We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Whatever the Season”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Whatever the Season”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

For the third year running we stayed at Castle Green for Christmas. The staff certainly know how to make this a special time for their guests. We were swiftly checked in and shown to our room which was spacious and spotless with crisp white bed linen, good lighting and a roomy modern bathroom with ample toiletries.

Christmas Dinner was efficiently served and well presented. It was a treat to be served food which was obviously of high quality and locally sourced. The breakfast was a delight with so much choice. I had forgotten scrambled eggs and bacon could taste so good.

I hope we can visit the Hotel in Summer as I think it would make an excellent base when visiting the Carus Green Golf Club in Kendal.

Room Tip: Rooms on front of hotel have a nice view of gardens and Kendal town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RozCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Many thanks for your review. I am pleased to report that we are in the process of changing our bed linen to Egyptian cotton to further enhance our four star offering.

We have some fantastic golf courses in the local area so Castle Green makes a fantastic base for a golfing break in the Lakes

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    491
    137
    45
    15
See reviews for
289
930
36
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (461)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife here for our 15th wedding anniversary last night. Everything about this hotel is perfect. The staff are very friendly, polite and professional. Our room was immaculate with the biggest double bed I have ever seen and the most comfortable mattress. A decent size wall mounted tv, tea and coffee, iron and ironing board and plenty wardrobe space. The bathroom was good with a bath (you need to request) and over bath shower. Plenty of piping hot water.
We stayed half board which was £120, worth every penny. We stayed in room 255 at the back of the hotel although no view (we only live down the road so we see Kendal every day) it was nice and quiet. We ate in the hotel restaurant rather than the hotel pub (Alexanders). The food was amazing, the best dining experience I have had for a long time. Breakfast was tasty too, with a full range on offer from fruit to cereal to full English. Just like to say thankyou to all the staff for making our anniversary special and even though we only live 500 yards away will be staying again. I will recommend this hhotel ad firet choice to anyone wanting ti stay in Kendal. SUPERB!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GeoffC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Congratulations on your 15th Wedding anniversary. Who needs to travel any further when you have such quality on your doorstep!!!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here on a stopover driving south between Christmas and New Year. Room smelt of damp. Waited 15 minutes for a table for breakfast in the morning. Breakfast was ok but very much like eating in a school canteen. Best thing about this hotel was the comfy bed. Disappointed based on the previous reviews I had read which resulted in me booking this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mjf011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay at Castle Green. Please accept my apologies that you had to wait for a table at breakfast. Although this is not a regular occurrence we do highlight the popular breakfast times within the literature in the bedrooms.

I was pleased to note that you found the beds to be comfortable. We have this year replaced 34 king size beds as part of our ongoing investment in improving the guest experience.

Please contact me directly at the hotel should you wish to discuss your feedback or if you decide to give us another chance in the future.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Superb hotel....excellent staff full of genuine goodwill, nothing is too much trouble and everything done with a honest sincere smile.......cuisine is out of this world with extensive variety.....cleanliness is top notch and the rooms well appointed.....free wifi throughout the hotel ......large car parks .......onsite but separate pub also serving food .....lovely grounds ......4 star excellence......Best Western all the way for us in future .....Ray & Anita (very regular UK & Europe travellers)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ukbigbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Our number one priority when taking on new recruits is that they have the right personality which shows through in the service delivery.

We hope to see you again during 2014


Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a few days over Christmas and have had a brilliant time. It's a lovely hotel, staff are brilliant, nothing too much trouble. We stayed in a triple room with our 4 year old and she was made to feel very at home and really special.

The hotel is a credit to the Best Western group and we would not hesitate to recommend or to return again! Thank you!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
It was lovely to read that we made your Christmas break memorable. I know from my own experience that travelling anywhere with young children can be challenging so it is great that you had such a fantastic stay!

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely relaxing break - fantastic reception by the friendly attentive staff - Christmas was made very special for us and the food was out of this world. Rooms were lovely. Would stay again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We look forward to seeing you again soon

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the nicest hotels we have ever had the privalage of staying in.the quality and staff have made us more than welcome as the soul aim of all the staff cannot be faulted.the whole hotel is always very clean and food brilliant.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank gussutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
We are very proud to be the No. 1 hotel in Kendal on Trip Advisor and are also currently ranked 10th out of the 280 Best Western Hotels in the UK.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#5 of 13 in Kendal
1,005 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Crooklands Hotel
Crooklands Hotel
#2 of 13 in Kendal
488 reviews
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing