from pub fare, the menu in the pub is rather disappointing, with the most overcooked of vegetables; surprisingly, the local real ale in the main hotel bar is better than the greater selection in the pub; the coffee at breakfast is frankly awful; and the good local cheeseboard at dinner comes with basic crackers rather than oatcakes or bread.

All in all, however, these minor gripes detracted little from a very enjoyable stay in a delightful part of the country.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicholas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We have recently replaced the internal hardware which provides the wifi in the hotel to make sure it covers all areas of the building. However our broadband can sometimes be a little on the slow side during periods of high demand. This will be rectified as soon as fibre broadband becomes available in this part of Kendal. Being set on the hillside we have car parking over three levels. We do encourage guests to drive upto the hotel entrance to unload luggage before finding the nearest available space to park. It is highly unusual to receive anything other than positive comments regarding food and beverage at Castle Green and as such I have passed these to Justin our Executive chef to investigate.

Please accept my apologies for the frustrations you have listed. We are committed to improving our offering at every opportunity and it is through honest constructive feedback that this is possible. I was pleased to read that overall you rated your stay as ‘Very Good’ and I hope that you will decide to use us a base from which to explore the Lakes in the future.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Great hotel on the outskirts of Kendal with amazing gardens.
Our room was beautiful with views of the country side.Spacious room with a modern bathroom all very clean!
The staff were all very helpful and polite especially the lady who greets you at breakfast!
Possible one of the best hotel breakfasts I've had with lots of choice and great service.
Would highly recommend this hotel and will be back in the near future.

Room Tip: Exec room was beautiful in the old part.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgieW2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2014

Many thanks for your very positive comments regarding our beautiful rooms and breakfast offering and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank IanAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
1 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,096 reviews
8.4 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
6.6 mi away
Damson Dene Hotel
Damson Dene Hotel
#1 of 1 in Crosthwaite
2,186 reviews
8.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $116 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing