We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I have given a rating of 4 due to the attentive staff and the service they provide. Breakfast had the usual wide range buffet with no complaints on both quantity and quality of food. The rooms are a good standard with a comfy bed and most importantly clean. The on site gym is a great feature with everything you need but nothing fancy. I can see why it has made the Best Western Standard overall very happy with the stay. As a business trip the WiFi was excellent and probably the best i have had from a hotel. The grounds the Hotel are set in are stunning.

The only reason for it not making the top marks are purely on price which is at the top range and the pub Alexander's on site. The pub is never busy but you always struggle to book a table. You agree to move your booking to a later time but when you go at the time requested there are always several empty tables. The menu is sufficient for choice and the food quality varies depending on what you order but for the price it is reasonable.

Overall it just misses out on the perfect factor for a few things described above. Would stay again but not when i was footing the bill!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank christian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your very honest and overall positive review.

We do aim to be competitive in the local market with regards to our pricing. However, value for money is a much more complex beast to break down!! We do provide the following for guests staying with us. Use of our Pulse Leisure Club, free parking and wifi, 12 acres of beautiful gardens with a woodland trail, a 2 Rosette Restaurant, a Pub in the hotel grounds and a team of 120 staff to take care of your every need!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the future

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,684 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    467
    130
    43
    14
See reviews for
279
897
35
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (450)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

This hotel,with the staff and venue,were absolutely fabulous.We all had a great time with brilliant revues from our guests.Special thanks to the function manager Nicola for her guidance she made the evening stress free,we will definitely use the hotel for further family functions

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write following your sons party at the weekend.

Both Nicola and Janine in the Sales office have many years experience arranging a huge variety of events from annual dinners, school proms, weddings, birthdays. You name it they have arranged it!! So if you are looking for a venue for a special event or function then call us on 01539 734000 to arrange a visit.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a family gathering at the Castle Green for my wife's 50th Birthday celebration. From the initial contact last year to the moment we checked out yesterday all I can say is the service we received from the management and staff was way beyond expectations. The customer service at the Castle Green is beyond excellent. I can honestly say that every single member of staff I encountered is a true professional who puts customer care a number one priority. The facilities are wonderful. The rooms tasteful, very clean and extremely comfortable. Best bed in any hotel that I have ever slept in. We ate in both Alexander's and the Greenhouse and the standard of service and quality of food is truly excellent. I would have no hesitation in staying here again and again. I would just like to thank both Gail and Joel for help organise the rooms and our celebration meal. Truly two wonderful people. Thank you

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Thank you for your extremely positive review. We are very lucky to have such a fantastic team here at Castle Green who all take pride in delivering the best possible experience to our guests. We recognise that a good night’s sleep is an essential part of any hotel stay. As such we have in the last year replaced 35 king size beds, introduced mattress toppers in every room and now use Egyptian cotton sheets.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at this property for three nights preceding the Easter weekend. Situated about a mile outside the town centre in pleasant surroundings. Plenty of car parking on several levels. Check in was quick and efficient-everything explained well with the minimum of fuss. The room was spotless and kept that way during my stay. Everything replaced during daily cleaning, absolutely no issues in that area. Free Wi-Fi worked efficiently and a welcome addition. Breakfast excellent-wide choice of cold and hot items, toast and coffee on demand delivered quickly. The staff in this hotel were excellent, friendly and accommodating.
Nice touch after filling in the survey which followed my stay was an acknowledgment from the manager.

Looking at costs compared to other hotels in the area-excellent value

In all a great standard which other hotels should look to.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andymb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
We truly value all feedback (good and bad) as it helps us measure our progress. We are proud to currently be ranked No1. Hotel in Kendal on Trip Advisor with 89% of guests rating us as ‘Excellent or Very Good’

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

The hotel is situated on the outskirts of Kendall in lovely well maintained gardens and woodland. We had a very pleasant 15min walk from the back of the hotel through the woods. Very pleasant and helpful staff but the receptionist and the breakfast manager's sunny dispositions were outstanding. Our room had a wonderful vista across the gardens and nearby hills. Room was spacious, very clean and comfortable with one exception, the pillows were quite hard. There was a wedding and a party event going on but we were not disturbed by this. Exceptional breakfast with all tastes catered for. Room service not so spot on though and we had to send something back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emerald130944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Many thanks for sharing your experience. I have passed your comment regarding your room service to Joel our Restaurant Manager to address with his team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Castle Green again.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

It was only a very short overnight stay on business at this hotel however it was welcoming, very comfortable, spotlessly clean and served a delicious dinner in the restaurant and an extensive breakfast menu the next morning. It really is a BEST Best Western Plus hotel! Very well done to all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russhedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your very kind words. We think that we are the BEST but it is always great to hear that our guests agree!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 15 in Kendal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#1 of 15 in Kendal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lakeside Hotel
Lakeside Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newby Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Stonecross Manor Hotel
Stonecross Manor Hotel
#7 of 15 in Kendal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BEST WESTERN PREMIER Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing