We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
County Hotel(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cragg Farm(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Burrow Hall(Kendal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,957)
Filter reviews
1,957 results
Traveler rating
1,177
554
160
50
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,177
554
160
50
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreenhouse restaurantalexanders pubtasting menuexecutive roomthe main hotelhotel groundslovely groundspool and steam roomlake districtlovely hotelhotel barbreakfast staffevening mealrelaxing breakleisure facilitieshigh standardlovely view
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,209 - 1,214 of 1,957 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

I stayed here for two nights while delivering a training course in the hotel for my employer. I was greeted pleasantly upon arrival, however it was apparent my room had been cancelled. We were unable to establish how this occurred however the situation was resolved with no trouble whatsoever. My room was clean, spacious, modern and tidy. Despite having a stinking cold, I had two really good nights sleep. I ordered room service on the first night for dinner as I felt too ill to go to the restaurant and joked about this with the girl who took my order - she offered to send up some honey in addition to the double whisky I ordered. The waiter who brought the tray had obviously been informed, as he said he hoped I felt better soon. These are the kind of touches that make a stay away from home (when working) so much better. The food was excellent although I felt the portions could be a little larger. I did not have breakfast so cannot comment on this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience. Sometimes with such a busy hotel it is very easy to get distracted with the day to day routine and forget the personal touches which can have such an impact. It is therefore extremely pleasing to see that we have created a memorable experience during your time at the hotel. I have already shared your comments with the team so they can see the positive impact of their actions.

We hope that you will decide to stay with us again in the future

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have just returned from our fourth visit to the hotel. It never ceases to amaze us! The staff right from checking in are just brilliant. Leona the star of the breakfast service and her team are just fab! so happy, pleasant and nothing too much trouble. We have to mention Emma, Adam, Richard and Steph who looked after us so well-thank you. The unsung heroes are the people in the kitchen, the food in the Alexander's Restaurant is truly out of this world. The pool facilities are good and we like the adult time allowed to the pool.
As always the manager has a visible presence and this reflects in the staff around the hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: We pay the extra and have an Executive room yes, it is expensive but well worth the treat. They are all beautiful and the housekeeping staff do a great job.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeanieBlackburnLancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

What a fantastic review! It is always so nice to see familiar faces coming back again and again. The team here at Castle Green work extremely hard at delivering excellent service throughout the hotel and it is great for them to see their efforts recognised in this way.

We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014

The more experienced staff that were present on our stay continued to maintain their very high standards and it was a delight to meet the newer staff who will undoubtedly continue to maintain the high standards of the Castle Green and the Best Western!! The restaurant, accommodation and bar facilities also continued to deliver as did the staff of Alexander's bistro. Well done all!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank GaryS390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Many thanks for your 5* review. We hope to see you again soon

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We stayed at the Castle Green hotel last week on a special half price deal. Our stay was fantastic and the room we were allocated was an executive family room that was more like a small flat! We used the leisure facilities (steam room and sauna) and found them very clean and the leisure staff very helpful.
All of the staff we came across were absolutely brilliant. They were all friendly and attentive and genuine. The food in both the restaurant and the pub was excellent.

Room Tip: Try to request a room at the front of the hotel. The views are lovely.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Our half price winter promotion has again proved to be extremely popular but unfortunately it finished at the end of February…..but do not fear! We have many other special offers and promotions running throughout the year. These can be found on our hotel website where you can also check availability and make reservations online. We guarantee that you get the best rate by booking directly with us here at the hotel.

Ben Mayou

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews