We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I cant praise this hotel enough. We stayed for two nights and had a very relaxing, enjoyable and comfortable experiance.

The staff go the extra mile to help you expecially Abbie who helped us resolve a problem we had.

The food and the cleanliness of the hotel was second to none!

Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,828)
There are newer reviews for Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,828 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2014

Upon arrival, we were met by excellent front desk staff who went out of their way to provide us with a room to our liking. I had asked for a quiet room and we were assigned one that looked directly into the forest behind the hotel. We quickly requested a change to one with a decent view over the lovely gardens, and were offered an executive room for the same price as the original room £103.50. That room was superb in every aspect. It was large, bright, well equipped and had a marvellous view over the gardens and into the valley. The king-size bed was comfortable and the room was spotless. This was easily the best quality room we encountered in the UK on this trip.
In the lounge, just across from the front desk, the selection of available drinks and the food quality were both sadly lacking. The hotel bar also closed quite early. The breakfast buffet the following day was good....not exceptional, but good.
I would definitely stay there again, but only if an executive room was available.

Room Tip: There's a reason other reviewers are recommending the executive rooms... they truly are superb!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oom-papa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Our Executive rooms are very popular for the reasons you have mentioned! Please accept our apologies for your disappointment with the lounge and bar offering. The bar is open 24 hours a day to hotel residents with two of the nights team on duty from 11pm.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again in the future. We recommend booking directly with us at the hotel to ensure we allocate the most suitable room for your requirements.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a birthday party in nearby Grayrigg. Could not fault this hotel at all. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Rooms were lovely (would loved to have stayed in a room with view of the garden though!), beds very comfortable. Breakfast was fabulous and was nice to be offered another pot of tea! The price we paid was excellent value as many other places were charging a lot more for the 3 of us and in some cases breakfast was not included. I would highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay here again if we are up that way. The only niggle I have was another resident either above us or next door had the television on ALL night which kept disturbing me. I didn't do anything about it as I would have disturbed my husband and son so I put up with it. It won't put me off staying again though. Fabulous hotel!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
Thank ascaife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do try hard to be competitive in the local market with regards to our pricing and are confident that our range of facilities do take some beating!

Next time you stay I would recommend booking one of our family rooms for the three of you as these rooms are more spacious and have brilliant views of the gardens and beyond to the ruins of Kendal Castle.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I can not recommend this hotel highly enough. Wonderful, location very friendly & helpful staff. We had some very well cooked food sent up to our room and our bed was so comfy. The only downside was the hotel rooms could use a balcony for us smokers (or we could try harder to quit) We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cazzasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2014

Many thanks for your review.

We do have balcony rooms which have outside seating with fantastic views over the hotel grounds and towards the Lakeland fells. To upgrade to one of these costs just £30 per night and this can be arranged by contacting our Reception team on 01539 734000

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel in Kendal last week, and although we had never used the hotel before, we were absolutely delighted with it ! The food was of a very high standard, the staff, an absolute joy, and the comfort of the room was second to none. The hotel itself has a very relaxed and relaxing feel about it, and housekeeping in all areas is first class ! Although dinner both evenings was excellent, we did have an issue with the buffet breakfast being somewhat cold - have found this a few times in recent hotel stays - the warmers dont seem to keep the cooked food hot enough - in this case, they aught to take individual orders for cooked food, thereby the food is cooked to order and will be served piping hot ! I dont think buffet breakfasts work that well in our experience. However, apart from that one thing, I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.P.S. The grounds are absolutely beautiful !

Room Tip: We had a basic double room, and it was large, extremely comfortable and very quiet so no need to go...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jens23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for spreading the word regarding your stay with us. We pride ourselves on offering a warm friendly welcome and service throughout so it was great to read that this was evident during your time at the hotel. I would like to apologise that the breakfast was not as hot as it should be. It is highly unusual to receive anything other than positive comments regarding our breakfast offering and as such I have passed your feedback to our maintenance team to check that all warmers are working correctly.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We went to listen to a band in Kendal and decided to stay over in Kendal for the night .What a good Hotel. Clean tidy comfortable with very friendly staff. Breakfast was excellent with good quality ingredients and coffee. Will stay again

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank MattA185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. There are some very good venues in Kendal for music and comedy if anybody else is looking for a fun weekend away.

Remember to book directly with us to be sure of getting the best available rates by calling 01539 734000 or visiting our website.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014

This is one of the best hotels we have stayed in, very difficult to find a fault. The reception staff could not have been more helpful, from booking over the phone to checking in and out, Super.
The hotel itself is in a great position for the town and beautifully set in the stunning gardens on the edge of town. It's so easy to get to in minutes from the motorway. The food was excellent, breakfast was lovely and the lady in charge, just so friendly. I would happily tell family and friends to stay there if in the area. I can honestly say I slept like a baby !

Room Tip: Go for a room on the font to get a great view
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndnjnkns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2014

Many thanks for your ‘Excellent’ review!

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,053 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
435 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range: $114 - $206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing