We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Kendal
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights whilst working in the area this month. The hotel has excellent facilities for a stay away from home, comfortable rooms, different eating places, a decent pool and a nice pub on site with very friendly staff. Bed was comfortable and room and bathroom were well equipped. No faults.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msoates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Many thanks

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,094
    504
    145
    47
    16
See reviews for
300
961
37
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (474)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We have just had Friday to Monday break at The Castle Green Hotel, what a great place. The meals are fantastic, the breakfast are great and the evening meals are excellent. All the staff are friendly and helpful, the room was clean and cosy.We cannot wait to go back.

Room Tip: Well worth a visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your sharing your experience. Its great to read that you enjoyed your long weekend with us.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Spent a weekend in this lovely hotel. Great view from the bedroom overlooking the Kendal in the valley below, lovely grounds (colours fantastic in autumn), good food in Alexanders, the pub attached, and a fabulous range of local real ales. Excellent buffet breakfast. All was very very good but the attitude and friendliness of the staff from the housekeepers to the management and everyone in between was first class. A but dearer than we'd normally pay - but loved it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Many many thanks for your feedback!!!

The views from the hotel change with the seasons, so get yourself to Castle Green to see what the winter months bring! The good news is that you can take advantage of our half price accommodation offer. Check out the hotel website for more details.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maghull Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Booked a luxury night away, and we were not disappointed! Lovely bright cosy room with very comfy beds! Chilled bottle of prosecco and fudge waiting for us. Fabulous meal in the restaurant too!! Breakfast is not to be missed either! All of the staff were very friendly and helpful. Treated ourselves to a spa treatment the next morning which was one of the best I'd had! I'd definitely stay again and would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillmhayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Great to read that you enjoyed your luxury break with us. We treat bed comfort very seriously and as such we have this year replaced 34 standard double beds with king size as part of our ongoing improvements.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Me and my partner stopped here for two nights in November. We had a lovely stay, the staff were really helpful & friendly. The rooms were spotless, the food in both restaurants (one is in the hotel & the other is a little pub in the hotel grounds) were really good & got top marks from us.
We also used the spa facilities (which you pay extra for) this was nice & would recommend, the pool & gym are included in your hotel price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkie74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in 2014

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here only for a night. I had been driving all day so a nice comfortable bed was what I was looking forward to, and what I got.

I accidentally drove into the rear entrance of the hotel and had to stop someone to ask where the reception was, I think that could have been sign posted a little better.

Experienced the swimming pool and sauna free of charge. There were no problems just walking down to the Pulse Gym and being allowed to use all of their facilities. A great addition to the hotel.

Dinner was lovely and worth the price. Breakfast was ok too, but I had to hint down the waitress and ask for me meal as I was left sitting alone for some time.

I've been to Kendal a few times now and this was by far the best hotel there. Do yourself a favour and pay the extra to stay at this hotel. You will not regret it compared to the rest.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben M, General Manager at Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your positive recommendation. We don’t claim to be the cheapest hotel in Kendal but we do work hard to offer value for money.

The leisure facilities are available to all hotel residents free of charge. We also have the Green Rooms Spa which offer fantastic treatments if you are looking to be pampered. They fill up fast so get yourself booked in advance.

Ben Mayou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kendal
0.5 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#4 of 13 in Kendal
1,032 reviews
7.5 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
22.9 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Kendal Central Hotel
7.8 mi away
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
Beech Hill Hotel & Spa
#18 of 20 in Windermere
407 reviews
24.1 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection

Property: Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection
Address: Castle Green Lane, Kendal LA9 6RG, England (Formerly Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Kendal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kendal
#1 Family Hotel in Kendal
#1 Business Hotel in Kendal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Independent, family-run four star hotel situated in 14 acres of gardens & woodland, 5 miles from the M6 & 8 miles from Windermere. Extensive conference & banqueting facilities, recently refurbished 2AA Rosette restaurant, Westmorland Pub in the grounds, health & fitness club and 99 bedrooms including four executive, seven balcony and three family rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Green Hotel in Kendal, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Kendal
Hotel Castle Green Kendal
Kendal Best Western
Castle Green Hotel In Kendal, BW Premier Collection Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing